We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday”
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #102 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We loved how this hotel was so central. It's a few blocks away from the Empire State. The staff were helpful and friendly. We loved the breakfast as it sets you up for the day of exploring. The room is small but that's really New York hotels for you. The room and hotel was very clean and tidy. The roof top terrace was amazing, serves drinks late afternoon, very relaxing and to soak up the atmosphere. We would stay there again

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank jenniej2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,996 - 2,002 of 4,271 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed for a week at this hotel which is in a great location and is virtually next door to the Empire State Building. We had a Premier Queen room on the 11th floor and the room was quite large and came with air conditioning, a 'triple shower' room,a large walk-in closet with safe,a coffee machine plus sitting area. The roof terrace bar was open most evenings and it was a very pleasant experience to sit and have a few drinks after a day's hard slog visiting the NYC sights. The hotel serves a Continental style breakfast which consists of copious amounts of cereals, bagels, muffins,danish pastries,toast, fruit, tea, coffee, and fruit juices! Really sets you up for the day but the breakfast room does get very busy and it can be difficult to get a table! The staff at the hotel were excellent and they all were extremely pleasant and helpful. The hotel is quite small but I think that this is an advantage as the service is much more personal! It was our 40th Wedding Anniversary during the week and we were delighted to find a nice card and a bottle of Cava in our room courtesy of the hotel when we arrived, which was a nice touch!

Room Tip: Our room on the 11th floor was a good size but we still had a lot of street noise at night as we wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Booked the Metro after a lot of internet searching especially this site, so thanks to all who provided feedback here. After 25 hours travelling from Australia, for a birthday trip to NYC for my wife we arrived and were greeted by a friendly front desk and quickly checked into a very clean room with a comfy King bed. A bottle of sparkling in the ice bucket , chocolates and a note from the Mgt to my wife was a great touch. This hotel is 5 mins walk to Macy's, 10 mins to the Empire State and 15 mins to Times Square. Brendans B&G across the road is excellent as is the attached Metro Grill. A couple of Irish pubs are just up the road. For a visitor to NYC you would be crazy to go past this hotel. I've stayed in big chain hotels around the world and the Metro puts some of them to shame. Breakfast is OK for included, and you just might have to wait (or share :-) ) a table in busy times..........Roof top bar views are spectacular and all the staff were very friendly.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms right near the lift doors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

If your looking for a hotel in a central location in Manhattan ,then look no further,Staff always helpful and friendly,rooms by New York standard were great we stayed on the 8th floor, continental breakfast was included in price and had a great array of food.Beds were very comfortable,free tea and coffee all day was great.Lovely views of the Empire State building
Overall a great experience in this Hotel ,would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Worth upgrading room for more comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liosdubh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

on arrival we were greated by a lovely gentleman who took our bags inside, reception was very polite and freindl, the 1st view of this hotel was lovely very clean and up to date, our room slightly small lbut gorgeous and comftable, great location for walking around nyc, close to lots you want to see staff have great advice and paperwork to get you round, we arrived on Tuesday which we were told wine tasting on tonight. mmmmmmm we went of course it was lovely great room plenty of friendly people from all over the world some nice food as well which went down very well great night had by all we met Kathy and john whom we keep in touch with now very nice event thanks to the staff breakfast is nice as well plenty to choose from just avoid 8ish its very busy but don't wait long for a seat.. overall a fantastic hotel and fantastic staf thanks to them all.. rooftop bar is lovely worth a look great food and beer and wine lovely

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jk11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

First time to New York and Hotel was recommended by Travel Agent.
We were not disappointed as upgraded immediately we arrived and rooms were fantastic.
Great family rooms and fantastic facilities, 8th floor and we had view of Empire State building from our window.
Staff were very friendly and extremely helpful in recommending places to eat and visit.
Absolutely no problem in recommending this hotel.
It helped make a fantastic break for all 5 of us.
We will be going back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

A good hotel in a very convenient position. Easy walking distance of Times Square & Broadway Theatres. Metro station only 100 yds away. Very large Maceys store 2 minutes walk away. Very close to Empire State building & excellent view of it from the rooftop bar area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BELMONTIpswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Hyatt Place New York Midtown Sou...
#152 of 470 in New York City
2,022 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#164 of 470 in New York City
2,233 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#196 of 470 in New York City
1,210 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#32 of 470 in New York City
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001-2277
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in New York City
#69 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#114 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $150 - $464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metro is an independent boutique hotel in the heart of midtown Manhattan, one block from the Empire State Building and a 2 minute walk to Macy's. Times Square and Madison Square Garden and Grand Central Station are all within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing