We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cant wait to go back!”
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #94 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We were visiting NYC for the first time, we got lucky to find this little gem without knowing ANYTHING! James at the front desk was wonderful and helped us find our way around. We stayed for 3 nights and he was there all three to answer our questions and lead us in the right direction. The rooms are clean and the bed is comfy. We enjoyed the breakfast in the mornings and drinks at the restaurant bar at night. The location is great as well.

Room Tip: We stayed in 611, it was fine. Not loud outside and on a corner.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deanamiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,178)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Metro
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,894 - 1,900 of 4,178 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

A fantastic location very close to fifth avenue. The hotel was exceptionally clean and staff were very friendly and helpful, The concierge especially who was happy to book meal reservations or day trips for you. We had quite a compact room and the bathroom was small which would be the only major negative for the hotel.
Tea and coffee was available all day which was useful after a long day. The roof top bar was fairly pricey with limited opening times 5-10pm but brilliant views. Breakfast was good and included fresh bagels and pastries everyday amongst other continental alternatives. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Family rooms were much bigger although bathrooms still on the small side
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We just stayed at the hotel (July 14th- July 16th) and we loved it! Our room 1015 was remodeled (premier queen) and the shower with the rainfall shower heads (plus the other two shower heads) was amazing! The room is average size for a NYC hotel room but it was extremely clean. The hotel staff was fabulous and helped us find a few restaurants in the area (Keens Steak house one block away). Every day they offer a continental breakfast which offered cereal, muffins, banana/apples and other fresh pastries was perfect.
Location is key in NYC. Being two blocks away from the empire state bldg and one block from Macy's helped guide us home every time we left. But the view of the empire state bldg from the roof top bar as really cool! yes the drinks were pricey... but most place are expensive in NYC.
We only live in CT but we will totally stay there again on our next long weekend getaway:) thank you Hotel Metro for a great weekend get away.

Room Tip: we stayed on the 10th floor it was remodeled
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This hotel is great value as breakfast is included. There is a great choice including juice, hot drinks, cereals, bread, pastries etc. The beds are very comfortable too. There is a nice roof terrace, but buy your drinks in the bar and take them up to the roof, as the prices in the roof bar are more expensive. The hotel offers free wifi and use of there computers and printers. The hotel is on 35th st between the Empire State Building and Macy's with buses running on 5th and 6th Ave and a subway station on the corner at Herald Square. There are bars, restaurants and cafes nearby. A great choice for a break in the Big Apple!

Room Tip: We had a double for the first night which was fine, but we then moved to a superior room which was b...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carfrazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The great thing about this hotel is the location, really handy for exploring the city and right next to Macy's. Our three day stay was part of our Honeymoon and we opted for a budget base in NYC before a week of luxury in St Lucia, so I wasn't expecting the world but we just really didn't find this to be a very pleasant stay at all! Having just spent three days in Washington DC where the (also budget) hotel was fantastic and the staff were lovely this just wasn't a hotel we enjoyed spending time in. I was quite surprised given how great some of the reviews on trip advisor are.

Obviously hotel rooms in NYC are small...but this one was tiny! I found it pretty hard to even lay my suitcase out flat and had to keep closing it to be able to move around the room.
The hotel itself was OK but there were certain things lacking. Firstly the breakfast was really terrible. In three days not one member of staff smiled or spoke to us in the breakfast room and each day we found our own table (as did everyone else around us from what I could see) as there was never a member of staff at the door next to the sign asking you to wait to be seated! The food didn't seem to be topped up throughout the morning because when we arrived each day (usually around 9am ish) there was hardly anything left. Our choices were cheap sugary cereal or some bagels, muffins or pastries.

The hotel mentioned upon check in that there was free coffee and tea available all day in the breakfast room, but then we noticed that the juice machine was turned off which was a bit crazy in the July New York heat! If there was water available we couldn't see it.

The rooftop bar was nice and had great views but was quite expensive ($27 for two drinks). It had an open part in the middle for smokers which had no shade over it so was crazy hot but we found a nice table under the shade on one side (although we were asked to move from it to let someone else sit down with no explanation)!

Given that there are several other budget hotels in this area of Midtown (some even in the same street) I am amazed at how little effort this hotel seems to make.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrsM30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel in June/July 2003, December 2003, June/July 2004, July 2005, July 2006, November 2006, June/July 2007 and August 2012.

A great hotel with great staff without high prices. I have stayed at man hotels in New York but when this one is available its the one I go for.

Right near Macy's and easy walking distance if you are able that is. I'm not just someone who goes out to see the sights because i done them all many years ago when i go to new york city i like to be an honourary new yorker and this hotel is the one that allows you to do that.

Walking distance to broadway shows, times sq, macys, 30 rock, MSG, empire state building, madison square park, flatiron building and many more.

Highly recommend this hotel and agree with all of the postive reviews on here it is clean and looks classy with its 1930s art deco decor.

Room Tip: rooms at the front overlooking West 35th Street is more than worth a go!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, b&b wasn't expecting much from the breakfast but it actually surprised me! Fairly central, Macy's & Empire state building are a stone throw away! Also if you take a left as you come out of the hotel your on 5 avenue, where the fun begins if your a shopper! Rooms are a bit on the small side but for the amount of time u spend in your room in New York it did the trick. Loved our stay here will defo be back! By far the best city in the world!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oakes0109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#109 of 468 in New York City
758 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#105 of 468 in New York City
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#158 of 468 in New York City
2,162 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 468 in New York City
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001-2277
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in New York City
#69 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#114 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $196 - $480 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metro is an independent boutique hotel in the heart of midtown Manhattan, one block from the Empire State Building and a 2 minute walk to Macy's. Times Square and Madison Square Garden and Grand Central Station are all within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing