We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and comfortable location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Ranked #266 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I had a girlfriend come in from california and living in nyc all my life born and raised in brooklyn .. Being in manhattan daily this hotel I booked on the spot the night person kenneth was polite helpful as well as all the staff the room was very clean for the price little small but its nyc .. Location is amazing and being in manhattan daily that block is quiet great comfortable location for the hotel .. It made a great impression on my girlfriend and she is a girl that does not get comfortable anywhere easy .. I will definality come back and stay again thank you for the amazing service and making our stay relaxed and comfortable ...

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tohot4neters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard5thAve, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

What a fantastic review you have provided us! I will be sure to notify Kenneth that his efforts made an impression. Our staff strives to provide our guests the very best service so I am very pleased you found our team to be so friendly. We love welcoming local New Yorkers and hope you choose us again for a "stay-cation" next time you're in Manhattan! Best - Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (928)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

554 - 560 of 928 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights for a getaway trip. Room was actually quite spacious for NYC, but I'm not sure if that was because I have platinum on Marriott. Room was clean. Staff in lobby was good, though one of the bellmen was kind of creepy. Not much in terms of amenities, but it's NYC and there is quite a bit nearby. The deli next door in particular had an excellent breakfast and lunch, and places to sit. Drugstore right around the corner. Times Square within an easy walk, but you don't feel right in the middle of it. There's another Courtyard about a block and a half away that looked like it might be newer and more spacious, but this did the trick as a place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Booha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard5thAve, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback of your stay with us. I am disappointed we did not beat the "just ok" title, but I thank you for providing us with this review to improve our services. I am pleased our staff and location were agreeable with your stay with us, however, and I hope you do return again in the future. Best - Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

High price for a small room, but this is Manhattan and that was to be expected. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. The staff was very gracious and accommodating. I always received a helpful answer or suggestion to every inquiry. Prior to my arrival I received an email from the general manager containing useful suggestions and information on the area(s) nearby the hotel. After my stay I received a follow-up email also. The location was convenient to Times Square, Grand Central and many other attractions. Never had a long wait for an elevator even though we had a high floor room. This has been problematic in many other hotels.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bkelmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard5thAve, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide such a precise review of our hotel! Clean, comfortable, accommodating and convenient are all descriptors we are happy to hear. I am happy you found Justin's emails helpful as well! We hope to see you upon your next trip to NYC! - Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I am a business traveler and stay here about once a month because it is near the client I see in NYC. Otherwise, I would not stay here. The rooms are very tiny, old, very tired furniture and draperies, tiny bathrooms, slow internet, thin walls, (noisy), etc. Last week I was upgraded to a suite, so that was the equivalent of 2 rooms, but not very impressive. I noticed that the door to an adjoining room was not locked, so tried to lock it and found it broken. Fortunately, although it was 9 pm on Sunday, the front desk sent an engineer right up and he fixed it. An hour later, the heater wasn't working and he came up again right away and said the sensor was malfunctioning. Lucky for me, I like to sleep in the cold, so I just asked him to turn it off, which he did. I have been here often when one of the two elevators was out of order and there is a really LONG wait. I also have been there when both elevators were out and walked up and down from floors in the 20s. Long walk when you have to take your luggage and check out. I was not offered any compensation or assistance when the elevators were broken. I am a 50-something female, so ugh is all I could say. This Courtyard has no restaurant, but there is a deli next door and a restaurant on the other side with a bar that has an entrance directly into the Courtyard, but again, they are not associated. I very much like the Bellman -- he has always been very helpful handling my luggage, storing it for me, and arranging taxis or limos to the airport. Front Desk staff is also very polite and professional. But otherwise, this is quite a down-market Courtyard. More like a Days Inn, I would say.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjw11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard5thAve, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your frequent stays with us! While I am disappointed to see that you are not thrilled with your experiences here, I thank you for providing us with such valuable feedback. If you wouldn't mind, I would love a chance to speak with you personally about your impressions of the hotel, especially coming from a repeat and frequent guest. My email address is julie.v.kennedy@marriott.com and I look forward to hearing from you! Best - Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We chose this hotel because of its proximity to Grand Central Station. It's only about a five minute walk away. From the time we walked into the hotel (around 10:30 in the morning) we were nothing but pleased and amazed at the level of service. First of all, our rooms (we booked two) were ready and we were able to get the keys! Availability at that hour shows that the hotel has a fully staffed housekeeping department. The front desk staff actually remembered me when we came back downstairs to ask a question. This is a great location in midtown. There were cabs always waiting outside. There's a great deli right next door for breakfast and restaurants are basically everywhere. We stayed in a room with two double beds which had lots of room and closet space. I just wished we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goodrzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard5thAve, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Your review is precisely what we strive for!! Thank you for taking the time to recognize our staff's efforts and attention to detail. I am pleased to see that our goal to provide personalized and hospitable service was achieved during your stay. I hope you enjoyed your time in NYC and we can't wait to see you again! - Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The location of this hotel is great. Its not overly fancy but its a good price for where it is at and the rooms are a pretty good size for NYC. The staff was friendly. Hotel does not provide breakfast like more Courtyards do.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knc1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard5thAve, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for taking moment to review your stay with us! It is true that we do not provide breakfast but with the many, many nearby delis and restaurants, I hope you found something to start your days! We also have a restaurant, Salmon River, that shares an address with our hotel, and they do offer a continental breakfast option. I am very pleased that you found our accommodations to fit your needs and I hope you choose our hotel for your next trip to the city! Best - Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Close to Bryant Park and walking distance to all the theaters. Easy access to restaurants as well. 4 nights with no issues. Room was clean and the service was friendly. Very good experience. Fairly easy transit to convention center as well (business trip).

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catlaw98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard5thAve, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the respond so positively after your stay at our hotel. Your feedback is precisely what we strive for. We look forward to seeing you during your next trip to NYC! - Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#224 of 469 in New York City
1,468 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Mid...
#143 of 469 in New York City
2,327 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#147 of 469 in New York City
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#112 of 469 in New York City
775 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#113 of 469 in New York City
888 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park
Courtyard by Marriott New York M...
#233 of 469 in New York City
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue

Address: 3 E 40th St, New York City, NY 10016-0101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#193 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $175 - $568 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy comfortable accommodations and a convenient location near exciting New York City attractions during your stay the Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue. Renovated in 2013, our Fifth Avenue hotel with only seven rooms per floor offers an unbeatable location directly across from Bryant Park and within walking distance of Broadway shows and Times Square. Modern guest rooms offer complimentary high-speed wireless Internet, spacious marble bathrooms and LCD cable televisions. After an action-packed day of sightseeing, relax in our comfortable beds featuring luxurious linens, thick mattresses and fluffy pillows. Stay productive during your stay at our Fifth Avenue New York hotel with our full-service business center and spacious in-room work desks. During downtime, enjoy a brisk workout in our 24-hour state-of-the-art fitness center with a variety of cardiovascular equipment and free weights. Book your stay at the Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue today for an experience in the heart of NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue Hotel New York City
Courtyard Fifth Avenue
Courtyard New York City
New York City Marriott
New York City Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing