We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budgethotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Hotel @ New York City
Ranked #309 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Småland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good budgethotel”
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel for good money. Good location. The rooms are nice but small. Cleaning was good. Breakfast is ok. Remember to bring earplugs, the streets are noisy. The staff will help you with transport to the airport.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malena J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    796
    332
    79
    65
See reviews for
332
618
158
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Friendly and welcoming staff on reception, room was on the 8th floor overlooking Lexington Ave/East 30th Street , Manhattan, a 10 minute walk from the Empire State building. At times a little noisy as we feel the windows need upgrading. This quite cosy hotel has well appointed rooms with mahogany furniture, good size bathroom where everything worked well. The hotel offers an excellent breakfast selection which is reasonably international, not just bagels and sticky buns! Top praise for THE BEDS which are TRULY AMAZING and quite simply the best hotel beds we have experienced during extensive worldwide travel including many 4 and 5 star hotels. Upon enquiry we were advised that the beds are indeed equiped with 'Tempur' type matresses. Reason enough to return to this hotel next time we revisit New York!

Peter Winterton

Room Tip: Avoid rooms adjacent to Ice vending machines, lots of noise at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PETER W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is the hotel where we will stay again next time we go back to New York. We spent two nights here and five at the Waldorf Astoria. Considering everything this is more than enough and actually offers more of what is important for less. Don't get me wrong, we did like the Waldorf Astoria and if money wasn't to be considered we would probably always stay there as we could add all the things that the Ramada offers for free. I'm talking about Wi-Fi and Breakfast. These two things are actually more important than the looks of it, specially in New York where you don't actually spend much time in the Hotel room.

For the price we paid, having Wi-Fi and Breakfast was amazing and it is walking distance to most places.

The Breakfast was great. Very nice Bagels and Doughnuts and everything else you need to start the day.

The gentleman at reception was very friendly and very helpful as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miguel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I practically lived here while a family member was having surgery at a nearby hospital. The staff are wonderful and make you feel like family. I stayed in a room overlooking the 30th street and the south/east side of Manhattan. The room were neat and clean, never had any problems. The mattress are memory foam possibly Tempur-Pedic mattresses and I always got a great night sleep. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: You can ask for a room that doesn't overlook the avenue, the side streets are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed 2 times during the same trip. The first time for 3 nights, and the second for 5 nights. When we first arrived on 5th April, we expected to have 2 double beds, as we had paid for, but unfortunately it was wrong and we were given only one bed. People at the front desk told us that our agent (Despegar) had paid just for one double bed. Not only that but also, when we entered the room it had no fridge neither microwave as it is shown on the website of the hotel. It seems to happen that they have only some rooms with these amenities and not all of them. Even though, we were lucky, the following day they changed us to other room.
Then we left and returned on the 12th, again we were given a one double bed room, this time we had no fridge or microwave and if we wanted them we had to pay extra 20 dollars per day. The rules had changed and even though we had already booked all in advance, it was useless. People at the front desk were very rude, in particular the manager and the lady, who already knew us because of the first stay, they knew that we had booked 5 more days in the same conditions.
In addition to this inconvenience, our safe did not work and the man who came to fix it said it was impossible. Then, he asked us what we were going to keep in and offered us to keep our belongings downstairs in an individual safe they had, of course that we didn't leave anything, at that moment we didn't trust them.
We believe that all the staff who work at the Ramada hotel in New York would have to keep up the American culture, as they belong to a different nationality, may be they don't know how Americans like to satisfy and make their customers feel happy. We left the hotel really unhappy with their service.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Grace1BuenosAires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, Marekting & E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel @ New York City, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Grace1BuenosAires,
Thank you for your review. We apologize for any inconveniences you faced during your stay. Not all of our rooms have a microwave and fridge, however you can always request one for a small charge. We apologize for the safe not working in your room too. We can assure you that our employees would not have stolen any of your personal belongings had you chosen to leave them in the safe downstairs. Many of our employees have been working at the hotel for many years and are continually praised for their honesty and hard work. In addition, our staff works very hard to make sure all customers are satisfied and understand customers’ needs/wants. Again, we apologize for any inconveniences you had during your stay.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#323 of 466 in New York City
2,738 reviews
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#292 of 466 in New York City
2,546 reviews
Midtown
The Hotel at Times Square
The Hotel at Times Square
#282 of 466 in New York City
3,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Wolcott Hotel
Wolcott Hotel
#240 of 466 in New York City
2,315 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#193 of 466 in New York City
790 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#226 of 466 in New York City
1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel @ New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel @ New York City

Property: The Hotel @ New York City
Address: 161 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10016-7305 (Formerly Ramada New York/Eastside)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#207 Business Hotel in New York City
#240 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hotel @ New York City 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel at New York City offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Hotel @ New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Eastside Hotel New York City
Ramada Hotel Eastside
Ramada New York City
New York City Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing