We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is good, Quality if rooms not at all”
Review of The Evelyn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Evelyn
Ranked #284 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Solothurn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Location is good, Quality if rooms not at all”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed in the Hotel for four nights. The hotel is well located near two subway stations, wich are easy to reach. On the other hand... The room we stayed in was dusty and the cupboard and table felt somewhat sticky to the touch. But really the worst was, that our shower did not work at all! We reported this every morning at the reception and were always told, that it will be taken care of. Nonetheless the shower was broken during our whole stay, which is really a pitty when you are in NYC in July and you cannot clean yourselfs... Until now we did not receive any apology from the management whatsoever. We do not recommend booking this Hotel and will tell so Tour travel agency.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Chrigu_SoulT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    842
    406
    140
    93
See reviews for
381
755
182
365
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

With the number of hotels available in New York City, why would anyone consider staying in a hostel? Hostels often have questionable reputations, but the Gershwin Hotel was a nice surprise exceeding any expectations one may have for a hostel. The Gershwin Hotel's staff was extremely friendly and the cleanliness and size of the room was more than accommodating. While I did have an en suite bathroom, if the commune rooms were of the same quality, then I would have no problems staying there. In addition, the price for these accommodations were spot on.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennieGirl1318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Jose Dos Campos, SP
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed there during some days sharing a room and a bathroom with different people from all over the world. There are many gentle people there and the price is ok. I recommend. If you go to use the shared room and not a private one don't forget that you cannot leave your stuff in the bathroom.

Room Tip: As I stayed in a shared room, there is no option. But it was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agnaldo_Cunha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The place was perfect. A little small but so is every apartment in nyc. The staff were friendly and the location was very central. Would definitely stay here again!

The horns and teardrops on the outside of the building are a little different but there is a quirky charm to this place which made us fall in love with it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lpasci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

From the outside the hotel looks great and has an excellent location. However, don't expect to sleep much. Walls are paper thin and you will be able to hear the noises coming from your next door neighbor and from all the people coming out of the elevator even if you are not close to it.
You will have to wait a while before the elevator arrives. Very old building, so you can imagine how the elevator is.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabyx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My mum and I shared a room for 3 nights a few weeks ago on holiday. As we walked in my first impression of the place was that it was dull, run down and not very inviting! However, the staff were very friendly and helpful and gave us a lot of information! The hallways by the rooms were very shabby and run down looking but that didn't matter to me as we weren't going to be sleeping or living in them for the 3 nights! The rooms were very basic, clean and comfortable, although not a lot of space was provided! Thank god It was only my mum and I! Everything about the en suite was pleasant, clean and satisfactory! I can't say enough about the beds, they were the comfiest beds I have ever slept in and I would sleep in them again in a heartbeat!! The food in the little cafe was beautiful!! All the type of food on offer was healthy, ideal and would cater for nearly anyone's needs!! Quite simple but amazing! Would happily stay in that hotel again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2013

First impressions were a bit daunting. Reception area and hallways are very run down. However the room, though quite small with somewhat shabby furniture , was freshly painted, bed was clean and bathroom newly tiled. There was nowhere in the bathroom to put toiletries although it was quite spacious. The bath is very high and would make it difficult for an infirm or very short person to climb into to shower. We spent a week there and got used to the facilities. Location is just off 5th Avenue and is within walking distance to Metro and restaurants. Essen restaurant across road and down a bit is recommended for breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#147 of 467 in New York City
3,055 reviews
Flatiron Hotel
#348 of 467 in New York City
780 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Chandler
Hotel Chandler
#132 of 467 in New York City
3,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Redbury New York
The Redbury New York
#266 of 467 in New York City
325 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#41 of 467 in New York City
453 reviews
Midtown
HGU New York
HGU New York
#200 of 467 in New York City
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Evelyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Evelyn

Property: The Evelyn
Address: 7 East 27th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8701 (Formerly The Gershwin Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#187 Business Hotel in New York City
#219 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Evelyn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Evelyn formerly The Gershwin Hotel is now offering newly residential inspired rooms with references to an Art Nouveau Style. Our NoMad hotel is inspired by the musical and art heritage of the neighborhood, which was the epicenter of the popular music industry in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. The music theme is reflected throughout the rooms, corridors and bathrooms. The NoMad District (now also known as "NoMad" - North of Madison Square Park) is now one of Manhattan's most popular neighborhoods, characterized by its beautiful and historic architecture, exceptional bars and restaurants tucked away on quiet side streets, and many other attractions. Centered around Madison Square Park, the NoMad District is within walking distance of Midtown, Union Square, Greenwich Village, and NYU. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Evelyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gershwin Hotel New York City
Gershwin Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing