We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget hotel!”
Review of The Evelyn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Evelyn
Ranked #292 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed February 15, 2013

The hotel was in a great location, just off 5th avenue and conveniently located between two subway lines.
The hotel was well-priced for what it delivered. The room was comfortable and cleaned daily.
The radiator kept the room warm during the snowstorms.
Hotel staff were helpful and friendly.
I stayed at the Gershwin for 3 weeks in January and would recommend it for a those looking for a cheap, clean, comfortable and well-located place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richardo526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen J D, General Manager at The Evelyn, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for staying at the Gershwin Hotel; on behalf of the entire Gershwin Hotel team we thank you for the pleasant recommendations stated on your review.
We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay and welcome you back on your next trip to New York.
Hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Stephen J DeFazio
General Manager
Gershwin Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,640 - 1,646 of 2,136 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2013

This hotel is in a great location for the flatiron and 5th ave/broadway shopping, eating and we felt very safe walking around this area at all times Of the day. Coffee at the cafe at the bottom of the hotel was amazing!! Staff helpful.
The room was a good sIze but not a little shabby- I would certainly stay again though,

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen J D, General Manager at The Evelyn, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Charlotte L,
Thank you for staying at the Gershwin Hotel; on behalf of the entire Gershwin Hotel Team we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again on your next visit to New York.
Sincerely,
Stephen J DeFazio
Gershwin Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

I guess you can't choose your neighbors, but I was a little embarrased to walk past the National Museum of Sex just in front of the Gershwin. I understand that they just changed management and hopefully things will change. Staff was great and extremely helpful. Rooms were clean, but the radiator heat was VERY noisy. Could not control temperature in the shower, and the window in the shower was ajar. Plenty of clean towels. Likely would not stay again, partly because of room conditions, mostly because of the museum.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chuck F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen J D, General Manager at The Evelyn, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Gordondad,
First and foremost thank you for staying at the Gershwin Hotel; please be advised the Gershwin Hotel is currently under new management and we are in the process of making numerous improvements. I hope when you return to New York you would consider choosing the Gershwin Hotel again to see the changes put in place. If you desire to discuss these issues in detail feel free to contact myself or any other member of the Gershwin Hotel team.
Once again thank you for choosing the Gershwin hotel and I hope consider us on your next trip to New York.

Sincerely,
Stephen J DeFazio
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The price was right but we absolutely roasted in our room on the 10th floor. In the dead of winter....Jan. 23.... we cranked up the AC unit to the max and still sweated. A maintenance person came to our room and confirmed what we already knew -- that the radiator was turned to OFF. We have no idea where the heat was coming from! When I mentioned it at the front desk as we checked out, the staff person said nothing. I know they recently changed ownership but if you can't offer guests a decent night's sleep then close those rooms until you can.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeverDidNoWanderin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen J D, General Manager at The Evelyn, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Neverdidnowand,
First and foremost thank you for choosing the Gershwin Hotel; I read your comments and would like to extend a sincere apology for any and all issues you encounter during your stay. Please be advised the hotel is currently under new management and is working diligently in making improvements so future guest will not encounter the same.
If you desire to discuss these issues in detail feel free to contact myself or any other member of the Gershwin Hotel team.
Once again thank you for choosing the Gershwin hotel and I hope consider us on your next trip to New York.

Sincerely,
Stephen J DeFazio
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

stayed here with some friends for a weekend. had no complaints at all,friendly staff,super location,yes it is a bit basic but when money/location etc is taken into consideration i do not see how you could fault this place

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seamus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

If your topmost agenda is to save money, then this is for you. Otherwise, there's nothing much going on with the hotel, reception looks ok but rooms are old and have old stuff in them. I had to ask to see other rooms to be sure. Elevator also old and rough. But staff are great, location is the best- close to shopping arenas on 5th Avenue. Empire State building is just around the corner, restaurants everywhere. Tried the road side food vendors close to the hotel, food tasted great and price was cheap- about $7. For the price of this hotel, I think you can't get much better offer in NYC anyways.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NIMOTA I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen J D, General Manager at The Evelyn, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Nimota I,

Thank you for staying at the Gershwin Hotel in September 2012, please know that the hotel has changed management December 17, 2012; since then there have been numerous improvements. I hope you will consider the Gershwin hotel on your next trip to New York so you can experience the new and improved Gershwin Hotel. Once again thank you for your patronage and hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Stephen J DeFazio
Gershwin Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

The Gershwin wants to be the Chelsea but is nowhere near it. But compared to other budget hotels it is at least somewhat creative and colorful. So if you are on a budget, it may be an OK choice, particularly as the location is excellent.

During my first night however, a heating valve the heating created a massive noise every hour or so, making it impossible to sleep. From talking to other hotel guests, that was not only an issue of my one room. At least they changed my room without discussion the next day, but with no discount or at least apology offered either.

There's only one elevator which takes forever so walking is actually quicker but with luggage you better plan some time.

The shuttle service to Newark is a disaster - costs almost 40$, leaves only every hour, and takes the first hour criss-crossing through Midtown including stopping at the very Gershwin after 25 minutes. You better take the train or if you are three or more share a cab.

Beds not very comfortable in both of my rooms, bathrooms OK.

As mentioned - don't expect an art hotel or anything near the beloved Chelsea Hotel that now died, but for that price it is still a more interesting and unique choice than YMCA or other budget options. I would have given three points, but the heating valve disaster during my first night and the unacceptable airport shuttle should make them happy that I didn't give just one.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gsh_1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen J D, General Manager at The Evelyn, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear GSH_1975,
Thank you for taking time out of you busy schedule to provide feedback for your stay at the Gershwin hotel; please be advised that the hotel is currently under new management and that since your stay the Hotel has replaced all bedding and is in the process of converting the elevators to a new high speed service and the engineering staff have been inspecting and replacing all valves as needed.
I will pass the information you gave concerning the shuttle service to their dispatcher for resolve. I thank you for staying at the Gershwin Hotel and hope you will consider staying again so you can see for yourself the numerous and continuous changes being made.
Once again thank you for your feedback.
Sincerely,
Stephen J DeFazio
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#136 of 469 in New York City
3,163 reviews
Flatiron Hotel
#365 of 469 in New York City
790 reviews
Manhattan
The Redbury New York
The Redbury New York
#243 of 469 in New York City
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#41 of 469 in New York City
542 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Chandler
Hotel Chandler
#128 of 469 in New York City
3,431 reviews
Midtown
HGU New York
HGU New York
#223 of 469 in New York City
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Evelyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Evelyn

Address: 7 East 27th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8701 (Formerly The Gershwin Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#186 Business Hotel in New York City
#218 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $184 - $452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Evelyn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Evelyn formerly The Gershwin Hotel is now offering newly residential inspired rooms with references to an Art Nouveau Style. Our NoMad hotel is inspired by the musical and art heritage of the neighborhood, which was the epicenter of the popular music industry in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. The music theme is reflected throughout the rooms, corridors and bathrooms. The NoMad District (now also known as "NoMad" - North of Madison Square Park) is now one of Manhattan's most popular neighborhoods, characterized by its beautiful and historic architecture, exceptional bars and restaurants tucked away on quiet side streets, and many other attractions. Centered around Madison Square Park, the NoMad District is within walking distance of Midtown, Union Square, Greenwich Village, and NYU. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Evelyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gershwin Hotel New York City
Gershwin Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing