We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location perfect for NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Ranked #229 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
dublin,ireland
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Great location perfect for NYC”
Reviewed June 17, 2007

4 of us stayed here (2 couples) in February for 4 nights, it really is in a perfect location off Fifth Avenue. The double room is small but you don't go to New York to stay in your room, its spotlessly clean and has everything you need. Location wise it was great, the polish doorman is so helpful and will advise on where to go and how to get discounts.
There is a 24 hour deli next door if you get peckish, and there are vending machines in the hallways of some floors on the hotel if you want a mineral during the night.
Would definately return to New York and stay here again as it really was great. They also arranged a town car to bring us back to the airport (New Ark) and that worked out the same price as the cab to the hotel. Next time I'll just arrange for them to collect us from the airport.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liked_copper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    362
    156
    43
    21
See reviews for
327
145
39
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2007

My wife and I had our first visit to NYC. Room was not big, but nice. My son said it was bigger than the Milford Plaza which he stayed at in January. Staff was very courteous. Restaurant was nice. Stay off the 5th, 16th, and 25th floors. That is where the ice machines are. Very noisy as soon as you get off the elevators and the halls were much warmer.

  • Liked — Good value for the money
  • Disliked — A little too quiet on the weekend
  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2007

Stayed here during December 2006 for some holiday shopping and sightseeing. Perfect location adjacent to Bryant Park which is now a picturesque ice skating rink and artists' fair with yummy hot chocolate and treats. One block off Fifth Avenue which is ideal for window shopping, but beware of the holiday crowds. Of course, Also adjacent to NY Public Library and a nice leisurely walk to Broadway. THis was helpful because we could not get a cab after the show, so we just walked back to the Marriott. Breakfast buffet is plentiful, fresh , and nice selection. NOt sure of the cost because we had free vouchers. Our room faced 40th street and the noise was not that bad. All staff is very accommodating. Their recommendation of pizza joint down the street was exactly what we wanted. Rooms are newly renovated and clean. Nice Bath and Body Works toiletries. THis is not your hip, see and be seen hotel, but rather a decent choice for shopping, sightseeing, and dining in the heart of Manhattan.

  • Liked — Convenience to shopping, dining, sightseeing. Clean rooms. Friendly service.
  • Disliked — Pricey during December. $650 for 1 night.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TakeMeAwayNaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2007

I read previous reviews of this hotel which were quite positive and I decided to stay here for one night for business. On the positive side, It was quite clean, renovated and the lobby was basically a place to check in with an elevator....the restaurant was off the lobby. It's in a great location off Fifth Avenue and 40th Street.

I was shocked at how small this hotel is in comparison to other Courtyards/hotels I have stayed at in Manhattan and other large cities. I am actually a New Yorker so I am very familiar with Manhattan and this hotel was located very close to where I had an early business meeting so I thought I would spend the night rather than having to take a very early train in from the suburbs. I checked in about 9PM and the room had a queen size bed, a credenza with a flat screen TV, two night tables and a small bathroom (usually considered the size of a "half bath"). This was the entire room for $419 per nite (including all taxes).
It was a good thing I only needed to sleep here and check out since there was no chair (other than the desk chair) to even sit on and you bumped into the bed each time you tried to move around the room!
So.....I still say this location is great but be prepared to be claustrophobic in the "queen size" room or book a King or double bed room for a bit more money to have more space.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the small size of the accommodations
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank rhkfreespirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2007

The good:
- location. Just off 5th ave and Bryant Park.
- front desk service was excellent.
- Room size was above average for NYC.
- Bed was comfortable
- best iron I ever used
- Bar made a great martini

The bad:
- Shower head was broken and I cut my hand trying to fix it.
- In-room safe was broken
- Worst of all...this is a non-smoking hotel and I awoke to the smell
of smoke coming through the vent in the bathroom every morning. Disgusting. I hope the inconsiderate person or people who smoked in their room were charged the appropriate fee to "smoke-free" their room again.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank tommydcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2007

My husband has to travel to NY for business a few times a year. Me and the kids go with him each time. his job usually books at a "posh" hotel but we have opted to have them book us at this hotel every time we go! We absoloutely love it. The staff is amazing (Frank, Oriando(sp?), Willy, and so many more!). the recognize us each time we pull up and take very good care of us. I usually have my boys in a double stroller, and they are excellent with helping me. They walk down to 5th to flag me a taxi anytime I need one(when it is raining), and they always have the info I need on anything. The rooms are clean and spacious, and great bath and body works toiletries. I find Salmon River(their restaurant) to be a little pricey and not much selection (I have kids!) but Cafe Charlie next door is awesome! They have a great breakfast, and anything you need 24 hours a day! Very close to everything, and easy to walk to anything. The bellmen help us unload our roofrack, and talk to and entertain the boys(ages 2 and 4), whenever we see them. I can not say enough about this hotel, esp. the staff (though it could just be we are good tippers LOL)
I highly recommend to everyone!

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Restaurant
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bludfalcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 6 Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2007

My friend and I arrived at the Marriott Courtyard at 3 East 40th Street Friday evening looking forward to our weekend in New York ; we were not disappointed. Staff members that we encountered were polite, knowledgeable, and professional. I received a phone call in my room after checking in and the evening before checkout to make sure everything was fine with our room and to see if we needed any services. The room was clean, the furnishings new, and although a little on the cozy side with two full ( very comfortable) beds, it was more than adequate given the small amount of time we spent there. We were there for a show at Town Hall so the location was perfect and within walking distance of most of the places we visited this trip. Our first night we ate at the restaurant, Salmon River; not being gourmands, we found the food good. They have a very reasonable pre-theater dinner menu. Next door on the other side is Charlie's Cafe open 24 hours. I think this hotel is a great value given its location and will definitely stay there my next trip to the city.

  • Liked — The bed was very comfortable.
  • Disliked — The room was a little cozy with two full beds.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank GypsyWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#228 of 467 in New York City
1,446 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#107 of 467 in New York City
744 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Mid...
#151 of 467 in New York City
2,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
SpringHill Suites New York Midto...
#156 of 467 in New York City
976 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#143 of 467 in New York City
1,079 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park
Courtyard by Marriott New York M...
#223 of 467 in New York City
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue

Property: Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Address: 3 E 40th St, New York City, NY 10016-0101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#194 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy comfortable accommodations and a convenient location near exciting New York City attractions during your stay the Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue. Renovated in 2013, our Fifth Avenue hotel with only seven rooms per floor offers an unbeatable location directly across from Bryant Park and within walking distance of Broadway shows and Times Square. Modern guest rooms offer complimentary high-speed wireless Internet, spacious marble bathrooms and LCD cable televisions. After an action-packed day of sightseeing, relax in our comfortable beds featuring luxurious linens, thick mattresses and fluffy pillows. Stay productive during your stay at our Fifth Avenue New York hotel with our full-service business center and spacious in-room work desks. During downtime, enjoy a brisk workout in our 24-hour state-of-the-art fitness center with a variety of cardiovascular equipment and free weights. Book your stay at the Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue today for an experience in the heart of NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue Hotel New York City
Courtyard Fifth Avenue
Courtyard New York City
New York City Marriott
New York City Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing