We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is superb for sight seeing.”
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #97 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This being our first trip to New York we were not sure about the best area to stay. Trailfinders suggested and booked the Metro for us and we were delighted with the location and amenities.
Like other travellers we walked miles and miles, by far the best way to see and appreciate NYC, although by the 4th day we did take the subway a couple of times as we still had so much to see. The room was more than adequate, we only spent sleeping time in the room. The breakfasts were fantastic, self serve from 6am to 11 am, one day we had an early start and managed a second breakfast. So long as you are able to walk a few miles each day you can walk to most of the main sights from the hotel, we took the subway down to the 9.11 memorial area and then back up to central park, that would have been too much to walk in one day. The roof top bar was very lively, the staff in general were very helpful and I would not hesitate to use the Metro Hotel again if I return to NYC. Do not be afraid to explore the side streets and less known areas of the city during the day time, you can see some very interesting buildings and little gardens. DO NOT MISS THE TOP OF THE ROCK. Best view in the city. Grand Central audio tour, great. 9.11 memorial, very moving.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bazcalUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,013 - 2,019 of 4,273 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

The hotel metro is ideally situated for 5th avanue,times square and Empire state.go and spend an evening in battery park if you can,its a 10 minute walk away.The staff were wonderful and couldnt do enough for us.I emailed ahead of our trip to ask for a high floor room as we were celebrating our anniversary and wanted a trip to remember with great views.They emailed straight back to say their views werent great as the hotel is only 12 floors high but they would do what they could for us.When we arrived we were told we had been upgraded to a King size room and we would find champagne and chocolates waiting for us!!!
The concierge was great at advising on where to find all the tourist attractions,we bought a 72 hour bus pass from him for a hoppa bus with a tour gude and we just got and off wherever we wanted to.
A lovely hotel and we hope to visit again.Try the Irish pub just up the road for good food.

Room Tip: We stayed on 6th floor,view wasnt great but go up to the roof terrace in the evening for a drink and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeeStamford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I traveled with my boyfriend to New York between Monday 13th May to Friday 17th May. This trip was bought for him for his birthday. I have been to New York once before in 2006 this was my boyfriends first trip to New York. On arrival in to Newark we were lucky enough to find a licenced mini van that was taking passengers to certain areas in Manhattan so we knew once close we could walk to find our hotel this came to $18 each which is a lot more cheaper than getting a cab. This van was located directly outside the exit of the airport where you would get cabs. Our check in was nice and quick there was only one other couple checking in at the same time which helps. I had previously emailed the hotel explaining that I was bringing my boyfriend for his birthday this was obviously noted as they wished him happy birthday at check in and there was a nice note and chocolates in the room. Our room was on the 4th floor a good size room and bathroom. We didnt have much of a view but hey you cant have it all plus its one of those holidays where your out all the time and not in the room. The rooms were cleaned daily and to a very high standard. The beds were very comfy. I was not worried about that as we had read loads about the beds in other reviews. The hotel had a nice gym by the looks of it no time to properly check that out. The roof bar has the best views of the Empire State building be it day or night. When the weather is really good you can tell it's a popular location as there were a lot of New Yorkers up there as well as tourists. Breakfast was really good plenty to choose from to start you up for the day. Tea, coffee, juices, fruit, cereal, yogurts, muffins, toast, bagels with butter and jams. As you can imagine there are peak times when a lot of people are at breakfast we generally didnt have a problem but one morning we shared a table with another couple its no big deal well it would be to some people. As most people have said Matthew who works there as a doorman is an absoulte delight always happy and full of smiles. The concierge are very helpful with any advice you need about trips and general getting around. The hotel has the best location and if I was to return I would stay here based in that alone. At the end of the road is Macy's and as you can see from the pic's the Empire State building towers over the hotel. We did a lot of walking and most places on intrest are within walking distance. In the actual road where the hotel is we would recommend eating in Brendan's the ribs for starter are to die for. The Liberty is a nice bar/restaurant. When we had to leave we didnt get a cab as it was going to be really expensive we took the advice of the hotel and walked a few blocks with our cases which was a bit hard work given how busy it is out there on the streets to Penn station. We got a train from there straight to Newark airport it took 20 mins and cost about $12 each. I would 100% return to New York as I love it and know my boyfriend feels the same and we would come back to the Hotel Metro. I 'm not going to go on about what we did out there as this is a review about the hotel but I would say book a reservation at The View restaurant its situated in the Marriott Hotel in Times Square it's a revolving restaurant. The food it lovely the views are amazing but it is a bit pricie but hey you only live once .

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loz22London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Spent 4 nights here - our first trip to New York. Hotel is in a great location and we walked absolutely everywhere. View of the Empire State Building is amazing from the roof bar. Our room was very comfortable and clean. Maybe it was a little small but we didn't spend a huge amount of time in it. The breakfast was very adequate and far better than having to go out and search for it every morning. We had a coffee maker in our room but there was coffee on tap all day in the breakfast room. If we go back to New York we'd probably stay here again.

Room Tip: choose a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mazjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This was our third time at the hotel and it simply couldn't have been better. I emailed hotel before arrival and let them know we were celebrating our wedding anniversary during our stay. They gave us a free room upgrade and a little surprise on ice in room upon arrival.
All the staff are amazing and very pleasant. The breakfast is superb and well stocked with 24 hr hot drinks available in lounge area.
Our room was on the 9th floor and had an amazing view of the Empire State Building.
To sum up we simply would not stay anywhere else in NYC and we will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Higher floor have less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jesmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Good location, very close to Macy's, Empire State Building and the Subway. Rooms are dated and small but clean. Bathroom was also very small and with little ventilation. Our windows opened up to the back of the take away food shops so as soon as we opened them the room would smell of food. Generally the hotel was clean but there was a lingering food/musty smell. Breakfast was ok, bagels, cereals etc, good for a small start to the day. Overall it isn't a bad hotel, but there are much better so I wouldn't return.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mollymou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I took my daughter here at Easter 2012 as a surprise for her 18th Birthday, I booked through Virgin holidays but I think if we go again it would have been cheaper to book flights and hotel direct. The location was perfect, very close to Times Square, Macys and the empire state building was just outside the roof terrace. The hotel is on a fairly quiet street (for New York) and so we did not hear any traffic noise at all.

I emailed the hotel prior to arrival to tell them it was a special birthday and they organised a free room upgrade. We had two huge beds and the biggest and most powerful shower I had ever had ( well compared to the UK).

We had breakfast here every morning and could not complain about the choice although it was cereal, fruit and pasties and was self service but that was not an issue. The staff were great and as it was still a little nippy in the evenings the roof terrace bar was not open but we are able to go and marvel at the view.

We fell in love with New York and hoping we can go back one day and will choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank diddlydi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Hyatt Place New York Midtown Sou...
#150 of 470 in New York City
2,026 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#163 of 470 in New York City
2,236 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#202 of 470 in New York City
1,213 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#33 of 470 in New York City
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001-2277
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in New York City
#69 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#114 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $138 - $454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metro is an independent boutique hotel in the heart of midtown Manhattan, one block from the Empire State Building and a 2 minute walk to Macy's. Times Square and Madison Square Garden and Grand Central Station are all within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing