We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky Hotel”
Review of The Evelyn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Evelyn
Ranked #297 of 467 Hotels in New York City
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quirky Hotel”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Good location, a little quirky and right next door there is the Museum of Sex.
There were problems with my TV but other than that my bed/shower/room were all good and clean.
I would go there again when in town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo_Branco_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    812
    392
    134
    90
See reviews for
355
714
176
350
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Niteroi
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Very good location. Good price. Cosy and clear room.
Excellent and helpful staff. Specially Dinet and Arielle, with kind and professional attention. My 2nd time and I intend to be there again!!!!!!!!!




  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Antonio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Have stayed here at least four times.Safe area close to Macy's and The Empire State Building.Rooms basic but clean.Coffee shop on premises.Diners in the area pretty steep price wise.A few minutes walk to the 23rd st.Subway station,a good bet if a group of friends want to travel together on a budget as the 4 bed dorm rooms are great value. My advice is to book well in advance as the rooms book out very quickly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the street otherwise you'll be looking at some very depressing pip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Der48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2014

This is by far the best value, location and hospitality team for your stay in NYC. I stayed here 20 years ago when it was a youth hostel. The Gershwin has been one of my silver threads over the years. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Howard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton,Texas
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Work in progress,perhaps? Construction work gives Hotel a somewhat dirty feel. Noisy in the AM. I woke up to a loud metallic clanking. Overall plain Hotel with nothing special, except good staff. Hope you can turn Hotel into a unique experience.This old lady(Hotel) needs your help.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Great value, location, and staff. Rooms were clean and bed was comfy. Old world charm with retro vibe. Easy walk down to the village, right off Fifth Ave, down the street from the Empite State Bldg. and a good hike up to Times Sq.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tracey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2014

It was cheap at the last minute. I work for myself now so this is what I have to deal with. The place was falling apart. most of the staff were very accommodating. I came to terms with it by telling myself that if I was staying with a friend ,as I do a lot, and this was my room and private bath I would be very happy.
I think they are trying to redo it and I'm sure one day after renovations are complete it could be a good place to stay. great location.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wendye K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GershwinManagement, Director of Sales at The Evelyn, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Wendye K,

Please accept our sincerest apologies. I know an apology doesn't change such an uncomfortable experience. We are currently experiencing challenges but we are truly excited with the on-going transformation at The Gershwin. We are confident you will be satisfied with end result and we can only hope you give us another chance. We look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay in one of our restored rooms.

To discuss a future stay, please contact me directly at nsosa@gershwinhotel.com or at 646.507.5403.

Sincerely,

Nathalia Sosa
Director of Sales and Marketing
The Gershwin Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#159 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,904 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Chandler
Hotel Chandler
#124 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,272 reviews
Flatiron Hotel
#333 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Redbury New York
The Redbury New York
#292 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
The Paul Hotel
#295 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#48 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Evelyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Evelyn

Property: The Evelyn
Address: 7 East 27th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8701 (Formerly The Gershwin Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#190 Business Hotel in New York City
#223 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Evelyn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Evelyn formerly The Gershwin Hotel is now offering newly residential inspired rooms with references to an Art Nouveau Style. Our NoMad hotel is inspired by the musical and art heritage of the neighborhood, which was the epicenter of the popular music industry in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. The music theme is reflected throughout the rooms, corridors and bathrooms. The NoMad District (now also known as "NoMad" - North of Madison Square Park) is now one of Manhattan's most popular neighborhoods, characterized by its beautiful and historic architecture, exceptional bars and restaurants tucked away on quiet side streets, and many other attractions. Centered around Madison Square Park, the NoMad District is within walking distance of Midtown, Union Square, Greenwich Village, and NYU. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Evelyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gershwin Hotel New York City
Gershwin Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing