We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean property, reasonably priced with a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Ranked #305 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2012

This was my first stay t this hotel and my first return to downtown Manhattan for business in a good number of years. I arrived via cab from LGA. Unless you know your way around Manhattan, are well versed in driving in a large city, and like paying a ton for parking, take cabs and use the subways. Parking for the hotel is $50 per night and is 6 blocks away.

The hotel is located in a building within 31 floors, 184 rooms and two elevators. One elevator is currently being renovated, so if you are planning on coming to this hotel, take note, as you will probably wait longer for a ride. Consider getting a low floor (my Marriot preference) and take the stairs. Most of us can use the exercise anyway.

The rate for my stay was $300/night before taxes. The lobby is set up with two Marriott check-in desks off to the right as you enter from 40th Street and was staffed by friendly knowledgeable Marriott folks. The room was an upgrade for me since all I stay in are Marriott properties whenever possible. My room had a King bed, desk, dresser, couch, coffee table and nightstands on both sides with lamps. The bathroom was spacious too and very clean; typical for the entire room. A wall mounted widescreen TV and remote provided less than stellar viewing, however. About half the channels were clean with the other full of herring bone waves making it difficult to watch.

The exercise room is on the mezzanine (M) level of the hotel along with the business center and 24/7 coffee. The exercise room has two treadmills, an elliptical and a recumbent bike. Also, there is a full rack of dumbbells, stability ball and a bench. Water cooler and towels are provided. TV’s are on the equipment as well as a wall mounted TV with remote. It’s open 24 hours.

The hotel restaurant opens at 7:00 a.m. but if you need to get something earlier, there is Café Charlie next door that is open 24/7. Very nice deli. I had lunch at Devon and Blakely deli on 5th Ave. right around the corner from the hotel on 5th Ave. A nice “Vermont Wrap” sandwich, a bag of low-cal chips and a diet Coke for $11. I had room service as I was working well into the evening on my first night; chicken breast sandwich with roasted veggies and smoke mozzarella on Ciabatta. Nice. The hotel offers room service from the Salmon River restaurant and bar located in the hotel as well as from the café next door. Menus are in the rooms.

I needed a cab the next morning departing the hotel and the front staff was helpful in securing one. It is customary to tip for this assistance

I had just a two night stay here but it was nice. No problems.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the away from E 40th Street are fairly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tech-trekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen G, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2012

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay with us! We appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience. Your comments will be shared with our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (945)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

612 - 618 of 945 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2012

I honestly did not care for this hotel from the minute I stepped in to the lobby. Mediocre hotel with basically no amenities. Only 1 elevator was working. Front desk agent was robotic - no smile, no willingness to answer questions or give recommendations. However the most upsetting part was the wireless internet connection...well, the absence of it!!! It simply did not work in our room (1107) and for this reason I would NEVER stay at this hotel again!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FairlingtonResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Stayed for 2 weeks on a business trip. Essentially I would have been happy with the hotel except for the fact that they only had 1 out of 2 elevators working during my whole stay. This added an extra 10 mins waiting for the elevator in the morning. Not in keeping with NY's fast paced lifestyle.

Also, for 1 of the nights, both elevators were out! That meant steps up 31 floors for us.

Rooms: Decent - A little small but hey, this is NY.
Location: excellent. 5 mins Grand Central, 1 min Fufth Avenue and walking distance to Times Square and Central Park.
Wifi: Free wifi which is good.

Worth mentioning also the Salmon River restaurant downstairs is quite good especially if you want a quick meal after a long day at the office.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerantauDunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Stayed three nights. Everyone was extremely friendly. Front desk, maids, the man who cleaned the workout room, all were very, very nice. Room was adequate. Not posh by any means but nice. I would stay here again. Oh, and the hotel is well located.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnslitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

I stayed at this property in 2004 for $139. It was well worth $139 a night for the location alone. I stayed there this week (March 2012) for $329. Yes, they had made improvements - new flat panel TVs, new beds and a new sink, but they have not done much else. I would have given this hotel a 1 star, but the Marriott service is good. The front desk and bell staff were of NYC caliber. They were helpful and curtious. However, the week I stayed, it was at least $100 over-priced and the value proposition was not there. If you can book for under $200, go for it. Otherwise, there are dozens of other properties for a muh better value.

Room Tip: Even an upgraded room left me with a 29th floor with a view of trash on other buildings. I am not s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tkeucla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen G, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2012

Thank you for your feedback concerning your recent stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. Your feedback is a key to our success and for making improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

As was expected in midtown Manhattan, the room was tiny. Yet somehow we were able to squeeze in a family of four (two boys aged six and eight) and our respective suitcases. The room has the basics that you would expect from a Courtyard.

The location cannot be beat. Easy access to Fifth Avenue, midtown, Times Square, subway stations, etc. For a first time trip to New York where time in the hotel room is limited, this is a good option as a base to explore New York.

The amenities are limited, but there is a NY style grocery shop next door that covered the basics for food and snacks. Plenty of restaurants nearby covering all sorts of preferences. The hotel staff was incredibly nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CRHeel94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen G, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2012

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay with us. We are always looking for ways to improve and utilize our guest feedback in order to make changes. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

The room was a standard Mariott style room so very good but not great. The hotel is undergoing significant renovation so no nreakfast area or coffee like you normally expect. You could get free coffee next door with a coupon that you requested from the front desk. THe wireless internet connection was very good with hot spots for every floor, and as is usual for Courtyard properties this was free.

The location is really great for the major shopping districts the garment district, Times Square, and more. Subway closeby providing easy access to the downtown and financial districts, but there is a lot to see and do within walking distance of the hotel.

If you can't get in to the Marriott Marquis, or if this suits your budget, it is certainly an acceptable place to stay (even with the construction..

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OhioScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#229 of 473 in New York City
1,483 reviews
Midtown
SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
SpringHill Suites New York Midto...
#132 of 473 in New York City
1,042 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#131 of 473 in New York City
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Mid...
#157 of 473 in New York City
2,387 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park
Courtyard by Marriott New York M...
#237 of 473 in New York City
1,272 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#148 of 473 in New York City
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue

Address: 3 E 40th St, New York City, NY 10016-0101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #305 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $171 - $496 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy comfortable accommodations and a convenient location near exciting New York City attractions during your stay the Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue. Renovated in 2013, our Fifth Avenue hotel with only seven rooms per floor offers an unbeatable location directly across from Bryant Park and within walking distance of Broadway shows and Times Square. Modern guest rooms offer complimentary high-speed wireless Internet, spacious marble bathrooms and LCD cable televisions. After an action-packed day of sightseeing, relax in our comfortable beds featuring luxurious linens, thick mattresses and fluffy pillows. Stay productive during your stay at our Fifth Avenue New York hotel with our full-service business center and spacious in-room work desks. During downtime, enjoy a brisk workout in our 24-hour state-of-the-art fitness center with a variety of cardiovascular equipment and free weights. Book your stay at the Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue today for an experience in the heart of NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue Hotel New York City
Courtyard Fifth Avenue
Courtyard New York City
New York City Courtyard
New York City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing