We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Ranked #246 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had a very good experience at this hotel. Location was great. Walking distance to Time Square, Empire State Building and Bryant Park. Traveled with three children and my elderly mother. Rooms were clean and nice and quiet. We found the staff incredibly helpful and friendly. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Teeveegee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard5thAve, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! I'm very happy to hear you, your children and mother enjoyed your time at our hotel. Our staff strives to make each guest's stay comfortable and relaxing. Thank you again and please don't hesitate to contact me should you need anything. - Justin Scarpa, General Manager. justin.scarpa@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    341
    150
    41
    21
See reviews for
308
140
39
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

The room size was good. It was hard to find reasonable price two bed rooms. I liked the location near Bryant park and Grand Central, and Empire State. Hotel had no soul. It was chosed on having teo beds, lopcation and affordable price. Coffee available but poor. Basic. Would stay agin if I went to this location but next time I would want to stay to the west of Central Park where we loved Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard5thAve, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for providing us with feedback from your stay. I am disappointed to hear you felt our hotel lacked personality or uniqueness. We pride ourselves on making each guest's stay an enjoyable, relaxing and comfortable experience so I apologize if we fell short of this goal. Should you find yourself traveling in NYC again, we would love another opportunity to show you how fantastic of our staff and amenities are. Please contact me personally at julie.v.kennedy@marriott.com for assistance making your future reservation. Thank you! - Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

First stay at this hotel, will probably stay again. Good location near a lot of restaurants and convenient for shopping. Staff were all friendly, and good (free) high speed internet available. Only complaint was the carpet is getting a bit tired so the room seemed old as a result.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard5thAve, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your review! I'm very pleased that our staff made an impression on your stay here. We would love to have you as our guest again! Thank you again - Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Located on 40th Street, between Madison Ave and 5th Ave, you couldn't ask for a more convenient location. A 10 minute walk to Times Square and the Theater District, across the street from the NY Public Library and Bryant Park (a virtual oasis in the center of Midtown). Hotel staff extremely friendly and helpful. There's a great deli right next door, and its not that far from LaGuardia. The rooms are a little small (but that's normal for NYC) but up-to-date and extremely clean. HD flat screen tv, granite counter in the bath, etc. This will become our "base of operations" on all of our upcoming trips to NYC. Our only negative was the hotel staff said they would arrange for a town car to the airport. At the appointed time, no car service showed up (not sure if that was the car service problem or the hotel staff dropping the ball). Like another reviewer suggested, just take a cab. Taxi fare to LGA is about $40. and no matter the time of day or night, taxis are easy to get.

Room Tip: We were on the 9th floor facing 40th Street and were able to hear some street noise, sirens, etc. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RockyMountainSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard5thAve, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to review your stay with us! It sounds like you got to know our midtown neighborhood very well during your trip here! Our location is just as you described it - nearly in the middle of everything! Thank you for giving our Trip Advisor readers such a fantastic idea of where our hotel is located. We hope you'll stay with again for future trips to the city! - Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

The hotel is in a great location, just a couple of blocks from Time Square and Rockefeller Center. It's just steps away from fabulous shopping and Bryant Park where you can enjoy a drink outside and live music in the warmer months. But, the hotels greatest asset is Pedro! He is always by the front door and eager to please to assist you with numerous dinner recomendations. He will even make reservations for you. I went to at least 4 restaurants that he recommended and they were out of this world! I plan on visiting again for business and for pleasure and it is Pedro's assistance that keep me coming back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveladdict3838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard5thAve, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Wow - what a wonderful review for Pedro! I will be sure to pass this along to him as I know he takes great pride in his service and care of our guests - he will be thrilled. I am very happy your stay with us was so enjoyable and I, along with Pedro and the rest of our staff, look forward to seeing you again! Thank you! - Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonington,CT
Level Contributor
116 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Good location, clean and comfortable beds. Small rooms, and no breakfast is included, but there is a deli next door and Starbucks around the corner. Economical; we were able to get 2 rooms for the price of many other city rooms for our family. Valet parking was a treat, for a fee. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: The front rooms by the street and elevators were noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connecticut-MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard5thAve, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you so much for this great review - I will be sure to share your kind comments with our staff regarding their service. I am pleased that our rooms and bedding were comfortable and provided you with a relaxing stay! Thank you again for providing us with your feedback and we hope you'll stay with us upon your next trip to NYC! Best - Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

The hotel service was great! The rooms are good for the price. The location is pretty central to tourist attractions like Bryant Park, Times Square and fifth avenue shopping. The downfall was they only have two elevators so during high traffic times, getting up and down from your room was slow. Also, don;t let the hotel staff get you a car service. Take a taxi. The car service will rip you off.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard5thAve, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to review your stay with us! I'm very happy to hear our staff's service was memorable and you had a nice visit in NYC! I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the car service hired for you. If you could, please contact me either by email (julie.v.kennedy@marriott.com) or phone (212-447-1500) so I may speak with you regarding the value of the car service. Thank you again for your review and I look forward to hearing from you! - Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#224 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,415 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#110 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Mid...
#139 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
SpringHill Suites New York Midto...
#146 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park
Courtyard by Marriott New York M...
#235 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#242 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue

Property: Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Address: 3 E 40th St, New York City, NY 10016-0101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#198 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy comfortable accommodations and a convenient location near exciting New York City attractions during your stay the Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue. Renovated in 2013, our Fifth Avenue hotel with only seven rooms per floor offers an unbeatable location directly across from Bryant Park and within walking distance of Broadway shows and Times Square. Modern guest rooms offer complimentary high-speed wireless Internet, spacious marble bathrooms and LCD cable televisions. After an action-packed day of sightseeing, relax in our comfortable beds featuring luxurious linens, thick mattresses and fluffy pillows. Stay productive during your stay at our Fifth Avenue New York hotel with our full-service business center and spacious in-room work desks. During downtime, enjoy a brisk workout in our 24-hour state-of-the-art fitness center with a variety of cardiovascular equipment and free weights. Book your stay at the Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue today for an experience in the heart of NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue Hotel New York City
Courtyard Fifth Avenue
Courtyard New York City
New York City Marriott
New York City Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing