We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't sleep”
Review of The Evelyn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Evelyn
Ranked #287 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed July 25, 2013

From the outside the hotel looks great and has an excellent location. However, don't expect to sleep much. Walls are paper thin and you will be able to hear the noises coming from your next door neighbor and from all the people coming out of the elevator even if you are not close to it.
You will have to wait a while before the elevator arrives. Very old building, so you can imagine how the elevator is.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabyx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,613 - 1,619 of 2,181 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

My mum and I shared a room for 3 nights a few weeks ago on holiday. As we walked in my first impression of the place was that it was dull, run down and not very inviting! However, the staff were very friendly and helpful and gave us a lot of information! The hallways by the rooms were very shabby and run down looking but that didn't matter to me as we weren't going to be sleeping or living in them for the 3 nights! The rooms were very basic, clean and comfortable, although not a lot of space was provided! Thank god It was only my mum and I! Everything about the en suite was pleasant, clean and satisfactory! I can't say enough about the beds, they were the comfiest beds I have ever slept in and I would sleep in them again in a heartbeat!! The food in the little cafe was beautiful!! All the type of food on offer was healthy, ideal and would cater for nearly anyone's needs!! Quite simple but amazing! Would happily stay in that hotel again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

First impressions were a bit daunting. Reception area and hallways are very run down. However the room, though quite small with somewhat shabby furniture , was freshly painted, bed was clean and bathroom newly tiled. There was nowhere in the bathroom to put toiletries although it was quite spacious. The bath is very high and would make it difficult for an infirm or very short person to climb into to shower. We spent a week there and got used to the facilities. Location is just off 5th Avenue and is within walking distance to Metro and restaurants. Essen restaurant across road and down a bit is recommended for breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I found this location to be great... quick walk north to Times Square or South to Flatiron. It's a little away from the action but close enough. I was traveling for business but it wouldn't have mattered because it's NYC- who wants to spend time in a hotel when there is SO much cool stuff to do? The room was simple but just what I needed. The bed was fantastic!! Best bed EVER in a hotel and just what I really needed after my long days.
I would stay here again, it's pricy but it's NYC so that's expected.

Room Tip: I was on the 3rd floor and the elevator is a little slow so I was able to take the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Seven of us stayed in this hotel. We had booked two suites. However, their definition of a suite isn't quite the same as mine. We had two rooms in each "suite" but no area for sitting together.There were two bedrooms. One had a desk and a small fridge. The other had a dresser and small table. We had a total of 2 chairs. Luckily we didn't spend a lot of time there .In the pictures the hotel looked really funky with cool artwork and furniture, but I never saw any art.

It is an older hotel and was clean but needed some sprucing up. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. We found it expensive for what we got, especially for the area. Is a little removed from the action.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BernieBourque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We went for a long weekend in June, in short, we would stay there again.

Pros:
New York charm
Valet parking
Clean rooms
Near restaurants
Walking distance to Time Square
Good, friendly staff
Quiet

Cons:
Not the fastest elevator (old building)
Not much of a view (could be limited to our room, however)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marqu33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The best thing about the Gershwin was its location. It's a 10/15 minute walk to Times Square and transport links are good. The rooms are fairly simple, however there is WiFi access in the rooms, air con, a television and a safety deposit box, which is free to use.

Before arriving, I had the impression that it was something of a boutique hotel, however it would be very generous to call this hotel boutique. I believe that the hotel was fairly priced in comparison to other hotels in New York, and I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nickypower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The Redbury New York
The Redbury New York
#249 of 470 in New York City
441 reviews
Flatiron Hotel
#373 of 470 in New York City
799 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Richland New York
Hotel Richland New York
#277 of 470 in New York City
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
HGU New York
HGU New York
#244 of 470 in New York City
221 reviews
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#125 of 470 in New York City
3,259 reviews
Midtown
U Hotel Fifth Avenue
U Hotel Fifth Avenue
#291 of 470 in New York City
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Evelyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Evelyn

Address: 7 East 27th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8701 (Formerly The Gershwin Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#186 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $141 - $459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Evelyn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Evelyn formerly The Gershwin Hotel is now offering newly residential inspired rooms with references to an Art Nouveau Style. Our NoMad hotel is inspired by the musical and art heritage of the neighborhood, which was the epicenter of the popular music industry in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. The music theme is reflected throughout the rooms, corridors and bathrooms. The NoMad District (now also known as "NoMad" - North of Madison Square Park) is now one of Manhattan's most popular neighborhoods, characterized by its beautiful and historic architecture, exceptional bars and restaurants tucked away on quiet side streets, and many other attractions. Centered around Madison Square Park, the NoMad District is within walking distance of Midtown, Union Square, Greenwich Village, and NYU. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Evelyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gershwin Hotel New York City
Gershwin Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing