We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Plastic cutlery a let down.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hotel @ New York City
Ranked #299 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Plastic cutlery a let down.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Hotel situated well to walk to numerous places to visit. The nearest subway was on 333rd. The hotel being on 30th.
The room (314) was fine, we had a twin room (2 double beds) had a clean tidy bathroom, with fluffy white towels. A hairdryer was in the bathroom, so we didn't need to take one. The view from the window was the back, which was OK, as we hardly had any time in the room, and also we didn't get the street noise. There was a coffee machine, plastic cups.... coffee provided, but no tea. We took some tea bags and milk from the breakfast room and used the coffee maker to boil the water so that was fine.
Breakfast..... waffles, pancakes, toast., bagels, doughnuts/pastries, cereals, yoghurt and fruit. Tea and coffee and fruit juice. The mega downfall was the plastic utensils, knives, forks, spoons the lot. Great let down. I did ask why this was so, and was told it was company policy as the hotel did not have any cooking facilities. They could not have proper plates and cutlery. Why could they not have a dishwasher??? What an environmental waste. Saw people fill (pile high) their (plastic) plates with food, and then leave it, people coming in and no food out.... What a shame people are greedy.
The staff we met were helpful, and gave us advise.
We flew to Newark airport and got the shuttle bus in for $17 each. When we tried to book it back with the same company they suddenly wanted $2 each for booking fee. $2 each bag we took. Beware. We took another company.
For value and location we would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HollyJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, Marketing & E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel @ New York City, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear HollyJane,
Thank you for your review. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you enjoyed your time in New York City. We’re sorry about the plastic utensils used during breakfast. Unfortunately, we cannot use steel cutlery as space constraints limit us from installing a dish washing station. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience.
We hope you will stay with us again on your next trip to New York.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    781
    311
    75
    61
See reviews for
319
598
149
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

A nice room with a comfortable bed, nice shower and good views on the 12th view across the city. Close to the metro. We found the staff quite rude and blunt. The breakfast was very average with all the processed food being brought in and served in polystyrene cups and bowls. After a couple of days of this we actually went out for breakfast and avoided it. A nice room but the staff and the breakfast let the hotel down.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ellie255093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

The hotel is located on the East side, while most of the nyc attractions are on the West side. The surrounding area is not nice: it looks old and dirty. No descent restaurants in walking distance from the hotel. The room was dark and dirty. The bathroom was filthy, with mold, metal corrosion and loose parts. The sheets and towels were old and shabby. The breakfast used only disposable utensils (made of plastic and foam), which is terrible for the environment. Meanwhile they have signs on the room suggesting we decline to have the sheets and towels changed frenquently in order to "save the environment". It seems just like costs cut for me, not an honest speach. The staff was technically polite, but they made it very clear how much they dislike working in that hotel - no smiles, no helping, no motivation. The wi-fi did not work at all. I did not expect much from a Ramada Inn when I booked, but the defective wi-fi was too much for me.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Guest613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, Marketing & E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel @ New York City, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest613,
Thank you for your review. We’re sorry you were not pleased with your stay. Our hotel is conveniently located on Lexington Avenue in Murray Hill, which many guests find very convenient to attractions, while being a bit quieter than busier areas. The rooms and bathrooms are cleaned thoroughly on a daily basis and old towels and sheets are always replaced with newer ones. Unfortunately, we do not have the space to wash lots of re-usable dishes and utensils.
Our staff is trained to be as friendly and helpful as possible and we will continue to work with them. We will also look into the WIFI issue you had.
Again, we are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us, but hope you will give us another chance in the future.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Ramada Eastside has an outstanding location on at 30th and Lex, just a short minute walk from the Empire State Building and other Midtown Manhattan attractions. Two blocks to the 6 Train for connections all over the city. Yet still always reasonably priced. Absolutely the best value in the city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
2 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkin, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Very friendly, courteous staff.Excellent housekeeping. Nice clean room, king bed. Very large clean full bath. Good continental breakfast. Great location for downtown(Murray Hill Area) Lots of restaurants nearby. Wifi okay, some minor problems trying online check-in for boarding pass.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room ending in 11. Great view of Lexington Ave. We use the same limo servic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mlscomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

I got a great deal on booking.com on a 5 night stay as I was going to be working in the city during the always bustling fashion week. My compact, queen sized bed room was on the 10th floor and had everything I needed. Flat screen tv, desk with multiple power outlets, complimentary high speed wifi, a fridge, microwave, complimentary breakfast, coffee station, a working iron (rarity!!) and a very comfortable bed.

I used the business center once which had two computers and a printer! I peeked in at the fitness center and it was small, but housed all the necessities.

The breakfast was a mix of fruit, cereal, pastries, hard boiled eggs and some waffles in addition to juices, yogurt, coffee and tea. Nothing to write home about but enough variety to get satisfy the need for something indulgent or healthy. I was happy with the complimentary spread.

The hotel is very well kept, the staff is friendly and helpful, rooms are very well cleaned. I would recommend staying here to anyone in need, in the midtown area.

The only 2 strange things I noticed was my room phone didn't seem to work - that or I couldn't figure it out; and my in room coffee was only replenished twice. Not a huge deal, but I had to get coffee from downstairs instead of brewing it in my room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JaclynMore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Good hotel for us to stay at as we spent very little time there. Nice service, good breakfast. Unfortunately, we had to check out the second day before it started. Would have been nice to have something offered or for the front desk to make sure we had a cab as it was dark outside! Wifi was horrible. If you need wifi, don't stay here. Room was a good size with a good washroom. Overall, good place to stay unless u need wifi!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#281 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,452 reviews
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#313 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,643 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#200 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#227 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
Midtown
Wolcott Hotel
Wolcott Hotel
#247 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,254 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Stanford
Hotel Stanford
#304 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel @ New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel @ New York City

Property: The Hotel @ New York City
Address: 161 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10016-7305 (Formerly Ramada New York/Eastside)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#211 Business Hotel in New York City
#245 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel @ New York City 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel at New York City offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hotel @ New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Eastside Hotel New York City
Ramada Hotel Eastside
Ramada New York City
New York City Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing