We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NYC metro hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #87 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“NYC metro hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Booked this hotel via Virgin holidays, what a find this hotel is. The hotel Metro is in a fabulous place for all the sights the empire stated building is just over the road. The room was small but very clean modern with a great shower. complimentary breakfast was good coffee tea bagels pastries fruit juice yogurts (continental) The hotel lobby was small but welcoming as are the staff, in all the hotel was great and we would book again. Plus Macy's is a two minute walk from the hotel as is the nearest tube stations.

Room Tip: The room was 901 with no view but very quite at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jou2fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,092
    1,464
    292
    70
    47
See reviews for
710
2,088
138
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (698)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sussex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

This was my 3rd stay at the metro, was dissapointed with the room this time on booking this stay 12 months ago i requested a high floor with a front view and twin beds as we had before but got 3rd floor very tiny room with a small bed looking out to a brick wall at the back this didn't bother us to much asked if they had another room as we were excisting customers they did not.Other than that would stay again with a bigger room, brilliant location lovely breakfast and ongoing tea and coffee. doorman very helpfall. woodbury common is a must do very easy from port authority bus terminal once again had a brilliant time in this great city and hope to come back soon to the hotel metro.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mollysussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is the best hotel I have stayed in NYC we were lucky to be given a superior king room.we had a bottle of champagne and a card for my sisters birthday.it was excellent to have a breakfast and 24hour tea and coffee .the metro grill attached to the hotel is excellent and very reasonable.as sad as it may be we counted and it is 250 steps to Macy's from the hotel so location is fantastic would never stay at another hotel whenever I return to the best city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearny, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Booked this hotel via the united airlines website and got a killer deal. Came here for Veteran's day weekend from Sun-Mon with the girl to celebrate our anniversary. Enjoyed the continental breakfast and the rooftop penthouse of the hotel overlooking the empire state building. This rooftop must be a treat in the summer time when its nice and warm with an open bar.
The rooms were smaller then ususal and the bathroom was small but with a spacious stand up shower. My favorite part of the shower was the rain showerhead. There are three showerheads that turn on at the same time. The location is great as well, being that the path and herald square is only a 2 minute walk. The service was great and so was our bell boy who kept our luggages after check out. I def recommend this spot for any family, couples or singles looking to enjoy a nice weekend in Manhattan.

Room Tip: Great restaurants only a few blocks away and Bryant Park is only a 5 minute walk. Great spot and se...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

From the minute we walked into the lobby I knew I had selected the right hotel. It was clean, and welcoming. the front desk staff were efficient, helpful and pleasant. Our room was very well appointed with huge comfortable beds. We were on the 12th floor so street noise was not an issue and we slept well. Breakfast the next morning was good and plentiful - a nice selection of bagels, cereal, juice and coffee. I would definitely return again and hope to soon!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolZelda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth Junction, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

GREAT place to stay...stayed there on a Saturday night in Novemeber for our anniversary at a rate MUCH lower than any other place, and Hotel Metro did not disappoint. We chose this hotel because the rate was good and the location was perfect for any NYC venture. The staff was courteous and helpful. Our room was spacious, clean and had all the necessary amenities. An added bonus was the rooftop deck with a pretty cool view of the Empire State Building.

We have stayed in several NYC hotels and are ALWAYS soured by the room size and lack of attention from the staff, but Hotel Metro blew them all out of the water. As an added bonus the continental breakfast was excellent and saved us money. I will definitely book here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Our stay at Hotel Metro happened to coincide with Hurricane Sandy. The whole of New York shut down for several days, but fortunately Hotel Metro escaped the power cuts. Despite having severe staff shortages for several days, the hotel coped brilliantly. The service continued to be good, the restaurant remained open (one of a very few that did), and we felt well looked after. Apart from the drama of the hurricane, we were impressed with the standard of the accommodation (we had a family suite - great for 2 adults and 2 teenagers), the breakfast was good, and the location is brilliant. I'd highly recommend it and would happily stay there again if we returned to NY.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank tammy42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#45 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,273 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#100 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#105 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#99 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel
Distrikt Hotel
#55 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Property: Hotel Metro
Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001-2277
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Family Hotel in New York City
#70 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#118 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metro is an independent boutique hotel in the heart of midtown Manhattan, one block from the Empire State Building and a 2 minute walk to Macy's. Times Square and Madison Square Garden and Grand Central Station are all within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Reservation Counter and HRS so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing