We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a beautiful hotel in great location”
Review of Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avalon Hotel
Ranked #132 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Donegal Town, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a beautiful hotel in great location”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

we booked the Avalon hotel for our honeymoon for 5 nights in mid September, we had a double deluxe which was very typical new york style which we loved as it was our 1st time here we wanted this factor! As soon as we arrived we were met at the door by a charming porter called Wilson who was very helpful and welcoming and made us feel very at ease, checking in was very easy also with the help of Melody and Jesse who over the 6 days helped us and guided us in the right direction for anything we were not sure of!. The location was ideal in midtown and to walk round the corner and have The Empire State building towering above you was brilliant :) our 1st time in New York was everything we hoped it would be and we definatley will be back in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shelley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Shelley F.,
On behalf of the entire staff of the Avalon Hotel, please accept our sincere congratulations on your recent nuptials.

We were thrilled to be able to host you for your honeymoon as well as your first time in New York City. You are certainly right in saying that the Empire State Building towering above you is brilliant.

However, what pleases me the most is to hear that Wilson, Melody and Jesse made this very special trip even more special and memorable.

When your plans include a return trip to Manhattan I hope you will contact me directly so I may personally handle your reservation.


When your plans including returing to Manhattan I hope you will contact me directly so I may personally handle your reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    770
    623
    145
    16
    12
See reviews for
472
624
48
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2013

perfectly located between 5th Ave. and Madison Ave.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were spacious (if we are talking about NYC) and clean.
I am surely coming back!
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Room Tip: We were 3 girls in room 707 - perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Audrey P,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about the Avalon Hotel and your stay in New York City.

I am happy to learn that you found our rooms spacious and comfortable and that the hotel's location was perfect for you. However, it is your comments about our staff that thrill me. I am very happy you found them to be friendly and helpful. I certainly hope they made you feel like the Avalon Hotel was your home-away-from-home.

Should your future plans call for you to return to Manhattan please contact me directly so I may personally oversee your future reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We booked a junior suite with two queen size bed and breakfast.
The room was very spacious, clean and comfortable, furnitures was a bit dated but this was not really an issue. The room had parquet, and this was one of the reasons we choosed that hotel, since in NYC almost all hotels seems to have moquette... there were a lot of places where to place luggage, a living area, wall-wardrobe and many other amenities.
Bathroom was very spacious with a full-size shower and and double sinks, clean, worked perfectly, no smells.
Breakfast was excellent with plenty of food of any type, fruit, sweets, yogurth, juices, chocolate, ....
Staff was friendly and helpful.
Position is excellent... just a few steps from the empire state building and 5th avenue.
The only thing we disliked was the street on which the hotel is... at evening/night the sidewalks are full of garbage of restaurants in the street... it was not so nice.
Anyway the hotel is a very good deal... is not cheap, but no hotel is cheap in NY and we have find this as the best value for the money we spent: 270 USD/Night for a junior suite with full breakfast.
The final reason I gave 4 stars, not five, is the price. NYC hotels should lower prices.

Room Tip: Choose a junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlop_oOo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Carlop_oOo,

Thank you for your review about our hotel on TripAdvisor. We certainly appreciate you staying with us at the Avalon Hotel in New York City.

I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and thought our breakfast was excellent. I am particularly happy and proud that our staff was friendly and helpful. They truly are the heart and soul of our hotel.

I am glad you enjoyed the location of the hotel and certainly have noted your comments regarding 32nd Street.

Should your future plans include a return trip to Manhattan, I hope you will contact me directly so I may personally oversee your reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed at the Avalon in the first week of September with my husband and 4 children. Staff were welcoming, helpful and friendly, particularly Carlos who greeted us on our arrival, The location of the hotel is perfect, just around the corner from the Empire State with easy access to two subway stations. Within walking distance of Central Park and Times Square. The rooms were very spacious which is rare in New York and they were extremely comfortable, I don't usually sleep well in strange beds but slept soundly at the Avalon. The breakfasts were lovely and very filling and my children enjoyed the free hot chocolates from the drinks machine in the lobby. We were not disturbed by outside noise or indeed by any noise within the hotel. It was fab!

Room Tip: The Junior Suites with two queen beds were excellent value and extremely comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Julie T,

Thank you for posting a review about your stay at the Avalon Hotel on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your comments and feedback, and are very happy you enjoyed your visit.

Carlos recently joined us and I am glad he made such a good iimpression on you. I know your comments will assist many future guests.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you are your family back soon. When your plans include a return trip to Manahattan, if you contact me directly I would enjoy overseeing your reservation personally.

Sincerely,

Michael Rawson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is a great little heart in a fabulous location - a couple of blocks away from the Empire State building and the Subway. There are great places to eat on your door step (although many of the places are Korean - you have to walk a little to find other places) and it is near convenient stores. The sleeping areas were very clean but I was a little disappointed with the bathroom. The floor needed a good scrub. Still, we came back every evening to a clean room and it was spacious so we were happy. Breakfast is continental and convenient. if you have a family with children under 12 they are free so it is great value ($14 a person) and included freshly squeezed juices and lots of fruit, a variety of breads, cereal, hard boiled eggs and lots of pastries. We enjoyed it. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: We opted for a suite with two doubles over a queen because it was more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 0Difly0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear 0Difly0,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at the Avalon Hotel in New York City.

I was thrilled to learn that you found our location was very convenient and provided you with easy access to many of Manhattan's renowned shopping and dining outlets.

Your comments regarding the bathroom were noted.

Should your plans include another trip to New York please contact me directly and I'd be happy to look after your reservation personally. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest regards,
Michael R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakwood, Virginia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Our first trip to NYC we were really unsure where to stay, after much research we choose the Avalon. I am so pleased, we could not have made a better choice. We decided to leave a little early and when arrived in the middle night the gentleman at the front deck ( sorry I can't recall his name) helped us to check in for an additional night.. The hotel was gorgeous. The rooms were large. We had a a Deluxe queen suite, for myself and 2 adult children. Rooms were very spacious for NYC, 450 sq. feet. The price was exceptional as was the location. It seemed as we could be anywhere in just minutes by walking. At the end of the day, after seeing the city, the beds were very comfortable. Our reservation included the breakfast, which included fresh fruit, pastries, cereal and breads. Angel was the gentleman that serviced us there, he was delightful. They do not have coffee in the rooms but there is a 24 hour coffee service in the business center- I fell in love with their hot chocolate.
Thank You to everyone at the Avalon for helping make our trip that much more wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Sandra H,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting a review on TripAdvisor. It was very nice to read your comments, especially those regarding staff members. They mean a great deal to all of us here at the Avalon.

We hope you will stay with us again should your plans include another triip to New York. If you contact me directly, I'd be happy to look after your reservation personally. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon.

Sincerely,

Michael Rawson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed at the Avalon in August. Great location easy to get around on foot or subway. Literally footsteps away from the hectic pace of New York streets, however a slower pace outside the hotel which was lovely to return to. As a boutique hotel it is the perfect size and makes you feel more at home.
We stayed in an executive suite which was big and lovely. Beds are fantastic. The only down sides were the timber floors, a bit noisey, would prefer carpet, the air con was a blessing just a bit noisey and loved the coffee machine downstairs but would have like tea/coffee making in our room.

The staff are fantastic, very friendly and helpful. A big thank you to Carolina, the Manager and Conceriege on duty the night my husband had a fall, they were just wonderful. Definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Donna K,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at the Avalon Hotel in New York City.

I am very pleased to learn that Carolina and our staff appropriately responded to your situation and you approved of how it was handled.

We pride ourselves as being a sanctuary in the middle of the hectic pace of New York City. Thank you for your comments on your room. I would be happy to provide area rugs in your room.

On your next visit, please contact me personally so that I may oversee your reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel Chandler
Hotel Chandler
#137 of 466 in New York City
3,330 reviews
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#147 of 466 in New York City
2,579 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#92 of 466 in New York City
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel 32 32
Hotel 32 32
#158 of 466 in New York City
523 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#37 of 466 in New York City
415 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#160 of 466 in New York City
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel

Property: Avalon Hotel
Address: 16 East 32nd Street, New York City, NY 10016-5402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#103 Family Hotel in New York City
#107 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#141 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located just below Midtown Manhattan, The Avalon Hotel New York is blocks away from everything New York City has to offer. The hotel is only two blocks from the Empire State Building, seven subway lines and Penn Station, as well as being easily accessible to LaGuardia, JFK and Newark Liberty International Airport. Additionally, The Avalon Hotel New York is just steps from the best shopping in Manhattan including Macy's, Lord & Taylor and numerous 5th & Madison Avenue boutiques. World-famous Times Square and the Theatre District is just a short walk, subway or taxi cab ride away. With a majority of the 100 guest rooms over 400 square feet, many of our spacious guest rooms have two beds and all our suites feature a sofa bed. The Avalon Hotel New York is a classic boutique hotel providing guests with extra comforts such as a private library, flat screen HD televisions, 100% cotton linens, Thymes amenities, mini bars and personal in-room coolers. Conference space is available for intimate gatherings or business meetings. The Avalon Hotel offers, for an additional fee, a continental buffet breakfast served daily. A $20/night mandatory Facility Fee (plus taxes) will be applied and includes Wi-Fi, 24-hour on-site Fitness Center, Daily Newspapers, unlimited U.S. and Domestic (US Mainland) telephone calls, luggage storage, unlimited daily hot beverage and water service and 24-hour Business Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel New York City
Vincci New York City
Vincci Hotel Avalon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing