We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Hotel @ New York City
Ranked #305 of 468 Hotels in New York City
schijndel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very nice stay”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Last week we stayed here for 8 nights. The price is good for what you get. Perfect location in midtown manhatten, close to the 6 line metro and within walking distance of empire state building and times square.
Breakfast is an nice extra, not very luxe but it gets you trough the morning.
The bed sleeps very well and shower is powerfull.

we would recomend this hotel to everybody who wants an hotel with good location and not to much money.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nickenbrigitte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    791
    322
    77
    62
See reviews for
326
611
153
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for our second trip to New York in May/June 2014. The hotel was booked for us by our trip organiser (we did a multi-centre trip so used eShores to book it all for us), I doubt we would have picked out the hotel ourselves but the price was great so we went with it.
When we arrived at the hotel the receptionist was not very efficient, I found her difficult to understand and am still not sure what the extra charge of $14 we were asked for was all about, she told us nothing about the services within the hotel e.g. Breakfast times, business facilities, ice machines etc. indeed it wasn't until our very last day that we found out there were computers with a printer etc. available in the basement.
I had asked for a high floor if possible as I had read reviews about noise and also that higher rooms may have a view of the ESB, we were put on the 6th floor, not exactly high but I did understand it was only a request. Our room was very comfortable, the bed was exceptionally comfortable and the shower amazing, I was disappointed not to have a fridge available but there was an ice machine on our floor so not a deal breaker. It was noisy but ear plugs sorted that out very effectively.
Breakfast wasn't much good to me as I'm gluten intolerant and it was almost all unsuitable for me, again not a deal breaker, we found an excellent diner nearby and had our breakfast there.
The area is vibrant and depending on which direction you walk in there is pretty much every style of eatery and bar within a few blocks. Sights are easy with short walks to Grand Central Station, Chrysler Building, Empire State Building etc.
I doubt there is a better value hotel in as good a location as this one, my one and only complaint was with the reception staff and the lack of information they provided

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

Rugs were stained, room was very uncomfortable with only one desk chair that was precarious and the ironing board was broken.
The dining room in the Lower Level was uninviting as access was past Housekeeping and the dirty laundry.
Since the location on Lexington Avenue was perfect for our appointments we thought we could rely on the Ramada name. Never, never again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Virginia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, Marketing & E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel @ New York City, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Virginia C,
Thank you for your review. Our staff does a very good job of cleaning all rooms thoroughly. We will certainly look into the stain on the carpet. We did find the broken ironing board and have since replaced it. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. In the future, we will happily replace anything broken in the room or move you to a different room if you ask us during your stay.
The breakfast room is temporarily located on the lower level due to renovations in the lobby. It is usually located right off the lobby. We do apologize for this inconvenience and we will ensure that guests do not have to pass by dirty laundry.
We hope you will give us another chance in the future. The majority of our guests are very happy with their stay and many return on multiple occasions.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
183 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

I stayed here while visiting my sister and it was a great location and close to everything. The room was neat, clean and comfortable. I had a nice view along with a mini fridge and microwave. The free breakfast is a nice perk too. I would definitely stay here again or recommend it to anyone going to NYC who wanted to be close to shopping and dining. It is in a nice neighborhood area and I felt safe walking around on my own.

Room Tip: I was in 708 and it was cozy and perfect sized for 1 or 2 people. It can get noisy due to sirens an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

If you like Indian food this is the place to stay, lots of restaurants and deliveries India style. We stayed for a week a couple of months ago, at first we were apprehensive because the price indicated a below average room but much to our surprise the stay was great, small rooms with very comfortable beds, very clean. The staff was correct, wi-fi didn't work very well in our room, a very good shower in a small bathroom. Very good hotel for those on a budget. Good value.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulobar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celbridge
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

A group of 6 adults from ireland stayed here mid feb , we could not fault this hotel at all amazing value by new York standards rooms were spotless with very comfy beds and working air condition, breakfast was a nice bonus as most new York hotels don't serve breakfast ,the subway was only a 5 minute walk , the wifi signal was excellent ,if you are looking for a great value hotel which is quite central and convenient to the subway look no further, we have already booked this hotel for next feb we loved it,

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank garbold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Fantastic value for money....
The staff are very friendly and accommodating, always say hello with a smile.
Maid service great, room always clean.
Stayed here 7 nights and to come back after walking miles and miles to a tempur mattress is a little bit of heaven.
Breakfast was great, sets you up for the day
Room has hair dryer, coffee machine, iron, iPod docking station/alarm clock FREE safe, and air conditioning
This hotel was better than expected, And my sister and I would return here again
Xxxx

Room Tip: We had a king size bed was on 10th floor, could hear some traffic, but did not interfere with having...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nikki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New York City
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#319 of 468 in New York City
2,689 reviews
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#289 of 468 in New York City
2,506 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#195 of 468 in New York City
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#223 of 468 in New York City
1,531 reviews
Midtown
Wolcott Hotel
Wolcott Hotel
#247 of 468 in New York City
2,281 reviews
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhatta...
#12 of 31 in Long Island City
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel @ New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel @ New York City

Property: The Hotel @ New York City
Address: 161 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10016-7305 (Formerly Ramada New York/Eastside)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#211 Business Hotel in New York City
#245 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hotel @ New York City 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel at New York City offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelPower, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelsClick so you can book your The Hotel @ New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Eastside Hotel New York City
Ramada Hotel Eastside
Ramada New York City
New York City Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing