We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd forgotten how great this hotel was”
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #80 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I'd forgotten how great this hotel was”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

I haven't stayed at the Hotel Metro for about 3 years and had forgotten what a little gem it is. The rooms are very comfortable and the breakfast is great; particularly the red velvet muffins, they're huge! Thank for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Posh1Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,138
    1,494
    293
    71
    48
See reviews for
723
2,139
143
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (712)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Stayed in the Metro Hotel in November for 5 nights as part of shopping trip i went on with my sister. The hotel was booked as part of a package deal so we had our reservations.

The best thing i can say about this hotel is location, location, location!! It is within walking distance of all the major sights, shops, tourist attractions etc. The hotel itself is also very lovely. Check in was effortless, the staff so friendly and helpful, offering recommendations and trips etc.

The room was very big for New York standards. The bed was comfy, the ensuite was perfect, the room in general very clean. The rooftop balconey is lovely, you can sit there and gaze up at the Empire State Building, which this hotel is in the shadow of.

the buffet continental breakfast included was pretty good too. Great way to start the day, and guests have access to free tea and coffee in the breakfast room all day should they choose.

We didnt spend a lot of time in the hotel - 5 days isn't much time in New York, but what time we spent there was faultless. The noise on the streets from traffic etc wasnt too bad either, so sleeping at night was no problem. We're already looking into going back and Hotel Metro will be our hotel of choice when we do!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bat_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
'Bama
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Traveled to NYC with my 6 yo son to see Macy's Day parade, FAO Schwarz, Museum of Natural History, Radio City Rockettes, etc. over long Thanksgiving weekend, and the Hotel Metro was a CLEAN, cozy, welcoming place to return to in the evening. Continental breakfast with real bagels, cereal and fruit was great to get a decent amount of nutritious food into my son before we started the day. (Definitely needed fuel in the tank for all the walking we did.) Bed very comfortable and high ceilings, window - so, even if the room was smallish - it felt above par. I guess they must be quality-minded there. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PRdreamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
120 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

From its ideal location a few blocks from Penn Station to its decently-sized high-ceilinged rooms (for New York City), the Hotel Metro offers a quiet, unassuming place to stay with a minimum of fuss. Tinged with art-deco flourishes and dotted with old-school black-and-white celebrity portraits, there is just enough whimsy to keep the casual guest occupied, and the standard amenities to satisfy the occasional tourist.

The hotel lists its check-in time as 4 PM, but after arriving at 10 AM they said a room should be ready by noon or one, so I returned a little after one and it proved true (after a rather lengthy check-in line at that point and one person behind the desk – probably not the best staffing plan for a Friday).

A continental breakfast was included, with a nice spread of bagels and muffins and pastries, all in a relaxed, comfortable lounge area that was never full during my stay there. Coffee and tea are offered in the same place for the remainder of the day.

My room happened to look out onto a dim brick wall, but if it’s a view you’re after, head up to the roof-top bar lounge, where there is the spectacular visage of the Empire State Building (though in mid-November the bar was not serving).

(I found a great deal online, at a greatly reduced rate, so it was well worth it – not sure if the regular (exorbitant) rates would be, as there’s nothing particularly special about this hotel.)

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks out onto the street - interior rooms face a brick wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CONNECTICUT
Level Contributor
122 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

I stayed for two nights over Thanksgiving weekend for business. I booked online, and was a bit worried. Warning: This hotel ACTUALLY LOOKS, AND IS?? EXACTLY LIKE THE HOTEL BROCHURE!!!! Except it is even better. And.... I HAVE NEVER EXPERIENCED THAT IN A NYC HOTEL BEFORE.
It was just AWESOME!
I love this totally non smoking hotel! Why?? You can actually open all 3 windows!! (Never happened to me in NYC before.) Large, spotlessly clean (and really?? I'm a Mom, and I checked everywhere), and very quiet rooms with a fridge, nice quality toiletries, full sized bathtubs, showers with loads of hot water. Deep, soft, super comfortable beds with nice linens to die for! Fast elevators, a very nice free continental breakfast buffet with yogurt, pastries, FAB huge muffins, toast/bagels, fruit,cereals, and juices. Free coffee 24/7,and it's good, which is very nice. Especially in NYC, where a decent AM coffee can be an annoying, as well as an expensive errand.
Good location in a nicer area, 5 minutes walk to Macy's at Herald Square, or Bryant Park.
Very nice super CLEAN (no odors), and a" not at all creepy to use" mini gym with updated equipment, next to a lovely, quiet rooftop terrace.
Best of all???

The staff!! They are better than everything else!! All are impeccably dressed, polished, professional adults, and even more unusual for a city hotel?? All are fluent in English. From the funniest, friendliest man at the night desk, (we forgot a razor, and he had a good one!) to the bellmen, maids, and the awesome breakfast room lady? She could polish a diamond to brilliant from the rough with only a dish cloth!! ( And yes, I'd like to hire her.) Check in, and out, in under 2 minutes. Not a single error on the bill, also a very nice surprise.

Not a single employee who laid eyes on you ...went by without asking if they could help you, hold the elevator for you, can they get you a taxi, do you need a map, or help, or directions, or anything at all in your room? I've stayed in 5 star properties that are nowhere near this good, for any real guest services.
This also feels like a very secure hotel as everyone is "on the ball"...and nothing seems to get by the staff. As a small woman, who often travels alone or with a child, I would highly recommend this hotel. I would rate it in the same class as The Casablanca, and The Library, and The Wales Hotels, but even nicer. Far superior to the claustrophobic rooms and poor service at the Hudson Morgan Hotel. The rooms are larger, not as cramped , and more comfortable, and BONUS? Less expensive.
I can't wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: We were on the ninth floor, room 916, away from the elevators, and never heard ANY noise. Very Nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BEEBEE4545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

This was my second visit to the Metro Hotel and was even better than the first time. Friendly reception staff. Extremely pleasant and helpful doorman. Good continental breakfast to start the day off. Nice room with comfy beds. Good restaurant attached with nice staff and very good bar staff too. So so handy for subway ESB and Macys. Will be back for a 3rd time!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank selliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

just returned from a fantastic time in new york made especially good by our stay in this excellent friendly hotel. the rooms were immaculate, the compliamentry breakfast was excellent and an added bonus. all the staff were friendly and helpfull, and we could not have asked for more. the hotel is an excellent location for macys, empire state building, and close to an excellent subway. we will have no hesitation in recommending and staying in this hotel next year. many thanks to everyone who welcomed and looked after us, see you all soon

ian and kim salisbury

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#101 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Best Western Premier Herald Squa...
#102 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#39 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#114 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Property: Hotel Metro
Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001-2277
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in New York City
#69 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#117 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metro is an independent boutique hotel in the heart of midtown Manhattan, one block from the Empire State Building and a 2 minute walk to Macy's. Times Square and Madison Square Garden and Grand Central Station are all within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing