We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ceiling falling down, cold, not recommended”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Evelyn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Evelyn
Ranked #295 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Paris, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Ceiling falling down, cold, not recommended”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

I didn't expect much from this hotel, but costing just over $500 for 2 nights I did expect the basics. I didn't get them.

Positives:
- Very comfortable bed
- Location
- Friendly staff

Negatives
- Freezing cold room
- Took a long time to get hot water for a shower
- Noise from construction going on in the hotel
- The one lift in operation took a long time to arrive and was very old ans slightly scary. Not great when you're on a high floor like I was

Regarding the ceiling, it was in a poor state, particularly in the bathroom. There would be bits of paint chips on the floor and in the towels when I picked them up.

I wouldn't stay in this hotel again in the current state. Perhaps the on-going renovations will bring it up to standard.

I should say that I didn't complain when I was there - mainly because it was a short trip. So I didn't give the hotel a chance to deal with my issues.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanD10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    801
    384
    133
    88
See reviews for
353
701
172
345
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Germantown
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

This hotel has lobby access to a coffee shop. We needed breakfast before venturing out. One evening, I needed hot water for my tea. The coffee shop has delicious breakfast, muffins, cookies. Overall, I would definitely return to the Gershwin for our future NYC trips.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vineyard Haven
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

I wish i had known about your renovation, the noise was not good for a weekend to rest.Your staff tried to make up for our inconvenience, ALMOST i do hope your Hotal will be beautiful when completed, i still which in your adds you had mentioned the renovation Unhappy JCA

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

That frig issue was a real problem. I had to get ice around the clock in order to keep my medications and snacks cool, especially with the room being overly heated despite the closed radiator.. Really loved the place though, and I guarantee I will come back every month if only you get the frig option like everywhere else.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Tova S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Signal Hill
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Everything was perfect, the employees were nice, patience, and attentive. The locating is fantastic. I'll definitely be staying here again. The room was so clean and the bed was so comfortable. Very relaxing

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keysborough
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

The Hotel has a really good new york feel, feels like you are staying in a small apartment as oppose to a hotel. Also Excellent Beds. Room Lighting could have been better especially in the bathroom. the Radiator style heating is extremely noisy throughout the night.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Montague J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Need to renew furniture and room equipments. The noise is also a problem, but Hope this will be resolved as soon as works will finish. The elevators are always busy and difficult to use during rish hours

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Massimo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#159 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,863 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Chandler
Hotel Chandler
#120 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,247 reviews
Flatiron Hotel
#333 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Redbury New York
The Redbury New York
#296 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
The Paul Hotel
#291 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#48 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Evelyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Evelyn

Property: The Evelyn
Address: 7 East 27th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8701 (Formerly The Gershwin Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#190 Business Hotel in New York City
#223 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Evelyn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Evelyn formerly The Gershwin Hotel is now offering newly residential inspired rooms with references to an Art Nouveau Style. Our NoMad hotel is inspired by the musical and art heritage of the neighborhood, which was the epicenter of the popular music industry in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. The music theme is reflected throughout the rooms, corridors and bathrooms. The NoMad District (now also known as "NoMad" - North of Madison Square Park) is now one of Manhattan's most popular neighborhoods, characterized by its beautiful and historic architecture, exceptional bars and restaurants tucked away on quiet side streets, and many other attractions. Centered around Madison Square Park, the NoMad District is within walking distance of Midtown, Union Square, Greenwich Village, and NYU. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Evelyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gershwin Hotel New York City
Gershwin Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing