We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location.”
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #84 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Brilliant location.”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This hotel is in a prefect location. It's very clean, and the staff are very nice and helpful.

We enjoyed the wine and cheese evening, it was delicious!

The breakfast each morning was lovely, we left the hotel each morning very full up!

The free hot drinks facilities is fabulous, you can drink as many as you like.

There is wifi throughout the hotel, and it was great keeping in touch with family using this free facility.

From the Hotel Metro we walked to the Empire State Building, Times Square, Rockefeller, The Highline Park, Manhattan Bridge, Brooklyn Bridge, Central Park, the 9/11 Tribute Center, the ferry over to Statten Island, Little Italy, Grand Central Station, the tram (cable car) over to Roosevelt Island, Macy's and Bloomingdales. But bare in mind my husband and myself enjoy walking, and we did lots of it!

We hired bikes for Central Park, and this was a brilliant idea to see lots of the park.

The roof terrace is lovely, you get a fabulous view of the Empire State Building, which is just around the corner.

We had a room at the back of the hotel, and although the view wasn't great, it was peaceful and we got a very good nights sleep each night.

The Hotel Metro knew we were in America for our silver wedding anniversary, and it was a lovely touch to find a bottle of champagne in an ice bucket and two champagne glasses in our room. Thank you very much!

We would definitely return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Busybadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,173
    1,518
    298
    74
    49
See reviews for
739
2,179
146
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (722)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

My husband booked this hotel through Trailfinders as a surprise for my 40th birthday. I had heard other good things about the hotel from other people. Our room looked out on the side of the Empire State Building excellent iconic sight to see. This hotel has a rooftop bar which wasnt open during our stay but I imagine in the warmer months its a spectacular place to sit and have a drink and watch the world go by. THe location of this hotel is great, 34th street subway stations for all lines are within a stones throw. The Empire State Building is round the corner, Macy's is at the corner and 5th avenue is the next avenue along. Our first room was actually good, the hotel had a bottle of fizz on ice for us which was lovely. The bed wasn't too comfortable for my husband, so we were very fortunate to be moved to the 10th floor to a refurbed more spacious room. The hairdryer was better in the new room an iron and ironing board are in the room, always helpful! The hotel provide a good continental breakfast which we only had on the Friday lots of bakes goods, bagels, muffins, pastries, toast, cereal, fruit and yoghurts. Tea, coffee and juice. Tea and coffee are on tap all day. The concierge was very knowledgable and helpful as were the front desk staff. The metro grill did a fabulous breakfast for a very reasonable price and was the best we had whilst in New York. Highly recommend the Metro its beautiful and I loved the Art Deco features in the hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stayed hear with my family and it was really really good. The decor was very american and made us all feel very welcome. The hotel itself was clean, modern and classy. The staff were very polite and welcoming. Nicest hotel i have stayed in!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbury, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We have been coming to the city for years, have found many good and very good hotels, but at last we have found our first Great hotel, very classy, very accommodating - we were unexpectedly and wonderfully upgraded on our arrival. Very clean rooms, quiet, good views, wonderful rooftop patio. Wonderfully comfortable bed - unbelievably GREAT shower!!!! Welcoming staff was very personable, very efficient, and excellent at their work. We felt both at home and on holiday - the perfect NYC feel. Everything is within walking distance - varied entertainment and very good dining for all tastes. Well done!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

You absolutely cannot go wrong with this Hotel. Simply brilliant.

Located in Midtown, it is within walking distance of many attractions (Empire State Building, Times Square, Rockefeller, Madison Square Garden) and also very close to the subway (R line for the Financial District for anyone wishing to visit 9/11 Memorial).

Service is friendly and prompt, the staff are awesome; Geoff the Concierge is simply a brilliant guy and will help you with anything you need. Matthew on the door is also very knowledgeable and offers good pointers of where to go for food or how to get to places you want to visit.

For those that use WiFi you cannot go wrong as it works perfectly and also if you need to check in your flight online for your flight back they have a small office space which you can use for free.

The rooms are well presented and well looked after and the bed is extremely comfy. The continental breakfast is also excellent.

You simply cannot go wrong with this place - I plan to visit NYC again sometime so I would definitely return here, everything is simply perfect!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Razzastuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Wonderful hotel, great service, I had questions before making the reservation and had very quick email response and a very good value solution to my query. Typical American breakfast. Very nice pent house floor with direct view of Empire State building (also visible from my room!). Only blocks away from Macys. Central NYC is noisy at night but the bed was comfy enough.
Loved it! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Family suite - had two bedrooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oden_Management
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife,Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

My wife and I arrived at the Hotel Metro on 18th November 2013 for a 4 night stay. Room 303, nice outlook, and good shower. All Staff were very friendly. Victor from maintenance was especially nice, looked time to chat when we met.Would stay again .

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Apello

Helpful?
2 Thank Baz427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#108 of 466 in New York City
740 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#95 of 466 in New York City
702 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#39 of 466 in New York City
3,376 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 466 in New York City
2,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Property: Hotel Metro
Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001-2277
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in New York City
#69 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#115 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metro is an independent boutique hotel in the heart of midtown Manhattan, one block from the Empire State Building and a 2 minute walk to Macy's. Times Square and Madison Square Garden and Grand Central Station are all within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing