We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent metro”
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #102 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2013

When we arrived at the Metro we were given a free room upgrade , which was very good with coffee machine , a shower with choice of shower heads .
We booked with British Airways , and on arrival at JFK , we got the airtrain to Jamaica station then the E train to Penn station , then walk a few blocks and your at the Metro hotel .
The breakfast sets you up for the day , with muffins , toast , yoghurt etc. and tea and coffee .
The hotel is located perfectly for all the attractions and the subway . most nights we ate at the O'reillys bar a few doors down , which do great meals .
We got a taxi back to JFK , ( 80$ ) , and it was the most terrifying journey of my life .
We cant wait to return again to the Metro

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angel5002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,089 - 2,095 of 4,271 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2013

My daughter and I just returned from a trip to NYC and stayed for 2 nights. I requested a quiet upper floor room that was facing away from the street and they delivered! The rooms are actually a decent size for NYC for and the "rain shower" in the bathroom is fantastic. The entire staff is very polite and accommodating. I would strongly recommend it and the restaurant attached (Metro Grill) has great food and a nice atmosphere. If you order soup they bring a bread basket with a variety of delicious breads.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovenyc29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Fantastic location, great room and the breakfast is terrific. The view of the Empire State building from our window was a bonus ! The bar and restaurant are also excellent - I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachelPontypool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Just arrived back from a four night break at this lovely hotel. It is in a fantastic location within a 10min walk of most sights and a 10min cab ride to central park or wall street. The rooms were excellent' we booked a premier queen which was on the 8th floor at the front of the hotel and was larger than we expected and very well furnished. It was as other reports have said a little noisy at night but this is 'the city that doesn't sleep' it didn't bother us but if your a light sleeper bring ear plugs. We had continental breakfast included in our package which consisted of cereal, toast, bagels, danish pastries and the most delicious muffins fresh every morning. The hotel also provided tea and coffee free of charge 24hrs a day, great after a day of pounding New York sidewalks but if you need something stronger there are plenty of bars within staggering distance. We found all the staff at the hotel very helpful especially Matthew the doorman who was always ready to help with restaurants, shopping tips, directions or a cab back to the airport. I don't usually post reviews on hotels but we had such a great time at the Metro I thought they deserved a mention.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welshginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Getting here. $52 flat rate taxi fare from JFK to Manhattan (and vice versa), plus toll $6 plus tips – about 15-20%. Allow about 30mins ride.

Hotel. Small very good hotel with only 12 floors. Penthouse floor has the gym and rooftop terrace that looks up to the Empire State Building. Smoking area here too. Free continental breakfast and 24hrs free coffee and tea which is fantastic to take into room or takeaway. No pool. Small salon on 2nd floor. Located right in the middle of Manhattan. Buy all tickets to tours and shows at concierge and miss the queues at venues. Empire State Building tickets per person at hotel is $26, at venue is $25 – well worth the extra dollar queuing up at venue. Same goes for the shows. Close to subways and grand central terminal too. Walk everywhere from here. Ask reception for change if buying subway fares. Tickets are $9 plus $1 for the card. Machine only gives $8 maximum change back. You can check how much is left on your card with another machine at the subway. Ensure you get either the uptown or downtown subway entrances and also the correct lines.

Vicinity. Excellent location between 5th Ave on left and 6th Ave which is also called Ave of the Americas on right. Also junction of Broadway and where Macy’s is. Maccas around the corner with sandwich café, Korean restaurants around the corner. Hotel is in Midtown which is only about 15-20 mins walk up to Times Square, Broadway theatres, Rockefeller Centre Uptown or next street to Empire State Building and Flatiron Building towards Downtown.

Room. Free wireless internet in room and in all areas of the property. Great shower and pressure. Room a little small but fine for New York size. Bathroom switch light/fan ultra noisy. No blackout curtains so light comes through window, as well as from door surrounds. Housekeeping noisy. Only one lift services PH and rooftop access. Self service bag to and from room. Safe deposit box, iron and iron board in room. Great shampoo and conditioner provided. No full length mirror. Pillows not comfortable, this makes a huge difference to quality sleep. No shelf space in bathroom.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tweetcoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Fab hotel great location breakfast delicious great start to our day staff excellent hotel spotlessly clean and very comfortable could not fault This hotel at all we will def stay here again no matter what time we went down for breakfast there was plenty of hot coffee, chilled orange juice, bagels Hugh muffins and fruit and cereal

Room Tip: We have stayed at this hotel twice In two different rooms and one was as good as the other
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dunneber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Third stay while traveling for business. Hotel has a great location, service and comfort level. Guests are mostly vacationers. Everyone is friendly and it's fun and safe to stay here. Classy and clean.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LogicalisMikeJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Hyatt Place New York Midtown Sou...
#152 of 470 in New York City
2,022 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#164 of 470 in New York City
2,233 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#196 of 470 in New York City
1,210 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#32 of 470 in New York City
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001-2277
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in New York City
#69 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#114 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $150 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metro is an independent boutique hotel in the heart of midtown Manhattan, one block from the Empire State Building and a 2 minute walk to Macy's. Times Square and Madison Square Garden and Grand Central Station are all within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing