We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Satisfied Returning Customer”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #84 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Satisfied Returning Customer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

This is the 5th occasion I have stayed at the Metro. The fact that I keep returning indicates that I am happy with it.

As a solo traveller I always have a Superior Queen Room. Sounds a lot grander than it actually is as they can be rather small. This is not, however, a problem for me as I spend very little time in my room. Who does in NYC! Since my previous trip the old CRT TV’s have been replaced with LCD models and this makes the rooms seem a bit bigger. The rooms I have used have not had much room for hanging clothes and I have had to put my case under the table. Plenty of drawer space though.

No problem at all regarding cleanliness of rooms. The chamber maids do a great job. Beds are comfortable with lots of pillows. My only problem with the pillows is, however, that they are all the same thickness and a bit too thick for me. Housekeeping were, however, able to supply me with a thinner one so all was ok.

The complimentary Wi Fi seems to slowed down considerably. The last time I stayed it was fast but on this occasion I could not get online a couple of times. I found that it was better to take my tablet down to the lounge where the signal was stronger. In any event, there is a complimentary business centre with two desktop PC’s and printer.

The complimentary continental breakfast is fine and gets the day off to a good start. The usual cereals, juices, toast etc. I like to eat as soon as I have gotten up and don’t like having to hunt around for a diner. Although rooms don’t have tea/coffee making facilities, there is complimentary tea and coffee all day in the lounge. Great for when you want to relax after a long day out. Rooms have fridges so it is possible to keep food and drink cool during the hot weather.

The location is excellent. Some great bars on 35th St and it is only a stones throw from 5th and 6th Avenues. 34th St subway is right at the end on the block and very convenient. I have stayed at several hotels in NYC and this is the one I return to most often. I will certainly use it again. The staff are mostly very helpful and friendly. Matthew on the door deserves special mention as does Tyler at the desk. Both were really helpful.

Overall I can highly recommend this hotel. I am a very satisfied returning customer and look forward to my next stay there.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room ask for one that does not overlook the street. It can be noisy. Rooms in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ST1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,113
    1,479
    293
    71
    48
See reviews for
718
2,112
141
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (708)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

I brought my boyfreind to newyork for his 30th birthday and we stayed here at the hotel metro, before i say anymore i am the hardest person to please in the world as far as quality goes! the hotel was beautifully decorated, clean & suprisingly quiet considering nyc is so busy & loud, the staff were helpful esspeically 'Matthew' who got us some great deals on tickets for the empire state building, tips on the cheapest & fastest way to get around nyc, places to go etc etc he was really really helpfull our room was small cold and noisey situated at the frount of the hotel so i upgraded our room for a small fee to have a big spacious warm quiet room at the side of building which was wonderful, staff were really helpfull, the breakfast was great free tea coffee all day and night. All of the major sites were in walkng distance of the hotel i couldnt belive how close everything was it made life there easy to see everything and staff would happily arrange travel or help in anyway they could i loved coming back to hotel after a long day on your feet to relax in a lovely hotel i would definatly stay there again and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: upgrade to a suite on side of building as it is bigger warmer and has no noise definalty recommend t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clare a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

I really can't praise this hotel enough. I stayed with friends in Feb 2010 and returned in December 2011 with my husband.
The hotel is immaculate, staff very friendly, breakfasts great (just what you need before a busy day in NYC).
Hotel Metro is in a great location so every thing is in great walking distance, and you couldn't ask for a better view of the Empire State Building!
Will definitely be returning again.
Thanks for two amazing holidays Hotel Metro!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirstin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montesson
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

A retro hotel, very well located, a short walk from Broadway, Times Square and the Empire State Building. A deecent breakfast, nothing special (bagels, yoghurt etc.) helpfull and informed staff. Recomended if you are visiting NY!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HarryMontesson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

Lovely stay at Hotel Metro.Fantastic location on 35th St with subway station at end of road.Central location to walk either uptown or downtown.Hotel rooms have everything you need with docking station,flat screen TV, hairdryer,iron and toiletries.Beds and towels were changed daily.Our room 403 was not over spacious but had a lovely queen size bed and plenty of storage and desk space.It was a little noisy outside as road works were happening but things like that happen i suppose and are out of hotels control. For once a hotel room where you can use your hairdryer and see the mirror! Bathroom was compact but had lovely shower and toiletries added every day. Breakfast was a bonus with lots of choice from bagels,pastries.muffins and much more. Roof terrace had amazing views and would be lovely to sit and have drinks in the summer.Hotel staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.Would defiently go back as well located and excellent value for money

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsBrisky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

Me and my sister inlaw stayed at the Hotel Metro and we loved it. Clean, friendly, great locations. The added bonus of breakfast at this hotel is great and also being able to help yourself to tea and coffee 24hours a day. Rooms were small but clean and good enough for what we needed. Everything was in easy reach from this location. Bar and Resturant lovely to.

When we go again i would book the Hotel Metro, and recommend to my friends.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paula g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

Lovely hotel.. Amazing view of the Empire State building from my room. Clean and spacious

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mypetal26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#111 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#100 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,608 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#42 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#117 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
#53 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Property: Hotel Metro
Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001-2277
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in New York City
#69 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#117 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metro is an independent boutique hotel in the heart of midtown Manhattan, one block from the Empire State Building and a 2 minute walk to Macy's. Times Square and Madison Square Garden and Grand Central Station are all within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing