We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of The Evelyn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Evelyn
Ranked #294 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Miami
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent location”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Perfect place for those who want to be close to everything and have access to affordable restaurants and commute. Excellent staff, very clean rooms and in site place to receive friends and make brief meetings.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 799oliveira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    825
    396
    136
    90
See reviews for
362
729
178
354
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Was here for 3 nights and would definitely be back on any future visits. All the staff are very friendly and very helpful. The only thing I will say is that if you are a light sleeper then there can be quite a bit of noise at times from the street, however, I'm not a light sleep so wasn't a problem for me. The rooms are cosy and clean and the bed was very comfy. Great hotel and great location.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2014

FANTASTIC STAFF!
I didn't learn everyone's names, however, I can certainly say that Isabel, Hashim and Mohammed were among the VERY BEST!!
Very rarely do I ever receive any sort of phone call 15 minutes after leaving the front desk, asking me if everything is alright.
The staff placed a very nice touch on everything--making guests feel oh-so welcome!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2014

The location is excellent, easy access to work and leisure.
The hotel staff is great, they are responsive and cordial.
Good coffee shop, good value,
The room that I was assigned is in need of renovation.







  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Miguel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

As loved the Gershwin several years ago. It was a funky, charming, convenient place to stay. Our last visit, however, was a huge disappointment. The huge murals of musicians were missing from the halls. The lobby was sterile instead of cozy. Our room was tiny with the most incredibly inconvenient bathroom layout we have ever seen. The housekeeping staff "forgot" to make up our room one day. The only reason I didn't give it a "2" or "poor" rating is the excellent staff in the lobby and at the door. They almost made up for the problems. They were all courteous and went well out of their way to be helpful. One doorman offered us an umbrella on the way out. Another ran all the way down the block to hail a taxi for us. One concierge explained the NY bus system in great detail, and another gave us good advice about a place to eat and enjoy a show. The place is under renovation and we won't give it another try until all of that is finished.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaydc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2014

7th floor room noisy on the 27th street side and outside lighting cam in with shades shut. Otherwise room was clean, comfortable and staff was very helpful/firendly. Of course Birch's makes the best coffee as a long time client. Good value for price when other hotels 50-100% higher.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Scott N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is probably not the most modern I have stayed it. However room was warm and clean, bed was very comfortable and shower powerful. The street noise didn't bother me as much as I thought but the best thing about the hotel is Mohammed the concierge. Friendly, helpful and full of info. Always making sure we had a good day and made great suggestions. Would recommend hotel just for him!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#160 of 468 in New York City
2,962 reviews
Flatiron Hotel
#337 of 468 in New York City
770 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Chandler
Hotel Chandler
#132 of 468 in New York City
3,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Redbury New York
The Redbury New York
#270 of 468 in New York City
283 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#33 of 468 in New York City
650 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#49 of 468 in New York City
2,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Evelyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Evelyn

Property: The Evelyn
Address: 7 East 27th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8701 (Formerly The Gershwin Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#190 Business Hotel in New York City
#223 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Evelyn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Evelyn formerly The Gershwin Hotel is now offering newly residential inspired rooms with references to an Art Nouveau Style. Our NoMad hotel is inspired by the musical and art heritage of the neighborhood, which was the epicenter of the popular music industry in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. The music theme is reflected throughout the rooms, corridors and bathrooms. The NoMad District (now also known as "NoMad" - North of Madison Square Park) is now one of Manhattan's most popular neighborhoods, characterized by its beautiful and historic architecture, exceptional bars and restaurants tucked away on quiet side streets, and many other attractions. Centered around Madison Square Park, the NoMad District is within walking distance of Midtown, Union Square, Greenwich Village, and NYU. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelPower, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Evelyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gershwin Hotel New York City
Gershwin Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing