We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #87 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

This hotel was chosen due to its excellent location, close to everything. The rooftop bar is fantastic for viewing the Empire State Building, which is just a few blocks away. It is also one of few hotels who provide an included breakfast, so this was a bonus. It is decorated in art deco style which was lovely. I was celebrating my birthday and the hotel had a little surprise of chocolates and drinks in our room, which was a nice touch.
On arrival our room was quite noisy as it was street side. I had requested a room on the opposite side and I asked reception staff for a different room. Staff were extremely accommodating considering the hotel was virtually full. We eventually were given a room on the penthouse floor level which was a premium room. I did need to pay an additional supplement for this but it was worth it as it was spacious, well-appointed and quiet.
I cannot fault the staff at the Hotel metro...Everyone from doormen, receptionists, maintenance, bar staff and housekeeping were polite, friendly, helpful and always smiling. The cleanliness of the rooms each day was amazing and spotless. The 24 hour tea and coffee was really great after a hard day sightseeing/shopping.
The only niggles were seating at breakfast being very limited...(although we did surface for breakfast each day before 7am to avoid this) and the lifts being slow at times, otherwise this was a fabulous hotel and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose a premium room, finances permitting, on a higher floor to avoid too much noise. Twin/contempo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deb F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,112
    1,478
    293
    71
    48
See reviews for
717
2,111
141
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (707)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights and can't fault this hotel at all. The hotel staff couldn't do enough for you. Great view of the Empire State Building, excellent location. Highly recommended. Looking forward to returning this year

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Philcarver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Perfect location and very friendly staff all helped to make my 40th birthday present perfect! The only issue I had was that looking out my window disappointed me as all I had was four dirty brick walls.The food in the hotels bar was very nice as was the bar girl who we had a very friendly chat with which made the whole experience great.

Room Tip: You obviously will not get a great view in the middle of a concrete jungle but still would of been n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liam c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Firstly with the hectic time of year of Xmas & New Year I'm a little late in reviewing this superb hotel. My 2 friends & I stayed here at the Hotel Metro from the 12th-18th Dec. it was my first time to the hotel & New York but my friends had stayed in 2012. Well what a lovely hotel it is. Really friendly & helpful staff. Our room was a good size & nicely decorated. They serve a really good breakfast which consisted of unlimited amounts of cereals, toast, bagels, muffins, pastries, toast & fruit. There was tea & coffee facilities available 24hrs a day. The hotel is well situated for everything. You feel as though you can touch the Empire State from the hotel roof terrace. Macy's is at the end of the street & everything else is within easy walking distance. If I ever return to New York I will defiantly stay at the Hotel Metro again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Stayed here for four nights this Christmas. It being my first visit to New York i really think we struck gold with this hotel. On arrival we were quickly checked in by very friendly staff. We were literally in between 5th and 6th avenue, with macys at the end of our road. Everything was in walking distance, which we found far better than bus or subway as you take in so many sights that would have been missed had we not walked. Quiet at night and an absolutely delicious free breakfast that includes bagels, muffins, fruit, cereals, toast- more than you can eat effectively. We found breakfast filled us up until evening. Only slight complaint is bath very small, and i'm not a big person but hey who cares about that, didn't bother me. If i ever return to NYC i would definitely go back to Metro. Thanks for a great stay :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nicSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Nothing more to stay than if you want to be in the middle of NYC then you can't go wrong......

Room was good, breakfast was ok (nothing special), roof top bar was awesome but could have stayed open a little longer and all the staff were great.

We walk everywhere when in NYC and this hotel makes it very easy to get around. You can access the Subway and the PATH (Hoboken Train) less than 3 blocks from hotel and there as always was plenty of cabs.

2 blocks from Macys MEGASTORE and shopping precinct which included Victoria Secret, Foot Locker and other major brands.

Felt safe and never needed to ask for anything more than once.

Will definitely use this hotel again!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Schjumes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Hotel was in a perfet location close to the Empire State Building, Macy's and an excellent location for the subway access. The Hotel itself was very clean and also had coffee and tea facilites 24 hrs. We stayed on a B&B basis and the breakfast was continental but very good. Lots of pastries, toast, muffins, bagels and plenty of tea and coffee. Only slight downside was the paper plates and cups and maybe a few more tables wouldn't go amiss. The rooms were adequate wtih a great shower and very comfy bed. Coffee facilities in the room also. Concierge was very helpful with advice etc. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KesBes777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#110 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#100 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#43 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#116 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
#54 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Property: Hotel Metro
Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001-2277
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in New York City
#69 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#117 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metro is an independent boutique hotel in the heart of midtown Manhattan, one block from the Empire State Building and a 2 minute walk to Macy's. Times Square and Madison Square Garden and Grand Central Station are all within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing