We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hidden gem”
Review of Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avalon Hotel
Ranked #127 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent hidden gem”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

I was a bit exceptic about going to this hotel at the beginning due to the rates similar to other well known hotels. But after arriving I just must say It was the perfect decision. We arrived on the weekend before the Memorial Day and the hotel was full so we were upgraded to a junior suite. I just must say the bedroom was perfect, massive bed enough for 4 person, big bathroom with Jacuzzi, lounge with TV. Bedroom and toilets were spotless and perfectly clean every day. Staff very friendly and helpful. And about location just to say that Empire State is literally around the corner. There are plenty of buses and metro station is just 2 streets on the right of the hotel. If you like Korean food you are lucky because is on the area called little Korea were you have plenty of Korean restaurants.
Defenitly is a good option to visit NY.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fenomenopucela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Fenomenopucela,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at the Avalon Hotel New York. It is appreciated.

I was happy to read that you found our hotel well located in midtown Manhattan, our rooms spacious and clean and our staff friendly and helpful.

I hope when you travel plans call for a return visit to New York City, we will have the privledge of hosting youi once again. Please contact my office directly as I would like to personally oversee your next reservation.

Warmest regards,
Michael R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    766
    615
    143
    15
    12
See reviews for
466
618
46
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

We spent a night in NYC at the Avalon. It was a reasonable walk from Penn Station. Room was "compact" with only one queen bed but worked well for my son and me. It was not fancy, just comfortably appointed and reasonably priced (for NYC that is). We will stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear ES_screen_name,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at the Avalon Hotel New York. It is appreciated.

I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel comfortably appointed and well located.

If your future travel plans call for a return visit to Manhattan, please contact me directly as I would like to personally oversee your next reservation.

Warmest regards,
Michael R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls
2 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

I'm obviously late in giving a review but The Avalon deserves to be recognized. This hotel is amazing. By far the best hotel I've ever stayed in and I wish it was for longer than one night. The service is fantastic! We were tended to the moment we walked through the doors. Our room was upgraded and we had an early check in! The room was absolutely gorgeous. We didn't have a view but the room certainly made up for it. When returning to New York City, my husband and I will definitely be returning! Thank you for the memorable experience! :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Amanda B.,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at the Avalon Hotel New York. It is appreciated.

I was happy to read that you found our hotel perfect for your needs and enjoyed our oversized room and upgrade. Thank you for commenting on our service. I will certainly pass your kind words on to our staff.

We also hope you will come back to visit for more than one night. Should your future travel plans call for a return visit to Manhattan, please contact my office directly as I would like to persoanlly oversee your next reservation.

Warmest regards,
Michael R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

There was a vintage feel to the hotel which was really cool. Our room was really great and clean - huge bathroom with shower and tub. We had an electrical issue with an outlet in the bathroom but someone came right up and fixed the problem. No bar on site and no coffee in the rooms, and the continental breakfast was not free (and not worth the $15/person). The elevators were painfully slow. The location was great. Steps away from the Empire State Building and Heartland Brewery - which was a great place to eat and have a few drinks. I would stay here again and just eat breakfast somewhere else in the city.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Jen W.,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at the Avalon Hotel New York. It is appreciated.

I was happy to read that you found our hotel perfectly located for your needs and enjoyed our spacious rooms and guest bathrooms. Although we do not have coffee makers in the guest rooms, I hope you were able to take advantage of our complimentary lobby beverage service in our library? Thank you for letting me know about our guest elevators, I have brought it to the attention to the attention of our engineers.

Should your future travel plans call for a return visit to New York City, I hope you'll stay with us once again. Please contact me directly as I would like to personally oversee your future reservation.

Warmest regards,
Michael R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
228 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Just as I wrote here above: it is exactly where you want to be. It is placed close to the Empire State building, in the heart of Manhattan, so it easy to reach all the main "attractions" around.
The hotel itself is very nice, may room was very big and comfortable. Something looked like being "old", but everything was good.
I found also a professional and friendly staff.
I really enjoyed my time here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luigi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Gigivi80,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at the Avalon Hotel New York.

I was happy to read that our hotel's location was perfect for your needs while visiting Manhattan. In particular, I am pleased to learn that our staff was professional and friendly. They certainly are the heart and soul of the Avalon.

Should your future travel plans call for a return visit to New York City, please contact my office as I would like to personally oversee your next reservation.

Warmest regards,
Michael R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We decided on Midtown as our central location and base for a quick three day sight-seeing trip to New York. We appreciated that New York hotel rooms are pricey, so were satisfied to find this property at $319 US per night. We chose it primarily for location but it was more than adequate for our purpose. Not super luxury but very comfortable. The room was sizeable, appears to have been recently renovated. The bathroom was large with a separate glassed in shower. The hotel offers a continental breakfast for $14. Full selection of juices, cereals, yogurt, fruits, pastries, toast etc. Strongly recommend this as a convenient and excellent start to the day. 2 blocks to Empire State Building, one block to the 4,5,6 subway line. Doorman went above and beyond to hail a cab for our rush hour departure for JFK.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JS5341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear JS5341,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at the Avalon Hotel New York. It is appreciated.

I was happy to read that you found our location perfect for your needs, our rooms comfortable and sizable, and that you enjoyed our continental buffet breakfast. Thank you for commenting how our doormen went "above and beyond" in hailing you a cab. I will certainly pass your kind comments on to them.

Should you find your travel plans call for a return visit to Manhattan, please contact my office directly as I would like to personally oversee your next reservation.

Warmest regards,
Michael R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

The best hotel in NYC area. Very clean room, Staff are very friendly, courteous and helpful. I highly recommended. It was convenient to travel downtown NYC. The hotel is small, but very glamorous location.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nycvrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Nycvrk,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at the Avalon Hotel New York. It is appreciated.

I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our rooms and location to your liking. Thank you for singling out our friendly, courteous and helpful staff - they certainly are the heart and soul of the Avalon. I will pass your kind comments on to them.

When you make a future reservation to stay with us, please contact me directly as I would like to personally oversee your reservation.

Warmest regards,
Michael R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel Chandler
Hotel Chandler
#131 of 468 in New York City
3,307 reviews
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#151 of 468 in New York City
2,492 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 32 32
Hotel 32 32
#159 of 468 in New York City
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#96 of 468 in New York City
687 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#158 of 468 in New York City
890 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Midtown Park Ave
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Midto...
#147 of 468 in New York City
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel

Property: Avalon Hotel
Address: 16 East 32nd Street, New York City, NY 10016-5402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#91 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#103 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#103 Family Hotel in New York City
#142 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located just below Midtown Manhattan, The Avalon Hotel New York is blocks away from everything New York City has to offer. The hotel is only two blocks from the Empire State Building, seven subway lines and Penn Station, as well as being easily accessible to LaGuardia, JFK and Newark Liberty International Airport. Additionally, The Avalon Hotel New York is just steps from the best shopping in Manhattan including Macy's, Lord & Taylor and numerous 5th & Madison Avenue boutiques. World-famous Times Square and the Theatre District is just a short walk, subway or taxi cab ride away. With a majority of the 100 guest rooms over 400 square feet, many of our spacious guest rooms have two beds and all our suites feature a sofa bed. The Avalon Hotel New York is a classic boutique hotel providing guests with extra comforts such as a private library, flat screen HD televisions, 100% cotton linens, Thymes amenities, mini bars and personal in-room coolers. Conference space is available for intimate gatherings or business meetings. The Avalon Hotel offers, for an additional fee, a continental buffet breakfast served daily. A $20/night mandatory Facility Fee (plus taxes) will be applied and includes Wi-Fi, 24-hour on-site Fitness Center, Daily Newspapers, unlimited U.S. and Domestic (US Mainland) telephone calls, luggage storage, unlimited daily hot beverage and water service and 24-hour Business Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelPower, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and Priceline so you can book your Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel New York City
Vincci New York City
Vincci Hotel Avalon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing