We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,359)
Filter reviews
2,359 results
Traveler rating
742
923
441
149
104
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
742
923
441
149
104
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgershwin hotelbirch coffeegreat locationflatiron buildingslow elevatornew yorkmadison square parkempire statearound the cornerenjoyed my staycomfy bedboutique hotelrooms are smallcentral locationpenn stationtimes squarerenovation
Filter
Updating list...
1,640 - 1,645 of 2,359 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Had problems with heat first day, no hot water second or third day. I was told boiler being worked on and they were draining water from boiler. Also, bed a little too soft. But I appreciated all the staff and cleaning service. They were all friendly and very helpful. Great team!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Janice J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I love you guys! The hotel is perfect, the vibe and the charm it has is great! I ope to see you again in a near future! Thank you for everyting, and say Hi to Guadalupe! You know who she is! At least, everytime she cleaned my room she lefted an empty envelope by the bed side! Thank you for everything!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fernando S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

They can't rebuild this hotel, but the rooms are very small and cramped. The bathroom had no shelf in the shower for washcloths, soap, shampoo. The toilet was cramped. There was steam heat which was very noisy. Maid service left much to be desired. They were working with jack hammers outside our room. Otherwise, the staff was extremely courteous and helpful. The hotel is in need of renovation but is very attractive if a little dated. Very convenient for a short cab ride to MSG, Empire State, and Times Square.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

The Gershwin Hotel is in the midst of a massive renovation and noise can go along with it from 8:30 AM to 5:00 Monday -Friday. Having said that our stay in spite of the noise was extremely enjoyable because of the people who provided the service.

We were greeted our first night by Hicham. What a pleasant and accommodating gentleman. Every time we saw him he was asking how everything was and did we need anything. He took the time to show archive photos of the hotel in its great days and what the plans for the future hold for this grand old lady. Arielle, Dinet followed suite providing continuity, reliability and good energy when Hicham was not at the front desk. Mohammed, the door man, was always Johnny on the spot with a smile, a kind word and a willingness to help with bags, parcels and the like for everyone.

We were with the Gershwin for 5 days and for the money you couldn't find a better bargain with a nicer customer sensitive staff. Oh, I can't forget Housekeeping. They did everything they could to make sure our room was not only clan but had everything we needed to be comfortable.

When the renovation is complete this hotel will not be the bargain it presently is. However if the present staff remains, it will be a bargain at any price because PEOPLE MAKE THE DIFFERENCE.

Thank you one and all for making our stay so enjoyable. We definitely will return and hopefully soon.

Igal

Room Tip: Go during the renovation if you want a bargain by Manhattan standards. They really try to accommodate your every request because they know it can be a little noisy at times and they appreciate your business. If a good room is available when you arrive you will get it!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank igal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Although in an ideal position for sightseeing we were not advised that building work was going on during our stay. Although not working at the weekend the only public lift was being used by workmen when it came to trying to get luggage down from the rooms. The bar was also missing and the heating very noisy.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rosemary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews