We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Evelyn
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$326
$271
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
$249
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$187
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$171
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
$176
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
$167
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$159
$120
Park Central
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$100
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$297
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (2,274)
Filter reviews
2,274 results
Traveler rating
680
905
439
148
102
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
680
905
439
148
102
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbirch coffeegreat locationflatiron buildingnew yorkmadison square parkempire statearound the cornerboutique hotelrooms are smallcentral locationpenn stationtimes squaregershwinrenovationlobbynyctiles
Filter
Updating list...
1,669 - 1,674 of 2,274 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Great location for all sightseeing in New York. Staff were all excellent and really friendly.

Room was really clean and the bed was huge and very comfortable with lovely linen.

Perfect base for a week of sightseein in the Big Apple.

Room Tip: Book a room off the street as our original room was on the street and it is exceptionally noisy.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

My family stayed here in June and it was the perfect hotel. Our room was made up of two small rooms. It offered two twin beds in one room so each child had a bed. That room connect to a room with one queen bed and the bath. It was the only place I found in NY that offered this option at a price we could afford. I loved it so much I wanted to book the room again for another family trip to discover they don't have these rooms anymore. When traveling with children, not babies, having separate areas and beds is so needed. Now the hotel's family room is a room with queen bed and pull out sofa. The room type made this hotel special. Without it, the rooms are your typical old hotel building rooms. Comfortable, clean and basic.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Visited on honeymoon in May. Location great and easy to find. When we arrived we were given a twin room but had booked a double, this was quickly sorted out.

Lobby was very stylish and modern - room was ok, small and quite plain, bathroom very small. Room not cleaned on third day. Hot water sometimes an issue.

Overall, our stay was fine and this was much nicer than our other hotel stay in NYC. Would return but only if got a good deal on price.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The hotel staff were nice and helpful with local information. The room was very small but expected in a city like New York. The rooms were very basic but very clean. The main complaint would be that they had maintenance work going on during the day which made the hotel extremely noisy and uncomfortable to just chill out in during the day. The noise would start as early as 7am and continue right till early evening. At no point in time from booking to checking in to hotel were we advised about maintenance/renovations taking place, as this may have made us choose a different hotel however the manager on duty was very good at service recovering us when I brought the situation to his attention. There is an A/C unit outside every rooms window and two massive A/C units on the roof which are very noise, so you will hear a humming noise throughout the day and night. Even if you have your one off, you will hear other units A/C or the large roof top A/C units which are on all day and night. Bit better with the window closed but still noticeable. The coffee shop on the ground floor attached to the hotel has the best coffee you will enjoy in New York. I know and love my coffee and was prepared to pay the higher price for the coffee there rather than a Starbucks or equivalent coffee elsewhere. The location of the hotel is great with easy access to subway trains and also within walking distance of many attractions. The price to stay at this hotel was a bit excessive considering they had maintenance/renovation going on and rooms so basic and small, but hey, it is New York!

Room Tip: Try get a room away from the two large A/C units.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

The staff were friendly, the location is good. The prices were a bit high for what you got but that is more to do with location. Another good thing dis that there is now a coffee shop next door. The room itself was good, but the shower could be better, and during the day they have a lot of building going on, so sometimes a lay in just may not be a option as there is too much noise

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews