We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place to stay with 3 kids” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Avalon Hotel
Ranked #130 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay with 3 kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Very nice hotel. Good food, and most importantly we got one room that fitted all 5 of us. Sure, it was a bit crowded, but its only a place to sleep, right :-)

Location was also perfect. Would love to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonkol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear jonkol,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor about the Avalon Hotel New York. I am glad you and your family selected us and we appreciate your comments. Over half of our rooms have two beds and a sofabed, which is idea for families. We also have some larger suites with two queen beds and a separate sitting room with a sofabed if you decide to come back again.
If you do, I hope you will contact me directly so I can personally handle your reservation. Once again, thank you for staying at the Avalon Hotel New York.

Sincerely,

Michael Rawson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    730
    594
    142
    13
    11
See reviews for
445
592
44
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed for six nights, and found this an ideal base to explore New York. The foyer is glamorous and our standard bedroom was equally elegantly styled. Everywhere was spotless and the wooden floor in the bedroom gave a feeling of cleanliness. The reception staff were exceptionally welcoming and helpful . It is a great location a couple of hundred yards from the Empire State Building but very quiet. For New York we got a good price but taxes add about 15 per cent.

Room Tip: We had room 801 and it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanteBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear DanteBelfast,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the Avalon Hotel New York on tripadvisor. We know you have many hotels to chose from in New York and are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

I have shared your comments with the rest of my associates and appreciate your kind and generous words. I hope you will stay with us the next time your plans include a trip to Manhattan as I would like to personally oversee your reservations.

Sincerely,

Michael Rawson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saco, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Every time I travel to NYC for work I go "on the hunt". There are so many hotels in the city I typically try to find the best deal. I have been happy with choices and not so happy with choices, until I found the Avalon Hotel! It's now my hotel of choice for trips to NYC.

In addition to a perfect central location it was the perfect hotel. In a really loud city you find a little peace and quiet at the Avalon. The rooms are incredibly quiet for NYC since it's on a side street (32nd) - you don't hear the traffic of a busy street. The hotel is on the smaller size which makes it feel like home. The staff quickly got to know us and welcomed us back every time we walked in. The staff was incredibly friendly. (Aylin, Abby, Wilson, LeAnne - fabulous employees) I brought my mom and uncle with me while I was there on a business trip, it was their first time in the city and the staff was incredibly helpful and friendly making sure their first time was perfect!

The rooms are immaculately clean, the hard wood floors were spotless. It's probably the first time I ever felt comfortable laying a piece of clothing on a hotel room floor. Loved that the windows opened for a bit of fresh air, rooms and bathrooms were large, and the beds were incredibly comfortable.

WiFi is included and worked really well, which is important to me as a business traveler. Breakfast is available for around $14 but I certainly can't eat that much food. An option of coffee and a bowl of oatmeal for $8 would have been perfect!

The staff obviously cares deeply about this hotel. I challenge you to find another hotel where the General Manager is responding to every Trip Advisor posting!

This is your perfect choice for a NYC hotel. A sincere thank you to everyone at the Avalon Hotel who made our stay PERFECT!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Lynn T,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor about the Avalon Hotel New York. We are glad you found us and it was a pleasure to be of service to you and your family. It means a great deal to me and my colleagues to know we could be a part of this special occasion.

Your feedback is very helpful as the breakfast issue has come up before and I have discussed some options with our team. The review reads like a travel article in one of the many magazines I am not allowed to mention, and the bar is now set higher to make sure we always deliver the same level of service and accommodations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Avalon again very soon!

Warmest regards,

Michael Rawson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmaus, PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

I booked this hotel through the Hotel Tonight app (awesome app btw). I highly expected to get a standard room, nothing elaborate. When I arrived the woman at recoption was incredibly kind and did everything possible to make me feel welcomed. When I ask her if I could have a king bed (typically Hotel Tonight hotels only book queen size), she replied back to me we have you in the Executive Suite Mrs.Bxxxxx. I was extremely shocked and so very delighted when she told me this. Room 807 was beautiful and LARGE. The bed was comfortable, lines were soft and the space I had was perfect. I will agree with some of the other reviews the furniture is dated but from what I can nothing was damaged or falling apart.

Another surprise was when I return back to the hotel from dinner and their were two elevator service men servicing the elevator when I went to go up to my room. One of them was kind of enough to take me up to my floor as if he wanted to assure me there was nothing wrong with the elevator. I'm not sure who the elevator company was but I thought I would give them props too.

Overall very happy with the whole experience. Was quite a surprise to find in Korean City, hadn't stay in that area before. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Christy5769,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor about your stay at the Avalon Hotel New York. We appreciate your comments and value your feedback.

I'm glad you enjoyed the Executive Suite and it is nice to know you booked through Hotel Tonight. One of my colleagues in another hotel introduced them to us and another innovation in travel planning.

I see you were here on business and hope you will contact me directly if you have plans to return in the future. It would be a pleasure to oversee your accommodations personally.

Sincerely,

Michael Rawson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Avalon Hotel for 6 nights commencing on 15th February 2013. This was our first trip to the USA.
The location of the hotel is superb; it is in an ideal position close to all the major tourist sites.
The Hotel is clean, we stayed in a junior suite which was adequate for our needs.
We were a little disappointed that that there was no provision to make tea or coffee in our room. Complementary refreshments were available in the lobby of the Hotel, however, when we arrived back at the hotel at 5.30pm after a busy day shopping all the complementary beverages had been taken away for the evening.
The reception staff was unhelpful when we asked if we could have any hot water to make ourselves a cup of tea. We had to forgo our afternoon tea.
We made our booking through Booking.com, in the description given by them of the facilities offered, it stated that bathrobes were included when booking a junior suite.
We asked at reception why we had not been given bathrobes and we were informed this had ceased many months ago. Booking.com blamed the hotel. The hotel blamed Booking.com. Booking.com are today 3/03/2013 still advertising bathrobes are available!!
One morning while taking breakfast in the Hotel supplies of ham, eggs, etc and again hot water was in short supply. When we complained to reception staff we were informed that as it was a continental breakfast and only consisted of pastries. We pointed out that previously we had had ham and cold meats along with eggs, the receptionist said she would get back to us. She never did. This was never a deluxe continental breakfast.
On our return home we checked our bill and noticed they had charged us for breakfast 2 days before we even arrived! I have emailed them twice now asking for a refund of the cost of the breakfast but they have ignored my emails.
We were led to believe that customer services in the USA were second to none; we would have to disagree with this statement with regard to the reception staff at the Avalon Hotel.
Would we stay there again? No.

Room Tip: ask for a room not above the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stratford393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Stratford393,

Thank you for posting a review to TripAdvisor about your stay at the Avalon Hotel New York. While it was difficult to read your comments, starting with the title, I will also extend my sincerest apology that we did not provide you with the service you expected and deserved.
It was troubling to read your critique as so many of the issues were avoidable. I have asked around for your emails about the breakfast charges and have not seen one. TripAdvisor does not allow us to include contact details, but you can reach me directly through TripAdvisor. I would like to personally resolve this for you immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
71 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location nice rooms bad shower sometimes there weren' t hot water
Employees nice particularly concierge and doorman
The lady at the reception was rude and unpleasant her name carolina, she was rude to allguests

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbara l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Barbara l,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at the Avalon Hotel New York. We value your feedback and appreciate your letting us know about your experience.

I would like to apologize for the unfortunate situation you encountered and can assure you this is not the type of service we strive to deliver nor is it the type you deserve. Also, my apology for what you relayed to us about the hot water.

As hard as it is for me and my associates to read these reviews, I assure you it serves to remind us to increase our level of service response when a guest is upset, not to dismiss them or treat them poorly.

I am very humbled that you still remarked on some positive aspects and were extremely gracious in your rating. Should your future plans include a return trip to New York, it would be my pleasure to oversee your accommodations. You can contact my office directly.

Sincerely yours,

Michael Rawson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin, ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a standard room for 4 nights. Location is wonderful. Staff excellent. Room decor is tired. Furniture and walls bit scuffed, not great pressure in shower, mattress a little soft. Great location for Penn Station, mid town. Lovely restaurants and diners etc in Murray Hill. Would stay again. No bar or proper lobby, no room service menu.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Suseandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Suseandco,

Thank you for writing a review on TripAdvisor about your stay at the Avalon Hotel New York. We greatly appreciate all feedback, good and bad, as it only helps us provide better service and accommodations.
When the hotel changed hands last year, the restaurant lease ended and we are actively searching for a new one. We are serving an extensive continental breakfast buffet each day on the second floor for all guests wishing to dine in-house.
I am sorry you didn't find the Library with fireplace or adjoining room with 2 computers to be a proper lobby, but I will look into putting some more seating in there.
I hope you will come back and stay with us, as we are upgrading many furnishings, the shower heads already in process. I would be happy to handle your reservations personally and you can contact my office directly.
Thank you for staying with us and for offering your helpful remarks.


Sincerely,

Michael Rawson
Gernal Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel Chandler
Hotel Chandler
#120 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,199 reviews
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#158 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,172 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Midtown Park Ave
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Midto...
#140 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#157 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#104 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Midtown
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
#91 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel

Property: Avalon Hotel
Address: 16 East 32nd Street, New York City, NY 10016-5402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#92 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#103 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#104 Family Hotel in New York City
#143 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located just below Midtown Manhattan, The Avalon Hotel New York is blocks away from everything New York City has to offer. The hotel is only two blocks from the Empire State Building, seven subway lines and Penn Station, as well as being easily accessible to LaGuardia, JFK and Newark Liberty International Airport. Additionally, The Avalon Hotel New York is just steps from the best shopping in Manhattan including Macy's, Lord & Taylor and numerous 5th & Madison Avenue boutiques. World-famous Times Square and the Theatre District is just a short walk, subway or taxi cab ride away. With a majority of the 100 guest rooms over 400 square feet, many of our spacious guest rooms have two beds and all our suites feature a sofa bed. The Avalon Hotel New York is a classic boutique hotel providing guests with extra comforts such as a private library, flat screen HD televisions, 100% cotton linens, Thymes amenities, mini bars and personal in-room coolers. Conference space is available for intimate gatherings or business meetings. The Avalon Hotel offers, for an additional fee, a continental buffet breakfast served daily. A $20/night mandatory Facility Fee (plus taxes) will be applied and includes Wi-Fi, 24-hour on-site Fitness Center, Daily Newspapers, unlimited U.S. and Domestic (US Mainland) telephone calls, luggage storage, unlimited daily hot beverage and water service and 24-hour Business Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel New York City
Vincci New York City
Vincci Hotel Avalon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing