We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FlatIron Arty”
Review of The Evelyn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Evelyn
Ranked #287 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed at the Gershwin several times, first on the advice of a friend. Other visits were based on our own previous experience, so that tells you something good about the place. It met my criteria: inexpensive, clean, good location. But The Gershwin has a lot going for it apart from the above, namely the Art. Rooms were old and small but Arty. Art is the byword here, from the building's three dimensional silver flame facade, to the lobby where Andy Warhol had a couple of Campbell's soup cans on display, to the corridors, replete with posters and original artwork, to the bedrooms, where bright colors and wood floors harmonized with large and colorful framed graphics. My first-visit room had a blown-up and colorful portrait/poster of Pablo Picasso (in later life). The next time I visited, staying on a different floor, the room had an exact copy of the PP graphic. Bathroom fixtures were old but worked. Bathrooms are tiny. Staff are friendly, young, hip, and multinational. The only problem I had was with noise. There was a lot of street noise at night if you get a lower floored, street facing room. Rates were super cheap the first time I visited, but have crept up, just like everywhere else. Figure that $200 is the opening price for a modest room these days, so it is still a relatively good bargain. Prices do fluctuate by season, so check ahead.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim_Naughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,119)
There are newer reviews for The Evelyn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,595 - 1,601 of 2,119 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

I only stayed here one night. The rooms are very small, but very clean. I will say that it is an adorable boutique hotel with an excellent cafe attached. The cafe was wonderful because it has food, lattes, etc. The hotel was priced decent and was in a good location. Would probably stay here again if I need to go back to the same area in NYC.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Punks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I'll start by saying that I used to live in NY and was going back to visit. Hence, I was only looking for a place to keep my stuff and sleep at night; I was not planning on spending any significant time at the hotel. It was with these requirements that I found the Gershwin. Hotels in NY are either crazy expensive ($350+) or "cheap" hostels in questionable parts of the city. There are very few "reasonably" priced places that aren't hostels and in a good location. I got a room for under $200 per night, which I think is fair for what you get.

Location: The Gershwin is in a great location in terms of getting around easily. It's right in midtown, only a couple of blocks away from the 4,5,6 lines to the east and the N,R,Q lines to the west. If you aren't familiar with NY, you can pretty much get to any part of the city you want on these lines, which is a nice alternative if you don't want to cab it everywhere. It's also walking distance to plenty of shopping, food, and bars. You can stay within 4 block radius and get everything you would need.

Room: The hotel is an old apartment building that they obviously renovated and turned into a hotel. As such, the rooms are pretty small by US standards. There's room for a bed, a couple of chairs and a table, and a couple of regular size suitcases. If you're looking for somewhere to spread out or have more than two people, this ain't it (at least not in the standard room). This wasn't an issue for me and my lady, but just something to point out. The bathroom was pretty tiny (definitely one at a time in there), and the door didn't close all the way. Overall everything was pretty old and just painted over. But it was all clean, which is the most important thing to me.

Hotel & Service: The street the hotel is located on is surprisingly quiet for being in the middle of Manhattan. Now, if you're not from a big city you'll think it's pretty noisy. But trust me when I tell you that it's WAY better than most parts of the city. The only way you won't hear anything from the street is if you stay at a high rise somewhere. The staff was friendly and helpful. There's only one small elevator, and it's pretty slow. If you get caught during a busy time, you could be waiting for quite a while. But the do have stairs open, so you can skip it if you're on a lower floor. There's a cafe in the lobby that seems pretty happening as well. They also have an airport shuttle that leaves hourly if you make a reservation. I didn't use it because it's easy to grab a cab, but it's an option.

Overall I'd say this is a good option if you're trying to keep to a budget and aren't planning on spending a ton of time in the room. You can't beat the location. Just look for a decent price before booking.

Room Tip: Get on a lower floor to avoid having to use the slow elevator
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaugingMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I stayed in this hotel, hoping to be right amongst it to experience the real NYC. Although it is in midtown Manhattan, it was still a half hour walk to Times Square etc, or a cab ride to Downtown. This could be our lack of knowledge as we expected it to be lively on every street. I knew the rooms would not be luxurious, however, it was so small it was barely habitable. The bathroom was dirty and damp and the shower did not have hot water. The location was in side street, where you need to be careful if walking home late at night. If i were to visit NYC again, i would pay the extra and book a hotel North of Times Square, or far South as Wall St.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

This historic building has been renovated in a very quirky modern way and makes for a super fun stay. The rooms are not the standard rooms, but were very accommodating. The restaurant on the first floor has great coffee too.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Lweisman224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I don't know the history but the Gershwin looks on the in and outside like George and Ira might have performed in the mysterious lounge up the stairs at the back of the lobby. Great location at the edge of Chelsea within the 2 hour long lines at the Shake Shack in Madison Sq Park and a mere few blocks to Eataly at 5th and 23rd, plus a block from the 3rd Ave subway.

Fine, friendly staff. Room 740 is spacious enough for two, with hardwood floors, a quiet airshaft vista, and a soft comfy bed. However, it has terrible lighting for reading, with two dim lamps and a hideous overhead florescent fixture. The bathroom is badly in need of an update, with a scarily slippery big deep 'ol tub with neither bathmat, textured bottom, nor grip bar.

Great coffee shop, Birch, in the lobby. All in all, funky and fun with just those two quibbles. Everything else was fine for one for one perfect spring night.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cootmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

I chose the Gershwin for its location and price and on those dimensions it didn't disappoint. The rooms are dated but comfortable - hardwood floors. Decent bed, quality linens. Lighting is a problem- no where is it bright enough to put on makeup. Also no thermostat so had to open and close window to regulate heat

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelSarahH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#140 of 468 in New York City
3,104 reviews
Flatiron Hotel
#355 of 468 in New York City
785 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Chandler
Hotel Chandler
#127 of 468 in New York City
3,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Redbury New York
The Redbury New York
#254 of 468 in New York City
358 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#45 of 468 in New York City
510 reviews
TriBeCa
The Frederick Hotel
The Frederick Hotel
#241 of 468 in New York City
1,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Evelyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Evelyn

Address: 7 East 27th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8701 (Formerly The Gershwin Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#186 Business Hotel in New York City
#218 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $195 - $475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Evelyn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Evelyn formerly The Gershwin Hotel is now offering newly residential inspired rooms with references to an Art Nouveau Style. Our NoMad hotel is inspired by the musical and art heritage of the neighborhood, which was the epicenter of the popular music industry in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. The music theme is reflected throughout the rooms, corridors and bathrooms. The NoMad District (now also known as "NoMad" - North of Madison Square Park) is now one of Manhattan's most popular neighborhoods, characterized by its beautiful and historic architecture, exceptional bars and restaurants tucked away on quiet side streets, and many other attractions. Centered around Madison Square Park, the NoMad District is within walking distance of Midtown, Union Square, Greenwich Village, and NYU. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Evelyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gershwin Hotel New York City
Gershwin Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing