We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Hotel”
Review of Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Avalon Hotel
Ranked #128 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Central Hotel”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Recently stayed here for the Xmas period. The Hotel was fine for us as a couple. We were a stones throw from the Empire State Building. A block from Macy's. A bock either side for the underground. The hotel is of a classic period and not all rooms will face the street as ours did not. It is not cheap however in comparison to other hotels it is on par. We have no negative comments to make. Our room was neat and clean. Beds comfortable. We stayed 5 nights and spent full days everyday away from the Hotel and again the central location for us was perfect.

Room Tip: A street view room may make a difference rather than a room that looks into an alley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rrstaffie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear rrstaffie,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor about your stay at the Avalon Hotel New York. We appreciate your comments, especially your notes about our central location.

Should your future plans include a return trip to Manhattan, I hope you will consider the Avalon. If you contact my office directly, we will be sure to get you one of the large Executive Suites on the front of the hotel.

On behalf of my associates, I send warm wishes for a happy and healthy new year!

Sincerely,

Michael Rawson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    776
    628
    147
    16
    12
See reviews for
479
629
48
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed here with 2 kids for 5 days this Christmas. Overall a very positive experience. We stayed in the deluxe suite which has 2 queen beds + a separate area (open to the room) with an additionnal pull-out couch (great if you're more than 4 or like more room) and a 2nd flat screen tv. The suite had a mini-bar and a second mini-fridge (ask for it in advance) to keep additionnal beverages or food which is especially handy for kids. This hotel is ideally situated in midtown, about 10 minutes walk to Times Squares, 5 minutes walk to Macys and a 10 min cab ride to Central Park or to the other end of the island (Wall Street, Chinatown, Battery Park ect...)an. The bathroom was large and clean with a separate tub and shower and with marble all over. Breakfast is available but it's a continental breakfast so do not expect bacon and eggs ! There are a few delis, a nice sushi restaurant, lots of korean restaurants and a nice kid-friendly tavern nearby for lunch and dinner. Wi-fi was included and efficient during the entire length of our stay. The hotel is located between 5th and Madison Avenue and the street is relatively quiet and safe. Tip: if you have kids and a mini-bar, you should have it locked because they charge as soon as something is moved. Also, if you're looking for additionnal amenities such as a restaurant or a gym, this is not the place for you. No coffee maker in the room but a Starbucks is 1 block away. ! Overall a positive experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CanadaLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear CanadaLiz,

Thank you for posting a review about the Avalon Hotel New York on TripAdvisor. We were happy to have you with us and value your feedback.

I am glad you enjoyed the location and appreciate the many comments and suggestions you listed.

Should your future plans include a return trip to New York City, I hope you won't hesitate to contact me directly so I can oversee your accommodations.

On behalf of my associates at the Avalon, I wish you and your family a healthy, happy new year.

Sincerely,
Michael Rawson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

My husband and I and our 3 kids stayed at this lovely gem Dec. 19-23 , 2012. Everything about the hotel was perfect from the moment we arrived.
The staff is unbelieveably friendly and helpful, and made the stay something we will remember for a long time. Winston greeted us at the door and took care of our luggage as we arrived early in the day and our room was not ready. Caroline at the front desk checked us in, got us set with a perfect upgrade for my huband and my room, gave us toruist assistance and sent us on our way to explore.
The rooms are so spacious and so comfortable! The bed is fabulous! The bathroom is room and had a soaker tub and separate shower , and his and her sinks . It was bigger than our en suite at home!! :) two flat screen tv's, and a mini fridge to keep snacks. It is a perfect hotels to stay in as a family.
The hotel is small but quaint. Clean and perfectly situated in mid town Manhattan near the Empire State building. The decor is cozy and classy . It is super quiet in the rooms, no view , but who cares.....at the end of a long day exploring the city, who's looking out the window? Just give me comfort !! And that is exactly what this hotel provides.

One of my daughter's was not feeling well,and the front desk staff were so helpful and caring . I can not say enough about each and every one of them. I wish I could remember everyone's names to single each one out !
Our Christmas in NYC was perfect , and this was largely due to this little gem of a hotel hidden away in K -Town!
We will be back for sure!

Room Tip: we stayed in 607 and 610....both rooms were quiet and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear JoanneVDB,

Thank you for writing about the Avalon Hotel on TripAdvisor. Your glowing review is greatly appreciated by the entire team. I will be sure to let Carolina and Wilson know you commended them on their service.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay, the upgrade and our location. And, to be part of making your Christmas in New York extra special is a great gift for us.

It sounds like you will be back to New York, and I hope you won't hestitate to contact me directly to oversee your accommodations.

Wishing you all the best for a happy and healthy New Year.

Michael Rawson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Two weeks ago we did some x-mas shopping in nyc. we booked a package with ebookers. the hotel avalon was just amazing. we had a junior suite with two bed and you won't believe it with two huge flatscreens opposite each bed. the bathroom was huge and really clean. anyway the whole room was cleaned everyday and there was even a fridge in the room for your own food and drinks. just amazing. the location is awesome as well, just 5-10 minutes walking and you are at macy's. just the perfect place to stay while your in nyc. really to recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicoleri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Nicoleri,

Thank you for taking the time to write about the Avalon Hotel New York on TripAdvisor. I am delighted you found the accommodations and location to your liking and would recommend us to others. On behalf of the team here at the Avalon, we appreciate your review.

Should your future plans include a return trip to New York, I hope you will contact me so I can personally oversee your reservation.

Warmest regards and best wishes for the New Year,

Michael Rawson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We found this hotel online, prices were very good for 4 day stay. It's right beside the Empire State building, short walk from Times Square... great location for tourists.
The room was huge, very comfortable, sofa one end, huge comfy bed at the other end, marble bathroom spotless, not much noise in the corridor at all.
Would definitely recommend and will def try to book again when I go to NY again in 2013.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear KMasty,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor about your stay at the Avalon Hotel New York. We are delighted you enjoyed the hotel and its location, and look forward to welcoming you back in 2013.
Please feel free to contact me directly as I would like to personally oversee your accommodations.

Warmest wishes for the holidays and a very Happy New Year.

Sincerely,

Michael Rawson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

This is my 4th trip to NYC and I have stayed at very nice places. I have never been disappointed. However rooms in NYC are very small. Who needs a big room if its just two of you. This time however, it was the whole family. The Avalon seemed to be the only place with two queens. The room is great...HUGE... By NYC standards, with 2 queens and a pull out sofa. 2 flat screens and a big bathroom. Mom and the kids will love it. Close to Korea town, so lots of Asian food. Less than 2 blocks from the subway. If you want amenities this isn't it. No concierge, no restaurant. There is breakfast. We didn't try it, but great security, great housekeeping. Overall a great hotel especially if you're traveling with a family. 4 stars only because of the lack of amenities.

Room Tip: We stayed in the family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Target_011,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Avalon Hotel New York on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your comments and value your feedback.

My apologies if Concierge services weren't provided. All of our Front Office Agents are trained to help and assist with reservations, suggestions, or any special request. I will share your words with my associates and use it as a reminder.

I am glad you liked our location and the spacious rooms. They are very popular with families or friends traveling together for all the reasons you listed.

Should your future plans include a return trip to New York, I hope you will consider the Avalon. It would be my pleasure to personally assist your with your accomodations.

Sincerely,

Michael Rawson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 22, 2012

My daughter and I met my mom in Manhattan for a girls' trip and while checking to see if I could find better accommodations than we had booked I stumbled across the Avalon. We ended up with two spacious junior suites for less than the price of one cramped room in Times Square and loved both the location and the rooms. Most of the front desk staff was quite helpful, and I'd like to mention Carolina by name as she was very friendly. Also one night when my nephew decided to stay with us we asked for sheets for the sofa bed and in no time they were brought up by a very nice guy whose name I wish I had asked. I expected to be handed the sheets but he came in and started moving furniture and putting the sofa bed together for us. My sister in law tried to tip him and he would not take the money. Location is great, quick walk to Empire State Building, Herald Square/Macy's, etc. and easy to get anywhere else in Manhattan via subway. We would definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MickeyMaad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear MickeyMaad,

Thank you for staying at the Avalon Hotel New York and for posting a review on TripAdvisor. We are really happy you enjoyed your visit and I will be sure Carolina knows you singled her out for special attention. I learned it was our evening houseman, Keita, who made up the sofabed an will let him know about your posting.
We are glad you would stay with us again and I hope you will contact me directly so I can oversee your reservation. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back.

With warmest wishes for the holiday and a Happy New Year,

Michael Rawson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel Chandler
Hotel Chandler
#133 of 467 in New York City
3,356 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#97 of 467 in New York City
720 reviews
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#144 of 467 in New York City
2,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#44 of 467 in New York City
452 reviews
Chelsea
Stewart Hotel
Stewart Hotel
#204 of 467 in New York City
5,155 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#72 of 467 in New York City
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel

Property: Avalon Hotel
Address: 16 East 32nd Street, New York City, NY 10016-5402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#89 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#102 Family Hotel in New York City
#103 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#139 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located just below Midtown Manhattan, The Avalon Hotel New York is blocks away from everything New York City has to offer. The hotel is only two blocks from the Empire State Building, seven subway lines and Penn Station, as well as being easily accessible to LaGuardia, JFK and Newark Liberty International Airport. Additionally, The Avalon Hotel New York is just steps from the best shopping in Manhattan including Macy's, Lord & Taylor and numerous 5th & Madison Avenue boutiques. World-famous Times Square and the Theatre District is just a short walk, subway or taxi cab ride away. With a majority of the 100 guest rooms over 400 square feet, many of our spacious guest rooms have two beds and all our suites feature a sofa bed. The Avalon Hotel New York is a classic boutique hotel providing guests with extra comforts such as a private library, flat screen HD televisions, 100% cotton linens, Thymes amenities, mini bars and personal in-room coolers. Conference space is available for intimate gatherings or business meetings. The Avalon Hotel offers, for an additional fee, a continental buffet breakfast served daily. A $20/night mandatory Facility Fee (plus taxes) will be applied and includes Wi-Fi, 24-hour on-site Fitness Center, Daily Newspapers, unlimited U.S. and Domestic (US Mainland) telephone calls, luggage storage, unlimited daily hot beverage and water service and 24-hour Business Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel New York City
Vincci New York City
Vincci Hotel Avalon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing