We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
$195
$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
The Bentley Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
InterContinental New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$336
$281
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Parker New York(New York City)
$415
$403
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Royalton Park Avenue(New York City)
$295
$234
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$689
$617
TrumpHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
$265
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Millennium Hilton New York Downtown(New York City)(Great Value!)
$228
$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$168
$140
Park Central
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
Reviews (959)
Filter reviews
959 results
Traveler rating
332
385
168
48
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
332
385
168
48
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbryant parkcourtyard marriottgrand central stationfifth avenuegreat locationhour deli next doortimes squarethe ny public librarynew yorkrockefeller centerwalking distancearound the cornerfew blockssmall lobbywould stay here againempire state buildingfront desk staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
603 - 608 of 959 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2012

When I teach in Manhattan, it's at an office at 90 Park Avenue. The Marriott Courtyard at E40th St and 5th Avenue (specifically Number 3 E40th St) is just two blocks away. It's listed as a Courtyard, but it's way too much a "boutique" arrangement to be listed as your typical Courtyard hotel. Number 3 E40th is an office-building conversion, with six rooms on each of 40 floors. The room layouts are narrow, as you can see from the photo. There's not much room on either side of the bed. Still, there's room for a couch, desk, etc. The decor and furniture are old; this property hasn't received the makeovers Courtyards have been getting over the last few years.

The acoustics in thee rooms are substandard. When someone is in the hall, accessing the stairwell, or when the elevator stops on your floor, you're going to hear it. I haven't been entertained by anyone's in-room antics yet, but it's just a matter of time.

Still, this hotel is fantastic. I get back and forth to work, and the hotel is far enough away from Times Square that it's not overwhelmed with tourists. In spite of the odd room layouts and the need for a re-vamp, the beds are fine, bathrooms decent-size and internet signal solid.

I'm willing to overlook this hotel's shortcomings to take advantage of its positives.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YatPundit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard5thAve, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel! I am pleased to hear that our location fits your work and travels needs. You'll be happy to know that we will undergo a full rooms renovation in Quarter 1 of 2013 that will outfit each guest room with brand new amenities, bedding and stylish furnishings. We will proudly announce the development of this renovation when dates are closer. Should your professional travels bring you back to midtown, please contact me directly at julie.v.kennedy@marriott.com so I may assist with your reservation details. Warmly - Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My fiance and I quickly planned a trip to the city and were so happy with the location to Grand Central, Bryant Park, and the New York Public Library, (as well as easy walking to the Empire State Building and Times Square). Guest services representative Meredith was absolutely amazing by surprising us with champagne and raspberries as we were celebrating. I asked for a high floor room with a view, and got it. Got extra towels and pillows. The temperature was perfect and the bed felt great as the sun was shining in for a mid afternoon nap. The only thing I wasn't all that happy with was the hairs in the shower.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard5thAve, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Firstly, congratulations on your celebration! Thank you for choosing the Courtyard Manhattan/Fifth Ave to enjoy your special occasion. I am pleased Meredith made such an impression upon you; she works diligently to provide our guests with sincere hospitality and care. While I am disappointed you experienced housekeeping difficulties, I am happy to know your event was celebrated so joyously during your time in NYC. Please return for future occasions, we would love to see you again! If you'd like, please contact or email me at julie.v.kennedy@marriott.com with any questions or requests. Congratulations again and best wishes! - Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Location is great for lower midtown east area.
Room was not very clean - several long hairs in shower/tub and shower head filthy. Dusty too.
Strange configuration in hotel layout. Very very small lobby. Very small room halls - 10 rooms each floor in a semi circle/square. The lighting in the halls is dated and strange.
Overall - location only for me. The rest of the hotel left me wanting a cleaner and larger room.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank td397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard5thAve, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am upset to heard you were so disappointed with you stay. Our building is, indeed, configured much differently than many midtown hotels but I am sorry you found the accommodations to not fit your travel needs. Please contact me at julie.v.kennedy@marriott.com so I may privately address your review. Best - Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The room is old. The sound proofing is not good. At night you can hear people going in and out of their room very clearly. There is a small bar but not enough space for a proper restaurant and hence there is no breakfast served. One thing I like is the free WSJ and USA Today which can be taken from the lobby.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lau_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard5thAve, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Thank you for taking a moment to pass on the feedback of your stay at our hotel. At your convenience, please contact me at julie.v.kennedy@marriott.com so I may more personally address the aspects of your stay that were disappointing. I would love an opportunity to use your feedback as a building tool for our hotel. - Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This hotel is just what you need for sightseeing, especially if you are a Marriott points collector like me. Like any downtown or midtown hotel, it can be pricey, and the rooms are small, but you're not there to spend time in the room. It had the amenities I needed though: free wireless, coffee maker, free access to Internet-connected computer with a printer soi could print my online event tickets. The staff were friendly, and the room was clean and functional. We bought our event tickets online rather than through the concierge, but that's always my policy because - in general - I am never sure who gets what kickbacks. This hotel location is perfect - 5 (short) blocks from the Empire State Building, 1 1/2 (long) blocks from Broadway & Times Square. We walked everywhere - to Rockefeller Center (9 blocks), Grand Central (4 blocks), and even through Central Park to the Museum of Natural History. This hotel was great!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank wiltshs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard5thAve, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Thank you for taking a moment to review our hotel online! I hope you and your family had a fantastic time sightseeing in the city! I am happy to see that our staff and amenities suited your vacation properly. I hope you will return to the Courtyard Fifth Avenue for your next trip! - Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews