We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #89 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Rochdale
Level Contributor
250 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Metro in 2004 so this was a return visit. The hotel is starting to look very tired in the rooms but the communal areas and free breakfast make up for any shortcomings. Since I visited last they have also revamped the roof top bar and this was a massive improvement.

The hotel is in a great location with Macy's and the Empire State Building only one street away.

Would highly recommend for a budget option in New York.

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the street it can get very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MysteryGuestRochdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,914
    1,360
    271
    67
    43
See reviews for
645
1,904
129
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (649)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel in december 2012. The rooms where perfect, clean and well equipped. Our housekeeper did here job very good, every day our room was cleaned in a good way. The rooms where not that quite, even at the backside. The breakfast in the morning was basic, every day the same stuff and not so much space in the breakfastroom. The location was very good, near by empire state building, time square and Macy's. Underground was just beside the hotel.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mousty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Really good location near the Empire State Building but on a quieter side street. You must go to the roof top terrace bar to see the view. We had a really spacious family room with 2 queen beds and a king, all very clean.The free breakfast was plentiful with a good choice. We ate in the bar/brasserie on a couple of nights, the atmosphere was good but the food was only OK and a bit expensive. Very helpful reception staff but we had a poor restaurant recommendation from the concierge.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarey337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The Metro is the ideal location for anyone visiting NYC. Stayed there with my son and it was the perfect central base for getting out and about, Penn Station 500m away.
The hotel room was a twin double on the 6th floor facing the back, wee bit noisy at night but not enough to keep us awake.
Breakfast was buffet style of cereals, bread and pastries plus coffee, tea and fruit juice.
Overall great location, friendly staff and excellent value for money

Room Tip: Ask for room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suntoucher72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

On the fringe of the expensive midtown area, this hotel is a wonderful find. The lobby is small, kind of boutique-y and nicely done. It seems to have been refurbished recenly. It does not have the plastic-y cookie cutter appearance that you find in the small hotel chains. The room we had was spacious, even with the upgraded king-sized bed.e. Here too, the decor seems have been recently done over....very tasteful-not quite modern, but not from any particular period either. The bathroom was very modern, clean and airy.
The only down-side was the timing for the complimentary breakfast. It was supposed to end at 11AM. While we arrived at 10:45 we took our juice and cereal, but when we returned to the buffet at 11:05 the staff had cleared everything away, saying that "It is past 11 AM. The breakfast is over" In every other case I have experienced, the doors are closed to any newcomers, but the people already dining were allowed to continue picking out selections from the buffet. I mentioned this at check and they said it would be addressed...let's hope it is corrected Otherwise-a lovely place to stay. Also, they have a special parking rate at the local Myers garage on the same block

Room Tip: Our room was on the 12th floor, so there was no city noise at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank arichdevel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This hotel was excellent value for the location-right around the corner from the Empire State Building but on a side street so not as busy as a main street. Can't hurt though to ask for a room off the back for more quiet. Free breakfast, wifi, and really nice and new bathrooms. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful. There's a garage on the same block where you can leave your car for a reasonable rate for NYC.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happytravels18_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on Honeymoon for 3 nights before flying home in November 2011. We knew the rooms were small and that there would be construction work noise out the back from early morning( remember this was November 2011). To be honest we could hear the noise but it didn't bother us. We were there to see the City and Shop. The bed was comfortable, the room and en suite were clean.
The staff were very helpful and answered all of our questions.
Macy's can be seen from the front door and the subway is a stones throw away.
We had the option of free breakfast every morning which was enough to get you in your way. if I remember correctly there was free tea and coffee all day long.
The bar on the top floor was closed but accessible for guest to have a look at the night sky.
I will stay here again.
In my opinion it's a great base for Christmas Shopping.
We dropped bags back every few hours during a day in Macy's.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sinar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#104 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 604 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#58 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 400 reviews
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#172 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,672 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#156 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Property: Hotel Metro
Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001-2277
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Family Hotel in New York City
#70 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#118 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metro is an independent boutique hotel in the heart of midtown Manhattan, one block from the Empire State Building and a 2 minute walk to Macy's. Times Square and Madison Square Garden and Grand Central Station are all within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing