We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Metro
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
$188
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$224
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hilton Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$262
$235
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$459
$359
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$409
$347
SmithHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
$232
$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$346
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$351
$178
Official Site
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$263
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (4,382)
Filter reviews
4,382 results
Traveler rating
2,306
1,615
328
79
54
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,306
1,615
328
79
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroof terracemetro grillbagelsthe empire state buildingtea and coffeepremier queen roomnew yorkgreat hoteltimes squarecontinental breakfastfamily suiteset you up for the dayherald squarepenn stationthe penthousefresh fruitperfect location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,248 - 3,253 of 4,382 reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2008

We stayed at the the Hotel Metro last week. Although not a luxury facility, the hotel was clean and had an air of sophistication. The staff was very pleasant. Ana Maria in the bar was particularly cordial. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lily519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2008

We booked this hotel on the BA website and was attracted by the price. We were not expecting much but were really suprised and pleased. The reception staff were friendly and even though we checked in early they had our room ready and had left a small gift as they knew it was my birthday. Some have commented on the size of the rooms but there was more then enough space. A queen bed, dressing table, a set of drawers, 2 bed side cabinets and a wardrobe big enough for clothes and 2 suitcases! The free safe is inside the wardrobe - which we had trouble working but someone arrived within 10 minutes to help! The view of the ESB from the roof top terrace was great. The hotel is in a great location, really central and close to Times Square. The sub-way is less then a minute from the hotel and a great way to get about. The breakfast was right up my street and certainly enough to keep you going to lunch, huge muffins, toast, bagels, cereal, fresh fruit with tea and coffee on tap all day. The reception staff were helpful and booked an attraction for us as well as arranging our return trip to the airport on the shuttle bus (slightly cheaper then getting a cab but just as good). This is a really great value for money hotel in a excellent location. Would stay here again and would happily recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Lee123Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2008

My wife and i stayed at the metro for four nights in early january.We mainly chose this hotel because it had been recomended by several of our friends who had stayed there before,We could not beileve how well located the hotel was with macy`s at one end of the street and the empire state building at the other end . As this was our first trip to nyc we could not have hoped for a better choice of accomodation . The staff were very friendly and could not do enough for us, We stayed
in a queen room which although they are not huge are very clean and tidy with a very comfortable bed , which after a day of hard shopping is a welcome relief. My wife and i will most definitely be staying here again on our next visit to the big apple.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank wayne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2008

The hotel itself is very retro in decor so it wouldn't have been my first choice upon booking but due to it being the first week in December there wasn't a lot of vacacnies in this price range so we gave it a chance. We were very please to discover on arrival that the hotel was so central we were looking up at the empire state from our room. The hotel was definitely retro in style but very clean, the maid service was daily and they cleaned above what they needed to. The breakfast was limited but enough to start you for the day (fresh fruit, toast, yoghurts, pastries and muffins), it was all self service so you could get enough to fill! One tip would be to get there early or be prepared to take something back to your room because there are limited seats in the breakfast area. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others, it is a very good budget choice in a city where hotels are so expensive.

Stayed: December 2007
4  Thank SAM2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2008

had a 4night stay at hotel metro just over a week ago, was a present for my sisters 21st birthday and was just the two of us staying there. was my sisters first trip to nyc and we couldnt have picked a better hotel! it was just so central to everything macys became our corner shop for the week! the empire state building looms over the hotel, fith avenue is on the door step, times square is only a 10-15min walk away, central park is 20mins we walked absolutly everywhere as it was all so close! though there is a metro stop at the end of the street if you wanted to go a bit further afield. grabed a cab from jfk which is only $45 fixed(not including toll+tip) to anywhere in manhatten. hotel staff friendly at check in and doormen always had a smile on there face. foyer is in a very tastefull art deco style. and there is a large breakfast room, the breakfast was impressive as it is included in the cost amazing selection of muffins, bagels, cereal, toast, yoghurts, musli, fresh fruit, fruit salad, toast, fruit juice, tea, coffee, and hot choc. the muffins are huge!!
we was in room 10 01 which was small but still a comfortable size with enough storage for 2large suitcases and bathroom had a nice double shower. also the laptop size safe was a bonus, we had read that there was free wifi access in rooms so had brought the mac (check out the apple store on 5th avenue its a work of art)there was plenty of space for the mac, the camera and everything else. did get a bit of noise from the building work that is going on from the street but wasnt a major problem.
there are loads of restarants and cafe in close proximity, would love to recomend a pub/restarant, called heartland brewery, its right under the empire state building, portions are huge, service was fantastic and was our nicest meal of the trip, for a meal with a bit of fun, check out ellens stardust dinner. 1650 broadway the waitress's all sing while you eatand often get you to join in a bit, food wasnt amazing but was cheap and chearfull but the atmosphere was brilliant!
going back to the hotel, there is a small gym that is well equiped and the veiw from the roof top is as spectacular as everyone sais would love to come back in the summer when the roof top bar is open.
if your thinking about taking a helicopter tour look into zip over tours they are cheaper than liberty(the one that is advertised everywhere) and based next door but we had a fantastic experiance with them.

there was only one tiny negative point we would like to make, the reception staff recomended the shuttle bus to take us back to the airport, it was $15 each which is cheaper than a cab (for 2people) but you are beter of paying the extra for a cab. the bus that picked us up was extremly cramped, we was practically sitting on each others lap. and it took an age to go round the other places picking people up. just get a cab!

will definatly use this hotel the next time i visit NYC and have already recomended to friends

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank laura_lou83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews