We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant location”
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #95 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2013

My local travel agent recommended this hotel, and we were not disappointed. My mum had taken me for a special birthday treat and we had booked a double deluxe room with 2 queen sized beds. This was 507 and was a limited mobility room. The room was very spacious as was the bathroom. Nice toiletries and shower caps, as readers of my reviews will know this is always an added bonus for me! The complimentary breakfast is just great, with the biggest muffins i have ever seen. There are bagels,pastries,croissants, yogurts, cereals, toast,fruit along with tea, coffee and juice, plenty to set you off for the day.
Location is brilliant, a hop skip & jump to Macys, close to the Empire state, Madison square garden, 42nd street,times square, grand central and the library, these can be reached within a short space of time. The rooftop terrace offers fantastic views of the Empire state. All the staff are really friendly and courteous, rooms are spotless and are cleaned daily.
It really is a great hotel, just one tiny thing, the travel agents had said they had informed the hotel of my special birthday and i must admit i was a teeny bit disappointed when this wasn't acknowledged, but I guess it isn't possible to do it for everyone . Maybe when i return (which i hope will be soon )I will receive it then :-)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JooWoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,095 - 2,101 of 4,213 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013

We chose this hotel based on both location and price, but knew little more about it. What a fantastic find it was!

We stayed over the New Year’s period, possibly one of the busiest times of the year, but it seemed that nothing was too much for the hotel. The rooms are superb, and we were lucky enough to have a room overlooking the street, this allows you unrestricted views of the Empire State building. The rooms are very well maintained and have excellent facilities, we had a small issue with our heating but this was fixed immediately.

The restaurant in the hotel is fantastic, they really know how to cook a steak!

My only small complaint is with the Concierge, they hotel appeared to have two, one of which was very helpful, the other not so much. When we asked him how best to get to our party for New Years Eve (A Jazz Bar) he suggested we walk ... through Times Square???? We then asked the same question to the reception staff who promptly hailed us a cab and informed us it would be a little slower than normal but got us there very quickly.

Overall an amazing stay and we cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room with a view of the street, you also get a fantastic view of the Empire State.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joss_Gamble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Metro in 2004 so this was a return visit. The hotel is starting to look very tired in the rooms but the communal areas and free breakfast make up for any shortcomings. Since I visited last they have also revamped the roof top bar and this was a massive improvement.

The hotel is in a great location with Macy's and the Empire State Building only one street away.

Would highly recommend for a budget option in New York.

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the street it can get very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MysteryGuestRochdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in december 2012. The rooms where perfect, clean and well equipped. Our housekeeper did here job very good, every day our room was cleaned in a good way. The rooms where not that quite, even at the backside. The breakfast in the morning was basic, every day the same stuff and not so much space in the breakfastroom. The location was very good, near by empire state building, time square and Macy's. Underground was just beside the hotel.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Mousty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Really good location near the Empire State Building but on a quieter side street. You must go to the roof top terrace bar to see the view. We had a really spacious family room with 2 queen beds and a king, all very clean.The free breakfast was plentiful with a good choice. We ate in the bar/brasserie on a couple of nights, the atmosphere was good but the food was only OK and a bit expensive. Very helpful reception staff but we had a poor restaurant recommendation from the concierge.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clarey337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The Metro is the ideal location for anyone visiting NYC. Stayed there with my son and it was the perfect central base for getting out and about, Penn Station 500m away.
The hotel room was a twin double on the 6th floor facing the back, wee bit noisy at night but not enough to keep us awake.
Breakfast was buffet style of cereals, bread and pastries plus coffee, tea and fruit juice.
Overall great location, friendly staff and excellent value for money

Room Tip: Ask for room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suntoucher72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

On the fringe of the expensive midtown area, this hotel is a wonderful find. The lobby is small, kind of boutique-y and nicely done. It seems to have been refurbished recenly. It does not have the plastic-y cookie cutter appearance that you find in the small hotel chains. The room we had was spacious, even with the upgraded king-sized bed.e. Here too, the decor seems have been recently done over....very tasteful-not quite modern, but not from any particular period either. The bathroom was very modern, clean and airy.
The only down-side was the timing for the complimentary breakfast. It was supposed to end at 11AM. While we arrived at 10:45 we took our juice and cereal, but when we returned to the buffet at 11:05 the staff had cleared everything away, saying that "It is past 11 AM. The breakfast is over" In every other case I have experienced, the doors are closed to any newcomers, but the people already dining were allowed to continue picking out selections from the buffet. I mentioned this at check and they said it would be addressed...let's hope it is corrected Otherwise-a lovely place to stay. Also, they have a special parking rate at the local Myers garage on the same block

Room Tip: Our room was on the 12th floor, so there was no city noise at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank arichdevel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#110 of 469 in New York City
763 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#105 of 469 in New York City
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#162 of 469 in New York City
2,184 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 469 in New York City
3,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001-2277
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in New York City
#69 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#114 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $188 - $468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metro is an independent boutique hotel in the heart of midtown Manhattan, one block from the Empire State Building and a 2 minute walk to Macy's. Times Square and Madison Square Garden and Grand Central Station are all within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing