We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Hotel @ New York City
Ranked #316 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed October 29, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,635)
There are newer reviews for The Hotel @ New York City
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

640 - 646 of 1,635 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank WaukeshaJTB
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The room was tiny but comfortable. Yes, there's some street noise, but hey, it's Manhattan. It was a bit of a challenge controlling the temperature in the room and elevators are sloooow, but overall, we were really happy with it. We'll stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Debra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This hotel was dissappointing. It is a real shame because the location and bed were great.

Reasons for our dissapointment:

1. We had written and called them in advance to say that we would arrive around midnight. Then, at time of arrival, they said that the hotel was overbooked. After 45 minutes they sent us to another hotel which we had to pay eventually. This is not what you expect after travelling for 12 hours.

2. The morning after, when they gave us our room, we asked to speak to the manager because we knew it wasn't the staff's fault. We didn't hear from him at all.

3. We were determined not to let this experience ruin our holiday but on the second and third days we found cocroaches on the sink and bath (one big and two little). Absolutely disgusting.

4. Our room was next to some kind of engine room/exhaust fans that made it hard to sleep.

Apart from that, cleaning staff were friendly and did their job. Front staff were rude except a guy called Harry.

It is a real shame, they should take care of their customers or at least make them feel more welcomed. We cannot recommend this hotel at all.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nomadecouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel @ New York City, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear nomadecouple,

Thank you for your review. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced when you arrived. Occasionally, the hotel does get overbooked and guests arriving late will have to stay at another hotel for a night. We are very surprised to hear that you found cockroaches in your bathroom. Our cleaning staff works very hard to clean the rooms thoroughly and we take many preventive to measures to ensure that pests are not a problem.

The majority of our guests enjoy their stay and the excellent value we provide, with free WiFi, breakfast, and domestic phone calls. We hope you will give us another chance on your next trip to New York City.

Liz from Apple Core Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed two nights. Our room was a little small but really you're only there to sleep so don't need a lot of space. The property and room was incredibly clean and appeared to be fairly recently renovated. We appreciated being close to the subway line and relatively close to the main sights. There are plenty of restaurants nearby, but only tried the gourmet pizza place across the street. Very good. Breakfast was a nice bonus as well. I would definitely stay again or try one of the other Apple Core properties.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shawn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in a King Bed room that was very comfortable and clean. Breakfast is included and is certainly more than adequate, providing juice, coffee, bagels, cereal, boiled eggs, toast, yogurt etc. The hotel is 2 blocks from the subway and within walking distance to Rockefeller Center. We had no problems getting a cab nearby. Cab fare to the hotel from LaGuardia Airport was $33.00.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the front of the hotel facing Lexington because that is a very busy street...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GAtraveler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for four nights. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful at informing us about public transportation which is very close by. There is also a laundromat a few yards away that we used. The breakfast at the hotel was more than adequate and the rooms were exceptionally clean although small...but who cares as you are out on the town. I would stay here again!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Sleddog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#290 of 468 in New York City
2,572 reviews
Midtown
The Hotel at Times Square
The Hotel at Times Square
#284 of 468 in New York City
3,556 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#188 of 468 in New York City
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#219 of 468 in New York City
1,559 reviews
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#329 of 468 in New York City
2,760 reviews
Midtown
Wolcott Hotel
Wolcott Hotel
#242 of 468 in New York City
2,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel @ New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel @ New York City

Address: 161 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10016-7305 (Formerly Ramada New York/Eastside)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#207 Business Hotel in New York City
#240 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $124 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hotel @ New York City 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel at New York City offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Kognitiv US Corp, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hotel @ New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Eastside Hotel New York City
Ramada Hotel Eastside
Ramada New York City
New York City Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing