We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOTHING like a Ramada experience should be”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hotel @ New York City
Ranked #306 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Northern Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“NOTHING like a Ramada experience should be”
Reviewed November 5, 2011

I'm staying here for the weekend hole visiting my boyfriend and had booked in here to get over jetlag.
I'm a wheelchair user, so obv have specific requirements when booking a room anywhere.
When I arrived, I found the room to be on the top floor (what if there was an emergency?), no shower seat in the accessible shower-I mean this is common sense people! If you are immobile and want tO take a shower, you need SOMETHING to sit on!
I must admit, within being in the place a half hr, was getting concerned and ready to check out, but thought I'd persist due to the price it cost!
Never again will stay here, will stay where I know has the proper facilities

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wheelygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    795
    327
    78
    63
See reviews for
329
614
157
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We chose this hotel because it was one of only a few decent places in NYC that wasn't charging $400-$500 per night for a room. It's in a good location for exploring the city with the 28th St/Lexington Ave subway only a few blocks away. The Flatiron Building, Empire State and shopping on Broadway are all within walking distance. We even walked back to the hotel from Central Park! Took about half an hour but was a pleasant walk in the sunshine. Three restaurants next door to the hotel were great too (Penelope's, Lalisse and Belvedere Trattoria). Now for the negatives - the impression we got from management is that they are more focused on dollars than customer service. For one entire day all guests were without hot water yet we had to ask for a discount on that day's rate at check out rather than one being offered and even then it was only 10%. The very ordinary breakfast is served until 10.00am and I was very surprised to see an employee lock the door smack bang on 10.00am so as guests who may have been a little late couldn't get in! We were already in the breakfast room and my son wanted more juice but surprise surprise the machine had been turned off. This was the day after the no hot water incident too so I wasn't terribly impressed. If I had the funds to pay more next time I would otherwise this place does the job so long as you're happy with second rate breakfasts and customer service.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ange1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Great value for Manhattan, New York City.
Had 2 rooms, one good sized one with a fridge and microwave and one smaller one.
The smaller room with 2 queen sized beds is a bit tight to pass to get to the bathroom.
The larger room was very comfortable.
Most Manhattan hotels only allow 2 adults per room. We were 5 adults and the desk staff let that slide without charging me extra for the 5th adult.
A tip of the hat to Ramada for that!

The only negative thing I can think of are the bathrooms.
1- Bathroom doors are glass.
If you are traveling with a frequent nighttime pee'er be prepared for lights on every 2 hours.
If you like your privacy when doing your business you will find it hard when sharing a room cuz anyone that walks by can see you sitting on the pot.
2- No ventilation fan in bathroom.
6 beers, a steak, garlic crusted pizza, 4 eggs, black beans, tacos and a club sandwich with a mountain of coleslaw and no bathroom ventilation fan. Needless to say my roommates were not happy with me!

Positive things:
- This hotel is close to everything! Manhattan is only 17 miles wide and 30 miles long, every hotel is close to everything this one included.
- It's in a great neighborhood with lots of good eats that aren't crazy prices.
- There are tons and tons of shops just minutes from the hotel.
- Rooms were very, very clean.
- No bugs of any sort at all.
- Early check in and late check out at no charge. We took advantage of the early check in.
- Free luggage storage if you need it pre-check in or post check out.
- And get this; FREE breakfast! Bagels, cream cheese, sweet cakes, donuts, toast, butter, coffee, tea, fresh fruit, cereals, waffles, boiled eggs, jam, peanut butter, milk, orange juice, apple juice, cranberry juice and more.
This easily saved us 50 to 60 dollars a day in food expense. Not to mention the time we saved by not having to go to a restaurant and wait to be served.
- Hotel staff is friendly and helpful.
- Elevators worked better then expected
- Iron and ironing board were clean and functional.
- Hotel safe was in working condition and large enough to accommodate a couple of 10 inch screen laptops.
- Plenty of toilet paper, Kleenex, pens, pads, cups etc.
- Plenty of towels, soap, shampoo etc.
- Heating and AC was operational and effective.
- Upholstery, bed covers and linens were clean and in excellent shape.
- Carpeting clean and not worn.
- Paint and pictures were clean and in very good shape (richly decorated too.)
- Rooms are smoke detector equipped.
- Furniture was all functional and in good shape, no visible dings, dents or major scratches.
- Decent quality flat screen TV was functional.
- All lamps and lighting were functional
- Clock radio with alarm was functional.
- All curtains, curtain rods and blinds were large enough and functional.
- Door locks and peep hole were functional.
- Fridge and microwave was spotless and functional.
- Closet was large enough with a dozen hangers.
- Free Wireless Internet access was operational at all times and easy to access.
- Tempur-Pedic mattresses as advertised was in excellent condition.
- Free calls anywhere in the USA (good to catch up with old friends!)


Asides:

The amount of retail in Manhattan is astounding. Exit the hotel walk west a few blocks and then head north or south and get your wallet ready because you really can shop till you drop in this city.

The breakfast is available from 6:30 to 10:00.
Don't show up at 9:50 and whine about there not being much left.

A question that is often asked about hotels is:
Did you feel safe and secure sleeping there with your kids and wife?
The answer for this hotel is yes, absolutely.
There were no strange noises and no lunatic party people.
After a day and night of walking Manhattan every one in this hotel beds down and goes to sleep.

Taxi stuff you need to know:
Manhattan taxis do not have radios.
If you call for a cab they will pick you up but they will charge you 3 to 5 times the price of flagging one down on the street. So a 12 dollar ride on the street can be 60 bucks if you call it in.
The cabbies don't care how many people you are or what you are carrying. If you fit in the cab they will take you. Just be quick about getting in and don't complain that you are squished.

Every taxi I rode in without exception needed front end work. Shocks, springs, tie rods, ball joints and tires. Thankfully their brakes all worked! If you're knowledgeable about cars some of the rides will make you want to tell the cabbie to pull over so you can check it.

If you can't get a cab there are the car service guys driving some nice and some not so nice limos.
They cost 30 to 100 percent more then a yellow cab but hey, you get to drive in a Lincoln Continental limo! Leather seats and air ride suspension!
You feel like a million buck being chauffeured around Manhattan in one of those babies especially a newer one. Besides it's fun to do a least once to impress the kids and wife.
Bargain with them and they will bargain back and always tell them that the price includes the tip. Don't be shy, certainly these drivers aren't!
If you are nervous about getting into an unmarked car check their license plate on the back of the vehicle it will be marked T&LC under the plate number. This stands for the taxi and limousine commission. The driver will or should have his permit taped to the dashboard in plain site.
I used these guys 3 times during my stay. Between 3 and 7 p.m. getting a taxi can be difficult. However because they are more expensive an independent limo is easier to come by during rush hour.
Purely on a person note there is something special about barreling up 5th avenue in 60 mile an hour bursts in a limo with the windows open, dodging cars and obstacles like a scene out of a movie. That alone was worth the price of admission. Just tell him your late!

Have fun in NYC peeps and don't forget to bring lots of spending money.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

September seems to be a good/bad time to go to NYC....good weather...expensive and full hotels. I looked long and hard to find a hotel that was not too expensive but was not in an out of the way location. The Ramada Eastside fit the bill...the location was great and the hotel was very nice. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Had a great continental breakfast included in the price and wi-fi was included, too. Overall we were very happy...stayed 4 days. Our room (1111) looked out on the Chrysler Building and when I was bed, I could see the Empire State Building....went to sleep with it all red and blue one evening.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sunnybythesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, Operations Associate at The Hotel @ New York City, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Dear sunnybythesea,
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed September in New York City. It is indeed a very popular time to travel to New York City because of the great weather. We are glad Ramada Eastside was able to provide you with a nice stay that wasn’t too expensive. We are also glad you were able to enjoy our free amenities like breakfast and wi-fi.
We hope you are planning on returning to New York sometime soon, and hope you will choose to stay with us again!
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

I stayed 6 nights at the Eastside so had plenty of time to relfect on the good and the bad of thsi hotel.

The hotel itself is good overall -rooms are a good size, with ample windows, coffee facilities, free wifi, comfortable beds and pillows and relatively noise-free.

The hotel would be very good if it could fix two things. First, the breakfast! It is buffet style, but here is the rub. You only get plastic plates and cutlery, have to queue to get a table and then are ordered to clean your own table after eating! I can stand the lack of fresh fruit, freshly cooked eggs and bacon, lack of variety, lack of fresh fruit juice etc but not the lack of service.

Second, the rooms have very old fashioned aircon units...noisy and not very effective.

Pity, because the hotel could be a lot more..it is in a good location and is not overly expensive,

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slickricspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2011

On the plus side, the place was very clean. The daily breakfast included in the price was OK but the size of the room was very very small. Two queen beds took over the room. We wanted a King size bed but it was not available so we took the two bed room. We have to jump over one of the beds to get to the bathroom. There was no room to walk around. It was the size of a regular european room but with big beds!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, Operations Associate at The Hotel @ New York City, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Dear Emi A,
Thank you for your review. We are sorry you found the room small. Like most hotels in Manhattan, our rooms vary in size, so not all of our rooms are like this. On your next trip, please ask for a larger room, and if available, we will accommodate you.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Windsor, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

I am a regular visitor to New York for work, and my colleagues and I have found the Ramada Eastside to be a great value and a worthwhile choice for us. Clean, large, comfortable rooms (not the norm in this area) with a very good staff and free breakfast are all features that bring us back every week. Wireless internet in the room is a must when we travel, and there are many affordable restaurants in the nearby walking area. Rates are very reasonable for New York, and particularly for this part of it. Within a short walk of Empire State and Grammercy Park areas. Dunkin Donuts one block away doesn't hurt either!

Room Tip: Top floor has handicap-access rooms; most rooms look out over Lexington Ave or 30th St., so noise wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linksrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New York City
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#323 of 467 in New York City
2,712 reviews
Midtown
Wolcott Hotel
Wolcott Hotel
#244 of 467 in New York City
2,297 reviews
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#291 of 467 in New York City
2,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#201 of 467 in New York City
787 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#228 of 467 in New York City
1,544 reviews
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#5 of 32 in Long Island City
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel @ New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel @ New York City

Property: The Hotel @ New York City
Address: 161 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10016-7305 (Formerly Ramada New York/Eastside)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#210 Business Hotel in New York City
#243 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hotel @ New York City 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel at New York City offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Hotel @ New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Eastside Hotel New York City
Ramada Hotel Eastside
Ramada New York City
New York City Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing