We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect! ”
Review of Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avalon Hotel
Ranked #129 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We loved the Avalon. This was the 1st stop on our honeymoon trip & what a lovely start. The hotel had a bottle of Moët waiting in our room-such a lovely touch. The rooms where so spacious (think we had a junior suite-lovely sitting area also) and beautifully decorated. Staff where helpful & the hot chocolate in the lobby was yum. Would definately recommend.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank kimbo1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylin G, Hotel Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Dear Kimbo1101,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at the Avalon Hotel New York. It is appreciated.

I was thrilled to read that we were your 1st stop on your Honeymoon and that we were able to start it off right! I am glad you enjoyed the congratulatory gift in your room, as well as the spaciousness of the room and our hotel amenitites.

When your future travel plans call for a return visit to New York City (perhaps to celebrate your first anniversary?!) I hope we will have the honor of hosting you once again. If so, please contact me directly as I would like to personally oversee your reservation.

Warmest regards,
Aylin G.
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,605)
There are newer reviews for Avalon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

619 - 625 of 1,605 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2014

My company has a corporate account with this hotel. We are extremely happy. They always save rooms for us, even if they're sold out, and they always give us the rate of a smaller room if a suite is the only room left. Agnes Prusaczyk has been an awesome sales rep. She always books my rooms quickly and even took me out for lunch.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank afelric1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylin G, Hotel Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear Afelric1,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at the Avalon Hotel New York. It is appreciated.

I was happy to read that you company enjoys their stays with us. We certainly appreciate your business and enjoy having your colleagues at the Avalon. I was most pleased to hear that our sales manager, Agnes Prusaczyk, takes very good care of you and your company. I will pass your kind comment on to her and the rest of the staff.

Next time, I look forward to meeting you and saying hello in person.

Warmest regards,
Aylin G.
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed here for 10 days in June/July 2014. The hotel is centrally located close to Empire State Building. Needless to say, but close to shops, restaurants and basically everything 24/7. Our room was on the 4th floor, and it was big with two large beds, and an additional «living room». The bathroom was large and and appropriately furnished with all the things you need. The women in the family had some complaints with regards to the power of the heir dryer, so a tips might be to bring your own if you fancy dry hair :-) The room had to TV sets, and a small fridge in addition to a mini bar. Room service was available, and the people in the front desk was always willing and helpful. There was absolutely NO NOISE in our room, so the sound proofing must be very good. The air condition also worked flawlessly. Breakfast in the hotel is a bit pricy, so we opted for an option to eat out every day. Breakfast is $16.95 per person. Room is cleaned every day, to the highest standards. The hotel also helps you with transport to the airport, and stores your luggage for free on the day of checkout. We asked for a late checkout since our flight left in the afternoon, but this was only available for $70. Checkout is normally done at midday (12 o’clock) I might very well stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Finnerikkescreenname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylin G, Hotel Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear Finnerikkescreenname,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor about your recent 10 day stay at the Avalon Hotel New York. It is appreciated.

I was happy to read that you found our hotel comfortable, the location perfect for your needs and our staff friendly and helpful.

If your future travel plans call for a return visit to Manhattan, please contact me directly as I would like to personally handle your next reservation.

Warmest regards,
Aylin G.
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We chose this hotel on the net.without any special recommendation.The price was reasonable and the location could not have been better.We opted not to have the hotel breakfast which we found to be very basic.Good choice.The reception staff were excellent and very polite and always happy to help.We booked a few tours through the hotel reception but this sadly turned out to be a mistake because the hotel acted as a "middle man" taking a deposit and the rest had to be paid to the sightseeing tour company agent on the street.We had problems with them because they were very unfriendly because they had to do "all the work" without getting all the money.We complained to the hotel about this and we suggested that the hotel should issue the "whole ticket"or not at all.The hotel were very apologetic .Other than this our stay was fantastic and we would definitely go back again.The room was large and very clean.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor.It will be quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylin G, Hotel Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear Patrick M.,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at the Avalon Hotel New York. It is appreciated.

I was dissappointed to read that you had an unpleasant experience with some of the tour vendors in the city. Thank you for bringing it to our attention. We have let the city and other relevant companies know as well. I was happy to read though that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and found our rooms spacious, well appointed and comfortable. I was most pleased to read that our staff was friendly and attentive to your needs.

If your future travel plans call for a return visit to New York City, please let me know as I would like to personally oversee your next reservation.

Warmest regards,
Aylin G.
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Room was recommended and was in fact a great place to stay. Room was not quite ready when we arrived, we arrived early. Held our luggage and off we went. Room was large, clean, comfortable and pretty quiet except for the AC going on & off a lot. Staff was friendly and helpful. Location was great as we walked downtown to uptown. Easy access. Breakfast was nice with fruit, rolls and pastry, all fresh! Would definitely stay again, We dislike large hotels, this was comfy.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank AARON Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylin G, Hotel Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear Aaron Y.,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at the Avalon Hotel New York. It is appreciated.

I was happy to read that the Avalon suited all your needs. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed the intimate size of the hotel, its location, spacious rooms and our continential buffet breakfast. Mostly, thank you for mentioning our friendly and helpful staff. They certainly are the heart and soul of the Avalon.

Should your future travel plans call for a return visit to New York City, I hope we will be able to host you once again. If so, please contact my office as I would like to personally oversee your next reservation.

Warmest regards,
Aylin G.
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed 9 nights in the beginning of June. The hotel was great and I will sure come back. The location is excellent, next to Empire State Building and near Times Square. The rooms were beautiful, spacious and air-conditioned. The staff was very kind. The breakfast was great, especially the best berries and fruits and yogurt I have ever eaten in a hotel. And if you prefer pastries and donuts there was plenty of them. The only negative thing was the sofabed which really wasn’t very good for sleeping (we were three, and the king-size bed was great). The WiFi in the room was also really important for us!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leena61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylin G, Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear Leena61,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor about your recent nine night stay at the Avalon Hotel New York. It is appreciated.

I wsa happy to read that you found our hotel perfect for your needs while staying in Manhattan. Thank you for commenting on our location, our spacious rooms, the complimentary WiFi, and our continential buffet breakfast. I want to say a special thank you for mentioning our staff. They certainly are the heart and soul of the hotel. I will pass your kind comments on to them.

Should you find your future travel palns call for a return visit to New York City, please contact my office as I would like to personally oversee your reservation.

Warmest regards,
Aylin G.
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Wasn't sure what to think after reading some of the reviews but the hotel was great! Was in a great location, had a spacious room and bathroom! Very clean and very hospitable employees. We really enjoyed our stay and would love to stay again on our next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank denise71126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylin G, Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Dear Denise71126,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at the Avalon Hotel New York. It is appreciated.

I am very pleased to read that you throughly enjoyed your visit with us. I was happy to learn that you found our hotel's location perfect for your needs, enjoyed our spacious rooms and found our staff friendly and welcoming.

If your future travel plans call for a return visit to New York City, please contact me as I would like to personally oversee your next reservation.

Warmest regards,
Aylin G
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel Chandler
Hotel Chandler
#127 of 468 in New York City
3,408 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#45 of 468 in New York City
509 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#102 of 468 in New York City
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#145 of 468 in New York City
2,746 reviews
Chelsea
Stewart Hotel
Stewart Hotel
#201 of 468 in New York City
5,237 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#76 of 468 in New York City
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel

Address: 16 East 32nd Street, New York City, NY 10016-5402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#89 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#102 Family Hotel in New York City
#104 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#138 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $207 - $560 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located just below Midtown Manhattan, The Avalon Hotel New York is blocks away from everything New York City has to offer. The hotel is only two blocks from the Empire State Building, seven subway lines and Penn Station, as well as being easily accessible to LaGuardia, JFK and Newark Liberty International Airport. Additionally, The Avalon Hotel New York is just steps from the best shopping in Manhattan including Macy's, Lord & Taylor and numerous 5th & Madison Avenue boutiques. World-famous Times Square and the Theatre District is just a short walk, subway or taxi cab ride away. With a majority of the 100 guest rooms over 400 square feet, many of our spacious guest rooms have two beds and all our suites feature a sofa bed. The Avalon Hotel New York is a classic boutique hotel providing guests with extra comforts such as a private library, flat screen HD televisions, 100% cotton linens, Thymes amenities, mini bars and personal in-room coolers. Conference space is available for intimate gatherings or business meetings. The Avalon Hotel offers, for an additional fee, a continental buffet breakfast served daily. A $20/night mandatory Facility Fee (plus taxes) will be applied and includes Wi-Fi, 24-hour on-site Fitness Center, Daily Newspapers, unlimited U.S. and Domestic (US Mainland) telephone calls, luggage storage, unlimited daily hot beverage and water service and 24-hour Business Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel New York City
Vincci New York City
Vincci Hotel Avalon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing