We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #97 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2012

This hotel was ideally situated with 5th Avenue round the corner, the Empire State Building the road in front, Macy's and Madison Square Garden a few minutes walk away and Times Square about 10 mins walk. Returned last Friday morning after an overnight flight and would definitely return to this hotel. I booked through British Airways and I wasn't given the option of a room upgrade, in saying that the room we had, although small and a little update wouldn't go amiss, was quiet and comfortable. The bed I would have brought back, I thought it was that comfortable. We didn't have a view but it it mean't a good nights sleep that was fine by me. The room had USB sockets as well as regular ones and a decent sized LCD TV. The bathroom supplied, soap, shampoo, shower gel and hair conditioner as well as a hairdryer. The room had a fridge (empty) and a free safe. Breakfast was included which was continental and consisted of various bagels, croissant, danish and bread to toast. Apple or orange juice, tea and coffee, yogurts, butter and spreads as well as bananas, apples, etc. We found this enough but for others they may want to go elsewhere. Tea and coffee is also available 24hr a day free of charge in the breakfast room. There is also a business center on the 1st floor which you can use to check your emails or print out reservation tickets as I did for the 911 memorial - all free of charge! Go up to the penthouse floor and the outside terrace for great views of Empire State Building. Overall I was impressed with the hotel and the staff there.

Room Tip: We had 515 which was at the back of the hotel so no view. However, it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 16maria68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,241 - 2,247 of 4,305 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2012

stayed 3 nights here last week and it was brilliant. Lovely spacious rooms very clean and comfortable. Great breakfast, cereal fruit toast bagels muffins danish pastries yogurts and tea and coffee. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. Situated between Broadway and 5th Avenue with Macys at the end of the street about 300metres away. Very easy access to all attractions.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jackie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The Hotel Metro was conveniently located (in the heart of the city), the staff was super friendly and accommodating, and the room was spacious, modern, and clean. The breakfast buffet offered a great variety of fruit, juices, coffee, freshly baked bagels and danishes. Wireless Internet was a breeze. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed at the top floor, corner room--very quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claudia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Had a great experience here. I was there for three night while attending the Boutique Design New York show at the Javits Center. This property has a great central location. Easy access to all points of interest in the midtown area. Huge continental breakfast every morning, coffee/tea all day. The staff was very helpful from front desk to maid service. Room was spotless and well appointed. Great water pressure in the shower. Beds were very comfortable. Nice library area off the lobby. NIce restaurant/bar. Great Vietnamese food just steps away. Short jog to central park. Great shopping within a block or two. I travel to NY several times a year and will check this hotel for availability first. Only drawback is street noise at night.

Room Tip: Higher the better to get away from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toad727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

A clean, comfortable hotel close to Macy's and Empire State Building as well as many other areas
in close proximity/walking distance.Fantastic roof terrace for taking a quiet break from the buzz of the city - also for smokers - as the hotel is non-smoking. Staff are helpful and having a light breakfast included helps set you up for the day.Being so central ear plugs help ensure a good night's rest.Metro grill attached to the hotel is a handy base for meals after a hard day on the feet - and not expensive. Would recommend it - and will be back:)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janet b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I recently stayed at the Hotel Metro with two friends for 10 days. We had travelled from Australia for a holiday of shopping, sightseeing, eating and shopping. The location was fabulous. A very easy walk to the subway and well located for adventures across Manhattan. Just steps away from Macy's and excellent shopping around Herald Square. We were upgraded on check-in and the room was large and very clean. The free breakfast was very adequate to start the day and the free wifi was terrific for keeping in touch with home. The rooftop balcony, with a sensational view of the Empire State Buildin, was a bonus. Overall, it was an excellent hotel and I'd happily return or recommend it to friends and other travellers.

Room Tip: We stayed in a family room. A large bedroom with a very comfortable Queen bed, and two double beds i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shelley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I couldn't find any place in the city for a reasonable rate (under $400), until I found the Metro on Expedia, then checked out othe reviews on Trip Advisor. Took a chance and were very pleased. The location is excellent, the staff are all friendly and efficient, the place is very clean and the rooms are fine. The rooms are quite small, but had everything we needed. Bed was really comfy, there was an iPod dock (which makes me very happy),there were complimentary sodas in the fridge and free wifi. Plus, breakfast was included in the rate. Nothing fancy, but all we needed. Loved the rain shower too. Bathroom was tiny, but soaps were nice. Free NY Times at the desk, a helpful consierge, and that was all and,ore than we needed. We were very pleased, and so happy we didn't spend hundreds more needlessly.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank yecats59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#197 of 471 in New York City
1,218 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Hyatt Place New York Midtown Sou...
#152 of 471 in New York City
2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#162 of 471 in New York City
2,254 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#34 of 471 in New York City
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001-2277
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in New York City
#69 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#114 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $139 - $431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metro is an independent boutique hotel in the heart of midtown Manhattan, one block from the Empire State Building and a 2 minute walk to Macy's. Times Square and Madison Square Garden and Grand Central Station are all within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing