We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, staff really friendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Evelyn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Evelyn
Ranked #295 of 467 Hotels in New York City
wrexham
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good location, staff really friendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

As the previous posts say this hotel is under refurbishment. However our room was really clean but very dated. Painted black furniture, old sash windows, no double glazing. We were 9th floor heard every car, truck and thud of traffic one night they started digging the outside road at 6 pm did not finish with jack hammers and rollers til 6 in the morning, not hotels fault but ######Iwhats all that about. I would stay here againIbut after the refurb. No art pictures anywhere. FabIcoffee shop.

Room Tip: Any room i amsure would be fine. Ours was really small but bed comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WrexhamLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    801
    384
    133
    88
See reviews for
353
701
172
345
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Utah
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

My room was falling apart. Tiles missing from bathroom walls, dingy, dirty floors, depressing is an understatement. Great location but such a disappointment. I mentioned my feelings in a kind way to the front desk, after my no hot water morning shower.....she could have cared less. Really? I asked for a manager and she wouldn't get one. Really? Yuk yuk yuk

Room Tip: Stay away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank n2dzine2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GershwinManagement, General Manager at The Evelyn, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Good day,

First and foremost thank you for staying at the Gershwin Hotel. Please know that guest feedback whether positive or negative are considered learning experiences and teaching opportunities.
Unfortunately we failed to provide you with acceptable accommodations. I deeply apologize for the inconvenience. Please feel free to contact me to discuss your stay in detail.

Regards,

John David Agosto
General Manager
jagosto@gershwinhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Great location for all sightseeing in New York. Staff were all excellent and really friendly.

Room was really clean and the bed was huge and very comfortable with lovely linen.

Perfect base for a week of sightseein in the Big Apple.

Room Tip: Book a room off the street as our original room was on the street and it is exceptionally noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poolesville, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

My family stayed here in June and it was the perfect hotel. Our room was made up of two small rooms. It offered two twin beds in one room so each child had a bed. That room connect to a room with one queen bed and the bath. It was the only place I found in NY that offered this option at a price we could afford. I loved it so much I wanted to book the room again for another family trip to discover they don't have these rooms anymore. When traveling with children, not babies, having separate areas and beds is so needed. Now the hotel's family room is a room with queen bed and pull out sofa. The room type made this hotel special. Without it, the rooms are your typical old hotel building rooms. Comfortable, clean and basic.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Visited on honeymoon in May. Location great and easy to find. When we arrived we were given a twin room but had booked a double, this was quickly sorted out.

Lobby was very stylish and modern - room was ok, small and quite plain, bathroom very small. Room not cleaned on third day. Hot water sometimes an issue.

Overall, our stay was fine and this was much nicer than our other hotel stay in NYC. Would return but only if got a good deal on price.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

The hotel staff were nice and helpful with local information. The room was very small but expected in a city like New York. The rooms were very basic but very clean. The main complaint would be that they had maintenance work going on during the day which made the hotel extremely noisy and uncomfortable to just chill out in during the day. The noise would start as early as 7am and continue right till early evening. At no point in time from booking to checking in to hotel were we advised about maintenance/renovations taking place, as this may have made us choose a different hotel however the manager on duty was very good at service recovering us when I brought the situation to his attention. There is an A/C unit outside every rooms window and two massive A/C units on the roof which are very noise, so you will hear a humming noise throughout the day and night. Even if you have your one off, you will hear other units A/C or the large roof top A/C units which are on all day and night. Bit better with the window closed but still noticeable. The coffee shop on the ground floor attached to the hotel has the best coffee you will enjoy in New York. I know and love my coffee and was prepared to pay the higher price for the coffee there rather than a Starbucks or equivalent coffee elsewhere. The location of the hotel is great with easy access to subway trains and also within walking distance of many attractions. The price to stay at this hotel was a bit excessive considering they had maintenance/renovation going on and rooms so basic and small, but hey, it is New York!

Room Tip: Try get a room away from the two large A/C units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

The staff were friendly, the location is good. The prices were a bit high for what you got but that is more to do with location. Another good thing dis that there is now a coffee shop next door. The room itself was good, but the shower could be better, and during the day they have a lot of building going on, so sometimes a lay in just may not be a option as there is too much noise

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#159 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,863 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Chandler
Hotel Chandler
#120 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,247 reviews
Flatiron Hotel
#333 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Redbury New York
The Redbury New York
#296 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
The Paul Hotel
#291 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#48 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Evelyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Evelyn

Property: The Evelyn
Address: 7 East 27th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8701 (Formerly The Gershwin Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#190 Business Hotel in New York City
#223 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Evelyn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Evelyn formerly The Gershwin Hotel is now offering newly residential inspired rooms with references to an Art Nouveau Style. Our NoMad hotel is inspired by the musical and art heritage of the neighborhood, which was the epicenter of the popular music industry in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. The music theme is reflected throughout the rooms, corridors and bathrooms. The NoMad District (now also known as "NoMad" - North of Madison Square Park) is now one of Manhattan's most popular neighborhoods, characterized by its beautiful and historic architecture, exceptional bars and restaurants tucked away on quiet side streets, and many other attractions. Centered around Madison Square Park, the NoMad District is within walking distance of Midtown, Union Square, Greenwich Village, and NYU. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Evelyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gershwin Hotel New York City
Gershwin Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing