We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe bet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hotel @ New York City
Ranked #310 of 467 Hotels in New York City
charleston, sc, usa
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Safe bet”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Nice clean hotel with great rates. Free breakfast includes eggs, toast, fresh fruits, toast, bagels, pastries. Murray Hill location (some call it Curry Hill due to abundance of Indian restaurants). Across street from fabulous Dover Street Market. Nearby subway makes uptown and downtown convenient.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank reenmyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    796
    331
    78
    65
See reviews for
331
617
157
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We had a tiny room on the top floor - everything somewhat run down, with a very load ventialation system on the room. Without jetlag and earplugs sleep would be difficult. As friends of us had a big, modern, pleasant room in a new hotel just a few blocks down the road for less money, we would not recommend this hotel, even for New York City. The positive thing was definitely a high quality breakfast.

Room Tip: Avoid top floor, however, we do not know whether other rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feuerspatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, Marketing & E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel @ New York City, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Feuerspatz,
Thank you for your review. We’re sorry we did not meet your expectations. While the hotel is an older building, we continually invest significant dollars upgrading the entire product besides checking to make sure everything is in perfect working order. That is reflected in the many positive comments we receive both on this forum as directly. Our rooms vary in size somewhat, but most are about the average for hotel rooms in Manhattan. Also, like most hotels in New York, our rates vary on a day-to-day basis, but we always maintain completive rates and always include free amenities that you won’t find in all hotels in the city, like free WIFI, breakfast, and domestic phone calls.

We hope you will reconsider and stay with us on your next trip to New York.

Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

This is a reasonably priced New York hotel with basic rooms and facilities but if your on a budget it's ideal. Not the most centrally located but that's why it's slightly cheaper. Breakfast was included in the price which again was basic but fresh and edible. Overall the hotel was ok. As they say you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Marina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I confidently recommend the Ramada Inn Eastside at Lex.and 30th for your midtown stay in Manhattan. Everything about it was good or better; clean rooms, great location, It's very close to the 6 train, easy walking distance to the Empire State Building and other attractions. Free wi-fi and continental breakfast was very helpful too. The final item- the cost was reasonable for the services received.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TandKYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Stayed here while at the NY Toy Fair and while it was a distance from the Javitz Center, it was a good value for NYC. Our room was clean and quite comfortable. Internet was free and the staff were friendly and helpful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dkissel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
It's a Freeport Thing
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Nice place, very clean. Good deal for the money. Free wifi and lan hook up. Not too far from the #6 train. Good local restaurants too. Bathroom was kind of small and the elevators are on the slow side, but who is in a rush anyhow?

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buldog216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Ramada Inn from Feb 6th 2014 until Feb 12th and were very happy with it. The location is just a few minutes walk from the subway getting off at either 28th st or 33rd on the 6 line and the room met our needs without any complaints.

Each room has it's own WiFi, flat screen tv with several channels and pay per view if you want it. The room also has a hair drier, iron and ironing board, free calls nationwide via the in room phone, and toiletries are provided. The Ramada also supply a fantastic breakfast which is the first time we've had this in 6 visits to NYC.

The breakfast includes a variety of cereals, tea and coffee, fruit juices, pancakes, fresh donuts, a variety of bagels which you can toast, eggs, yogurts, bread, fresh fruit, and spreads like cream cheese, jam, honey, and pancake syrup. It was more than enough for us the entire week, but something we did notice that annoyed us a bit, was the rudeness of other guests not putting a small tip in the jar there.

In the US, it is customary to put a small tip when good service is given, and in the breakfast room there is a glass jar right beside the coffee machine as you come inside. You cannot miss it, but in the entire week not one person but ourselves put any money in the tip jar. What is wrong with you people? You can't blame this on saying you didn't know, as many there were Americans! Don't get me wrong, we only put two dollars per day in there ourselves but if everyone had done this it would have been plenty. The food was constantly checked and replenished and everyone just ate their fill (and many took food away too) and gave nothing. We were disgusted. Please be kind and give SOMETHING. These people don't get paid a lot to work long shifts catering away for you, show some thanks. If you had to go out and pay for all that food (which is the norm for breakfast in NYC) You'd soon realize it would cost you at least $20 per day per couple (and you be expected to tip there too!

Anyway, rant over, I hope you're all listening now. The hotel is in a great area, it's cheap, clean, and our bed even had a memory foam mattress. There is some noise outside as you're on Lexington, but put your air conditioning on at night (either warm or cold) and the white noise masks it really well (I'm a bad sleeper and it worked for me). The hotel also has free newspapers every morning in the lobby, plus transfers to the airport for $21 pp. if that's required. All in all, we would certainly come back to the Ramada, and there are several great Indian, Chinese, and a fantastic deli close by too.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank horizon2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#322 of 467 in New York City
2,733 reviews
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#292 of 467 in New York City
2,544 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#194 of 467 in New York City
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Hotel at Times Square
The Hotel at Times Square
#282 of 467 in New York City
3,526 reviews
Midtown
Wolcott Hotel
Wolcott Hotel
#239 of 467 in New York City
2,311 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#226 of 467 in New York City
1,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel @ New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel @ New York City

Property: The Hotel @ New York City
Address: 161 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10016-7305 (Formerly Ramada New York/Eastside)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#208 Business Hotel in New York City
#241 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hotel @ New York City 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel at New York City offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Hotel @ New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Eastside Hotel New York City
Ramada Hotel Eastside
Ramada New York City
New York City Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing