We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Position”
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #96 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2013

A good hotel in a very convenient position. Easy walking distance of Times Square & Broadway Theatres. Metro station only 100 yds away. Very large Maceys store 2 minutes walk away. Very close to Empire State building & excellent view of it from the rooftop bar area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BELMONTIpswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,952 - 1,958 of 4,210 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed at this hotel 15 years ago, returned 2 weeks ago and it is still great. Perfect position for sightseeing, shops and eating. We had an amazing suite with a super view of empire state building. The roof top bar is a great spot any time of day but lovely in the evening to cool off.The inclusive breakfast is well worth a try such a lovely selection of rolls pastries cereals and yoghurts really sets you up for the day and there is free tea and coffee 24 hrs. The staff are welcoming and helpfull. The beds were out of this world slept like a baby. What else to say but GO THERE.

Room Tip: Room 402 is 2 bedrooms and front view towards empire state building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angela d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I've been to NYC 3 times and twice stayed at Hotel Metro. The location is incredible. Macy's department store in 2 minutes down the road and the Empire State Building is just round the corner. You couldn't get more central if you tried! We stayed last November and was there for the Thanksgiving Day parade, which passes at the end of the hotels road! The hotel itself is lovely, art deco appearance with everything you need. The rooms are normal size with all the normal amenities. The view from our window was just another building but you don't go to NYC just to look out of your hotel window! There's a roof terrace that looks straight onto the Empire State Building too! Breakfast is included which is great to set you up for the day. It's continental but by the time you've tucked into a bagel, yogurt and a piece of fruit you don't need much more! It does get busy in the morning depending what time you head down but don't let this put you off, we chatted to other guests and shared advice and tips on things to do in the city!
On both occassions I've found the staff to be incredibly helpful. With all the normal things like directions and advice on things to see and do as well as holding onto our bags when we arrived earlier than check in and wanted to leave our bags for the day when it was time to check out. They even arranged for a taxi to come and pick us up for the airport so we didn't have to worry about waving one down.
I've stayed here twice before and recommended it to a friend who also thought it was fab when she stayed. I would recommend it a thousand times over and would definitly stay here again. If your visiting NYC and want to see the sites then this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahracheI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

What is there to say?.... a great hotel in a grea location. rooms bigger than your average in New York. Continental breakfast included and minutes walk from Times Square and all the other major sites of New York. Macy's is on your doorstep.
They also arrange late check out and store your luggage on the last day after midday check out so you can carry on enjoying the time you have in New York. would stay again without a shadow of a doubt...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kuredu08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed at the Metro for the 1st time at the end of May during the heatwave, and it certainly lived up to our expections.Our room on the 10th floor was a great size,soft drinks in fridge,comfortable beds perfect after a hard day seeing New york and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. Great to have breakfast,yes it does get crowded but its free ,good and starts the day off well.. New york is a city to walk with the subway and cabs for when youre too tired to walk another step,the Metro is in a perfect location and cant wait to come back and stay there again

Room Tip: Try to book a room on higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Breda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We visited the Hotel for the 2nd time in May 2013. The Hotel is clean the staff are so friendly helpful. The Breakfast is simple but the perfect start to the day and the tea and coffee being available all day and night is so helpful when you're a bit jet lagged. The Roof top Terrace is breathtaking and the Metro Grill so lovely, (look out for Happy Hour, the perfect way to start your evening!) If you are visiting New York, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alex_bygrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from our first visit to New York. A great city to visit and so much to see and do! We booked into the Hotel Metro because of where it was situated.
It is so well placed that you can visit most places from there and it made a great base to see and enjoy the city.
It is a lovely hotel, the rooms are comfortable and kept very clean by the staff.
The breakfast is a bit basic and as others have mentioned on here if you get down to breakfast at 'the busy times' you struggle to find a seat.
The terrace bar has a great view of the Empire State Building -fantastic with a glass of wine!
I have to also mention the concierge. A great bloke that is so helpful. He got us some fantastic tickets to 'Jersey Boys'
If you're going to New York -enjoy! If you're looking for a good hotel this is ideal!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#111 of 469 in New York City
763 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#107 of 469 in New York City
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#163 of 469 in New York City
2,183 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#16 of 469 in New York City
3,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001-2277
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in New York City
#69 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#114 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $190 - $469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metro is an independent boutique hotel in the heart of midtown Manhattan, one block from the Empire State Building and a 2 minute walk to Macy's. Times Square and Madison Square Garden and Grand Central Station are all within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing