We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel, location not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hotel @ New York City
Ranked #299 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Adelaide
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, location not bad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was my 3rd time to NYC from Australia, and this time we had both times before stayed at the NYMA Manhattan on W32nd St. This is owned by the same group i believe, but it is located between 30th-31st on Lexington. We wanted to try somewhere a bit different so it didnt feel the same.

The hotel itself was great. The room was a great size, bathrooms great, rooms spotless, reception helpful. Absolutely cant fault the hotel. My only issue was the wifi was very intermittent which was annoying. That may have been because our room was hidden away around a corner. And i know complaining about wifi seems petty, but for the traveller staying in the hotel for a week, you want reliable internet to either contact home or research what to do in NY.

But honestly overall the hotel itself was great. Now the location. As i said, we stayed in W32nd st before and honestly, that was a better location than where the Eastside is. The subway station is close, but the train really only goes uptown and downtown and from this location, alot of the time you actually want to be further west towards 5th.6th,7th ave and broadway. So we found the train not very convenient. Instead we found ourselves walking extra blocks to and from our hotel compared to our last trip. The area itself though is nice,just not much happening. As a tourist you want to be over towards broadway more.

But overall, the hotel was great... just the location for us wasnt quite as good as where we'd been before. But hey, we wanted something different and dont regret it. Great hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Soma28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    781
    311
    75
    61
See reviews for
319
598
149
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

The room was tiny but comfortable. Yes, there's some street noise, but hey, it's Manhattan. It was a bit of a challenge controlling the temperature in the room and elevators are sloooow, but overall, we were really happy with it. We'll stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Debra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

This hotel was dissappointing. It is a real shame because the location and bed were great.

Reasons for our dissapointment:

1. We had written and called them in advance to say that we would arrive around midnight. Then, at time of arrival, they said that the hotel was overbooked. After 45 minutes they sent us to another hotel which we had to pay eventually. This is not what you expect after travelling for 12 hours.

2. The morning after, when they gave us our room, we asked to speak to the manager because we knew it wasn't the staff's fault. We didn't hear from him at all.

3. We were determined not to let this experience ruin our holiday but on the second and third days we found cocroaches on the sink and bath (one big and two little). Absolutely disgusting.

4. Our room was next to some kind of engine room/exhaust fans that made it hard to sleep.

Apart from that, cleaning staff were friendly and did their job. Front staff were rude except a guy called Harry.

It is a real shame, they should take care of their customers or at least make them feel more welcomed. We cannot recommend this hotel at all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nomadecouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel @ New York City, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear nomadecouple,

Thank you for your review. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced when you arrived. Occasionally, the hotel does get overbooked and guests arriving late will have to stay at another hotel for a night. We are very surprised to hear that you found cockroaches in your bathroom. Our cleaning staff works very hard to clean the rooms thoroughly and we take many preventive to measures to ensure that pests are not a problem.

The majority of our guests enjoy their stay and the excellent value we provide, with free WiFi, breakfast, and domestic phone calls. We hope you will give us another chance on your next trip to New York City.

Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed two nights. Our room was a little small but really you're only there to sleep so don't need a lot of space. The property and room was incredibly clean and appeared to be fairly recently renovated. We appreciated being close to the subway line and relatively close to the main sights. There are plenty of restaurants nearby, but only tried the gourmet pizza place across the street. Very good. Breakfast was a nice bonus as well. I would definitely stay again or try one of the other Apple Core properties.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#281 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,452 reviews
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#313 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,643 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#200 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#227 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
Midtown
Wolcott Hotel
Wolcott Hotel
#247 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,254 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Stanford
Hotel Stanford
#304 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel @ New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel @ New York City

Property: The Hotel @ New York City
Address: 161 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10016-7305 (Formerly Ramada New York/Eastside)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#211 Business Hotel in New York City
#245 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel @ New York City 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel at New York City offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Hotel @ New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Eastside Hotel New York City
Ramada Hotel Eastside
Ramada New York City
New York City Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing