We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in a good location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #86 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Channel islands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel immediately after hurricane sandy.

We stayed in a contemporary delux room, booked through British Airways, which was perfect for the two of us (2 double beds). The standard of decor was very good, the beds were comfortable and where we were at the back of the hotel on the eighth floor it was very quiet. The shower (with three different shower heads) was very good, although the bathroom could do with an extractor fan. The room also had a great coffee machine and radio with iPod dock (although the time was wrong and we couldn't work out how to change it!).

The hotel is very clean and the staff very accommodating and polite. Free Internet was a bonus, although was a bit slow for my liking.

The breakfast was perfectly acceptable for us. It consisted on bagels with cream cheese or jam, delicious muffins, cereal, fruit, orange juice and toast. They provided paper plates and bowls and plastic cutlery which some might not like, but it didn't upset us.

In terms of location, the hotel is on 35th street very close to Macy's and Penn Station, so great for shopping and visiting Broadway.

Whilst we couldn't make much use of the roof terrace, there is a great view of the Empire State Building, so it's worth going up there.

We'd also recommend Keen's Chophouse on 36th street and O'Reilly's Irish Pub on the same road.

This hotel deserves much more than its 3 stars.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Justin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,091
    1,463
    292
    70
    47
See reviews for
710
2,086
138
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (698)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Very nice hotel and very nice stay. Even during hurrican sandy the service was excellent. Do not book a shuttle via the concierge. He advised us to leave at least 3 hours to early for the airport. Then the concierge changed the leaving time from 7 am to 6 am without us agreeing upon. He just left a message on our phone which we did not see timely enough.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

What a lovely hotel, ideally placed for all of the NY sights and sounds etc. Fantastic views of the Empire State Building. Breakfast was plentiful, Tea and Coffee on tap throughout the day and night. Some of the fixtures and fittings need updating in the en-suites. Bed was very comfy !!! Staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnTownsend321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Welcomed by the legendary Matthew who helped us with everything. When he wasnt on duty the other staff where excellent as well. Stayed in room number 1207, large room with two double beds, no road noise.

Breakfast sets you up for the day and although drinks are avaliable all of the time you can make them in your room as well.

Eat from street vendors, mobile kitchens, "Subway" etc. and Cafe Rustico (gr8 Pizzas) just up the street.

Room Tip: higher rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HampshireJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

stayed with my husband for four nights.a great little hotel in a good location .the staff,good breakfast,;comfy room ,we had tea and coffee in our room as we had an upgrade,left a few days before the hurricane hit hope everyone we met in new york is ok .great city we will be back and will stay in the metro again for sure

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pobolcymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed here for 7 nights from the 6th of September. We were booked in to a contemporary twin room on the 7th floor. Absolutely no problems with the size of the room. Ample space to walk around and plenty of wardrobe and drawer space. The bathroom was also a good size. We had a view of the next building from our room but we werent going to spend much time in there anyway so this wasn't a problem to me. It was my birthday during the visit so the hotel had kindly let me a box of chocolates in our room on our arrival. Thank you!
The hotel booking included continental breakfast. This consisted of Muffins, bagels, bread for toasting, cereals, yoghurts etc. Along with tea coffee and juices (fyi the coffee is available to guests all day) This was ample to set you up for the day. The roof top terrace is also an added bonus. The view is amazing and its brilliant to just sit up there and relax. As we were there in September it was lovely just sitting for an hour or so enjoying the view. There is also a bar open on the rooftop terrace in the evening which we only used once but it was quite busy!
The locastion of this hotel was perfect for us! Walking distance to times square and other locations but there is also a subway stop at the end of the street. Loved our stay at the Hotel Metro and hope to stay again sometime soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xxSunnySkies86xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

I have just returned from the hotel metro, this hotel is fantastic. I had a five day trip, which turned into a 9 day trip due to hurricane sandy! The hotel were really good in allowing us to stay for an extra 4 days. Even before our 'extended' stay the hotel staff were really friendly, and helpful. A big thank you to Matthew, the doorman, and the girls who work in the Metro Bar & Grill, they all did a great job, especially working extra hours during the storm, and still made us feel very welcome in the hotel. The food in the hotel metro grill is of a very high standard and i would certainly recommend it, its also a realy nice place to go for a drink in the bar and watch the world go by. The rooms in the hotel were really good, and cleaned daily, the housekeeping staff very attentive. The continental breakfast served daily from 7am-10.30am was really good, and more than enough selection to get you started for the day. The absorlute plus point for this hotel is the location, it really is 5 mins walk to the empire state building, 10 mins from time square, 20 mins from central park, you could not ask for a more central location. The roof-top bar at the hotel is a must, and the best view of the empire state building at night, its worth staying at this hotel for the view alone. I would also recommend Brendans bar & grill, across the road from the Hotel Metro, great food and drinks, and also the Playwright Irish Pub, just along the street from the Hotel Metro, really friendly bar, with good food, and shows all the sport you ever want to watch, including english football live.! We will certainly be returning to the hotel metro, i would not want to stay anywhere else in New York now. Cant wait to go back.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms have less street noise, but the street was very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rachel w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#45 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,271 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#97 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#106 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#100 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel
Distrikt Hotel
#55 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Property: Hotel Metro
Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001-2277
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Family Hotel in New York City
#70 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#118 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metro is an independent boutique hotel in the heart of midtown Manhattan, one block from the Empire State Building and a 2 minute walk to Macy's. Times Square and Madison Square Garden and Grand Central Station are all within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing