We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in NY: rooftop terrace with view of Empire State!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #85 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best location in NY: rooftop terrace with view of Empire State!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We wouldn't stay anywhere else after this perfect trip. Unbeatable on location, with no noise at all in the room and with a brilliant rooftop terrace, this hotel is right in the heart of Manhatten. On the next street down from the Empire State, just 5 minutes walk from Times Square and you can easily hop on the subway just 30 seconds walk from the hotel. We had a much larger room than we were expecting for NY with a fridge (useful for keeping water/lunch items cool), a big TV with plenty of channels and a shower room.

Fantastic service, room always spotless for us and the staff even put the air conditioning on when the weather was really warm.

The area felt very safe and it's only a small street so not much traffic.

We stayed for around 6 nights and managed to see absolutely everything in the guide book, mainly due to the superb location of this hotel. The breakfast was brilliant - every kind of bagel and huge muffins, fruit, toast, drinks etc. The restaurant also has a nice little restaurant which is not too expensive and was very quiet, snug and good to relax.

There are a couple of grocery stores just around the corner so very easy to buy water, food etc. A good steak house with beautiful stained glass inside right across the street. Pax, round the corner, is superb for custom-tossed salads. Macy's is just down the street, too.

No negatives to report... okay, so we paid a little more than some other hotels in Manhatten, but it was totally worth it. I don't think you'd find a better location in the whole of NY. If we go back, we will only stay here.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the back of the hotel and it was 100% noise-free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garforth_Echidna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,952
    1,382
    276
    68
    43
See reviews for
656
1,945
129
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (658)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The hotel is ideally located near the Empire State Building and Times Square. The staff was so friendly and helpful. The room was beautiful and very clean. The continental breakfast is just enough to get your day started. The rooftop bar is a great place to relax before heading out to dinner. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caseybella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed here for 6 very unpleasent nights in July 2012. Staff semi helpful
when checking in. The room was so small you nearly had to go outside
to get changed. What they call air conditioning would not even cool the room
when running it sounded like a freight train coming in the room. Could not
Sleep with air condition on so tried sleeping with window open but the noise
from the buildings and the heat coming in the window equals no sleep.
Would recommend you find an other hotel DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank corbie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Second time to stay here, hotel has been updated since our last visit. Rooms were spacious, LOVE the family room with 2 bedrooms when traveling with family, bathroom with large shower was a nice surprise! Love the location & free breakfast, hate the slow, crowded elevators!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank waajac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Stayed at the Metro for 4 nights and found it to be ideal for our first visit to NYC. Family suite was great value and like a small apartment.

We were not in an upgraded room, but it was fine. Our rooms were bigger than in most European hotels (I see someone else posted about tiny rooms in Paris - I agree the Metro is nothing like these!).

The roof top terrace bar was great and had an amazing view of the Empire State Building and a chance to sit outside in the heat of the city.

Buffet breakfast was straightforward and reflected the price. I would recommend the Metro to my friends. It's a straightforward good value hotel.

Top Tip for NYC first-timers - We found the yellow cabs are incredibly good value compared to taxis in UK / Europe. With four of us it was often as cheap as four tickets on the subway. Eg Metro to Top of the Rock for $7 inc tip. Flag one down!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank westenddee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We recently returned from a 6 night stay at the Metro and this hotel could not have suited our needs more.

Welcoming staff, very clean, close to the subway which we used day but also within walking distance of many sights.

More than adequate breakfast, didn't mind the paper plates and plastic spoons but the paper cups did make the tea and coffee taste a little strange. Most people cleared their tables after breakfast and it seemed obvious that this was the thing to do - however a handful of guests seemed to think it was ok to leave their mess for someone else to clear up.

Room was lovely- well appointed and comfortable. No view but -hey-it was quiet! Noisy but adequate aircon very much appreciated after a hot day out! Bathroom was "cosy", but the shower itself was impressive!

We felt a little let down by the rooftop bar, no atmosphere (bar not open) during the day, too much atmosphere (very crowded, noisy, smokey) at night, although we think there may have been private parties going on on the nights we went up there. Good Empire State Building pics though!

The best thing about this hotel was coming "home" after a day out. the staff were friendly but not intrusive and we could sit in the lounge area with a cup of coffee any time of day. This was especially welcome on our last day when we had already checked out but returned late afternoon, collected our luggage and chilled out for a while before our return flight.

We look forward to a return visit in the future!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elsieroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

had a gr8 3 nights at this hotel gr8 location and good value for money in NYC would deffinately stay here again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mitchMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#103 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 615 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#74 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 436 reviews
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#106 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#44 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,064 reviews
Midtown
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, Ne...
#100 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Property: Hotel Metro
Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001-2277
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Family Hotel in New York City
#70 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#118 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metro is an independent boutique hotel in the heart of midtown Manhattan, one block from the Empire State Building and a 2 minute walk to Macy's. Times Square and Madison Square Garden and Grand Central Station are all within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing