We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome location”
Review of The Evelyn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Evelyn
Ranked #289 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Burbank
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“awesome location”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Easy & convenient location to walk around NYC - felt very safe - room is cozy - bathtub was a bit of challenge to get into to take a shower as its very deep... we were greeted by staff each time we came out of the elevator to check on how we are doing and when we arrived into the hotel, they asked us how our day went. Very caring staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank SADror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    836
    400
    139
    91
See reviews for
371
746
180
363
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2014

The front desk staff is friendly and helpful and our stay was pleasant. The hotel is undergoing a renovation problem and honestly I don't think I've heard a group of workers make more noise. I wouldn't expect them to be silent, but surely, they could avoid hollering to talk to one another. Anyway, the hotel has lots of character. It is over 100 years old, the rooms have hardwood floors and steam heat via radiators. There were a few inexpensive things I thought the hotel could have done to make the rooms more comfortable. Rugs by the beds would have been nice and it would have been nice to have had a small coffee/tea maker. I really wanted a cup of tea one night and couldn't get one in the hotel or next door at the coffee shop. The radiators were very noisey, but the rooms were kept warm and toasty. At times we actually had to turn the heat completely off, but we were able to control the temperature of the room. The staff at the hotel was friendly and our room was very clean. The bathroom was very small, but was not a problem for us.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a room in the place with a view.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2014

This is a lovely friendly hotel in the perfect area with lots of atmosphere and good eating places nearby. The staff are really helpful and the beds are hugely comfortable. It's in the middle of refurbishment which didn't really impact on us although it might bother some people. Our bathroom was rather 'tired' but the water was very hot and abundant. We would hope to return provided we can still afford it once the refurb is finished.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulricehamn
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Perfect located hotel with a wonderfull staff in the center of NYC. Old facility but with some charm. Even though renovation is ongoing, we were not affected in any way. The staff in every area was very kind and helpful. As a guest you felt more than welcomed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jörgen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We had no expectations when checking in. The reviews online are either horrible or great. It is a hotel that was built and has not been refurbished since 1910. The ambiance is phenomenal. The staff - wonderfully delightful. They helped with anything you needed. The rooms - although out of date, extremely clean and comfortable. They have updated bedding and furnishings, but they are basic. For a great price and if you have an open mind, this is a great hotel for you! We really enjoyed it. Besides... you're in NYC. You're not there to stay in your hotel. Check it out.

Room Tip: Rooms facing E27th Street are noisier than the other rooms. If possible, request a side room. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weehawken, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I stayed at the Gershwin Hotel this past weekend and definitely enjoyed it! The moment I walked I was greeted by the doorman and by the front desk staff. The service they provided was outstanding and very professional! Even though they are going through renovations right now, I believe the hotel will be better than ever! I stayed in a suite with a king bed and two double beds, the room is very spacious and decent amenities. The bed was really comfortable and felt well rested when I woke up the next morning. Since the hotel does not have room service, play (coffee shop/bar) is right next door and definitely enjoyed the latte! I definitely recommend this place since it is not far from union square, ktown, or times square. I definitely wanted to thank Aurielle, Jeremy, and the front office team for making it a great stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thebrownkidblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

a very good experience in a very fascinating building in a excellent position. quality of stay was overall satisfying: the room was large enough even if a bit noisy; the bathroom should be renewed. the staff was nice and attentive.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Maria Gabriella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#149 of 466 in New York City
3,026 reviews
Flatiron Hotel
#346 of 466 in New York City
776 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Chandler
Hotel Chandler
#133 of 466 in New York City
3,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Redbury New York
The Redbury New York
#265 of 466 in New York City
309 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#55 of 466 in New York City
2,254 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#40 of 466 in New York City
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Evelyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Evelyn

Property: The Evelyn
Address: 7 East 27th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8701 (Formerly The Gershwin Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#188 Business Hotel in New York City
#220 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Evelyn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Evelyn formerly The Gershwin Hotel is now offering newly residential inspired rooms with references to an Art Nouveau Style. Our NoMad hotel is inspired by the musical and art heritage of the neighborhood, which was the epicenter of the popular music industry in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. The music theme is reflected throughout the rooms, corridors and bathrooms. The NoMad District (now also known as "NoMad" - North of Madison Square Park) is now one of Manhattan's most popular neighborhoods, characterized by its beautiful and historic architecture, exceptional bars and restaurants tucked away on quiet side streets, and many other attractions. Centered around Madison Square Park, the NoMad District is within walking distance of Midtown, Union Square, Greenwich Village, and NYU. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Evelyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gershwin Hotel New York City
Gershwin Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing