We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #87 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

We've just returned from a fantastic 4 night 5 day trip to NYC, staying at The Metro Hotel in Midtown and had the best time!! The hotel itself is in a perfect location- Macy's is at the end of the block, it's a short walk to Times Square, Grand Central station, Byrant Park and the Empire State building is just around the corner we were so happy to have such a lot on our door step! Our room was on the 8th floor and looked over a yard which I was initially a bit disappointed with but then I realised it was a blessing as it was nice and quiet at night! New Yorkers love to press the horns on there cars- a lot!! So this turned out to be great for getting some sleep! The room was really clean and bigger than I was expecting, bed was super comfy and that's all that matters after pounding the pavements all day NYC it's an exhausting place! The breakfast is basic- cereal, muffins, bagels on offer but definitely a bonus to have it included to get fueled up for all the sight seeing. Also one of the doormen was really helpful in arranging a taxi for us to get to JFK on our last day- the road the hotel is on was closed off as were surrounding roads as they were delivering an air-con unit to the Empire State building and the traffic was at a stand still, but he had phoned 'his guy' he said and he was on his way- he kindly carried my suitcase and walked us down to the end of the road and kept phoning the taxi man to make sure he was close by and when got picked up and off to the airport. This was such a great help as I was a little worried we wouldn't get there on time but the taxi driver told us the doorman (I didn't catch his name but know he said he lived way up in upper Manhattan in the hundred's streets) had said we were good guys and he needed to get us there straight away. The staff were really helpful and I would definitely stay here again for the central location alone. One tip for anyone going to NYC would be get passes for the hop on hop off buses- these are a great way of getting to lower and upper NY and learning more about the city from the tour guides. Also, don't forget to look up! There is so much to see you don't want to miss it- we had no idea how close we were to the Empire State from the hotel- you have to look up to know that! NYC is the best place I've ever been, can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SSmith046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,112
    1,478
    293
    71
    48
See reviews for
717
2,111
141
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (707)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

Our room had a great view of the Empire State Building. Bathroom was recently remolded and looked fresh. Still the rooms are tiny but you have to remember where you are. A short walk the The Empire State Building and Time Square and Broadway

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetkaiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

i stayed here for 5 days in September 2009 to celebrate my first wedding anniversary the room was spectacular and was maintained spotlessly by the cleaning staff and the staff were fantastic they even helped me get great seats for a new york yankees/boston red sox game which was quite the experience.
the food served was also of great quality..
i thought it was in a great location close to everything i wanted to do and see and experience.and when not if i go to new york again this hotel will be the one i stay at.

Room Tip: try to get a room at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaimes m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LANCASHIRE
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights at the end of April 2014 for one of those special birthdays.We simply cant fault from the moment we stepped through the doors everything was superb the staff were so helpful in particular Matthew the doorman who always goes the extra mile,there is nothing he does not know about NYC.The hotel is so well located Macys 2mins away ,Times Square 10 mins and when you are there check out Bryant Park 5 blocks away on 6th avenue well worth it.We will return and this will be the place we stay.GO METS

Room Tip: We had room 718 a very nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BEXY54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

we booked this hotel through trailfinders and were pleased with our choice. The room was spacious and clean with comfy beds and although the window overlooked the yard that meant it was quieter . The staff were helpful especially the doorman matthew who organised a yellow cab to get us to the airport on a wet afternoon with no delay.Breakfast was a bit of a bunfight with only a few tables but breakfast was fine and saved us purchasing food out. A good location close to maceys and the empire state building. We pre booked a grayline hopper bus ticket which saved us lots on entrance and subway costs, All in all a great holiday.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Merryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

We came to this hotel on a recommendation. As there were three adults it was difficult to find a hotel for one room with three beds but this hotel has a two bedroom family room. The price was a lot cheaper than other hotels that other people were recommending. Therefore based on the price, pictures, breakfast being included and location we decided to book the hotel. We certainly were not disappointed on arrival. We received a warm welcome at 1pm. Our room wasn't ready but that gave us the opportunity to go on the roof top bar and see the Empire State Building. We requested a room looking at the empire state building as we were there celebrating my mum's 60th birthday and the room did not disappoint us. We had a room with three double beds in which one of them was in a separate bedroom. The hotel was a great base to travel uptown, downtown and you were able to walk to Time Square and to all the midtown attractions! Also the hotel is only a short walk to Penn station to take you or bring you from JFK airport.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deb127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 6 nights in April the rooms are very small but yup really only shower and sleep and it's spotless.reception staff were very helpful and there is a room to store your bags if you have to check out early and fly later. The hotel is a stones throw from Macy's and 5 mins walk to times sq.the comp breakfast is just enough to set you on your way for the day serving toast bagels, muffins, cereals,yogurt, fruit, tea coffee and juice.We made use of the free tea and coffee available 24 hrs each time we popped in and out of the hotel. The rooftop view of the Empire State Building in the evening is breathtaking and well worth a visit.fab hotel very clean good staff and Central couldn't ask for more. We will stay here again for sure.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank marymobsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#110 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#100 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#43 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#116 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
#54 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Property: Hotel Metro
Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001-2277
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in New York City
#69 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#117 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metro is an independent boutique hotel in the heart of midtown Manhattan, one block from the Empire State Building and a 2 minute walk to Macy's. Times Square and Madison Square Garden and Grand Central Station are all within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing