We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Avalon Hotel
Ranked #131 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

great location with very spacious rooms , we stayed in 1005 , it is a junior suite and really worth having a bigger space so worth the extra dollars , the hotel is well kept , warm and staffed with really friendly and efficient people , the bed was comfy and the shower fantastic , overall I would recommend this hotel for its great central location but with that comes the noise of the city but hey that is what makes New York such a fantastic place to visit

Room Tip: junior suites are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angel1265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear angel1265,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Avalon. Thank you very much for telling us about your experience with your room and the staff-- we always love to hear about a happy customer. Please contact my office directly if you decide to return to New York so that I can provide you with a complimentary upgrade to show you how much we appreciate you choosing the Avalon.

Sincerely yours,

Michael Rawson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    732
    595
    142
    13
    11
See reviews for
446
592
44
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

Great location and very spacy suite(junior). We were allowed to keep our bikes in the room, great service!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadkillbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear Roadkillbob,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments about your stay at the Avalon. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and hope that we’ll be able to welcome you again soon! If you plan to return to New York, please contact my office directly as I would like to extend a complimentary upgrade to provide you with another wonderful stay.

Sincerely yours,

Michael R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiltonVT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

Down for long weekend, 2 night stay. Drove right there from VT, pulled in front, unloaded the car with help of quick to react doorman. They park your car after you fill out some car retrieval forms. Check in was easy, threw stuff in room. And off to visit with our oldest son who lived ~12 blocks away. Room was plenty big enough, had a sitting area. Bathroom was bigger than any in my house. Bed was great... only issue, one of the 2 nights was noisy outside in the street. We were close to restaurants, 1 block from the Empire St bldg (Go up @ 8 to 8:30am and it was very uncrowded). 4 or 5 blocks from MSG, where we caught a Bruins/Rangers game. Wilson, the doorman was great and helpful in many ways. Met expectations, great loction, great price.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank TallVermonter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear TallVermonter,

We enjoyed hearing about your stay at the Avalon, and are so glad that it was a great one. Thank you very much for sharing with us how much you enjoyed your room and our location-- we're really happy that you got to see so much of New York as a result and will let Wilson know that you appreciated his help! We’d very much like to have you again, so please contact my office directly if you decide to return to New York so that I can provide you with a complimentary upgrade to make your next stay even better.

Sincerely yours,

Michael R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

This hotel should not advertise that they have wifi. In a week-long stay I was NEVER able to make a connection strong enough to send an email out. (At Starbucks around the corner I could send things out fine, so it's not my device.) The wired connection is just as bad, or worse, as the plug on the internet cable is broken en you need to hold it and shimmy it constantly to make it function.

I would've rated it with 2 stars if it wasn't for the last night and finding out the cleanliness was worse than I thought. They don't give you new sheets unless you specifically ask for it by putting a card on the bed. I did so and when I went to bed that night I noticed that they had just flipped the sheets instead of cleaned them/given me new ones. (I recognized a couple of stains.) Also, after the 3rd day I didn't receive washcloths anymore.

I choose a hotel based on 2 things, they need to have free wifi and be clean. The Avalon had neither. Will never go there again and will advise co-workers/clients to avoid this hotel as well!

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel, avoid this one like the plague!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VF79Ams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear VF79Ams,

While conducting a review of all the past TripAdvisor posts for the Avalon Hotel New York, I came across yours. The review was posted prior to my arrival yet I still feel you deserve the courtesy of a response.

It is very difficult to live with reviews such as yours especially given the changes we have made in the past year. The high speed internet access, both hard wired and wireless have been upgraded. I am at your service should you wish to contact me and assure you I will personally oversee your reservation.

Sincerely,

Michael Rawson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

We stayed 10 days in the Avalon hotel and it was a very good choice. We got a good deal for a junior suite, so we had a large room at the price of a normal one (very rare in ny!).
The hotel is so well located that we didn't need to wake up very early in the morning to reach any place!It is everything behind the corner, underground, museums, good restaurants, malls!
The rooms are old fashion, not very modern at all...but the personnel keeps them very clean. The towels and the sheets were changed every day. The only negative aspects were the views (not that great!) and the hitting system (very noisy).
The persons working there were always very helpful and kind.
There is no additional services like swimming pool or fitness center, but the wi-fi is for free.
Overall it was very good choice!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Black_Mamb4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear Black_Mamb4,

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us all about your stay at the Avalon and letting us know what made it a great one. We are delighted that our location made it possible for you to enjoy New York to its fullest and are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and experience with the staff. We very much appreciate that you chose the Avalon, and hope that you will come back upon your next visit to New York-- please contact my office directly if you do so that I can provide you with a complimentary upgrade to make your next stay even better.

Sincerely yours,

Michael R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

Excellent hotel all round. Friendly staff, huge rooms and an excellent location. We would recommend this hotel to anyone and will definitely be staying here again.
Best hotel we have used in NYC.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Percypeanuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear Percypeanuts,

We are very happy to hear that you had such a good visit at the Avalon, and would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us. We really appreciate that you chose the Avalon for your last visit, and are thrilled to hear you'd choose us for your next. Upon your return to New York, please contact my office directly so that I can provide you with a complimentary upgrade to make your next stay even better.

Sincerely yours,

Michael R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel Chandler
Hotel Chandler
#122 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,205 reviews
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#159 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#157 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Midtown Park Ave
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Midto...
#143 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#15 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#101 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel

Property: Avalon Hotel
Address: 16 East 32nd Street, New York City, NY 10016-5402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#92 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#104 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#104 Family Hotel in New York City
#143 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located just below Midtown Manhattan, The Avalon Hotel New York is blocks away from everything New York City has to offer. The hotel is only two blocks from the Empire State Building, seven subway lines and Penn Station, as well as being easily accessible to LaGuardia, JFK and Newark Liberty International Airport. Additionally, The Avalon Hotel New York is just steps from the best shopping in Manhattan including Macy's, Lord & Taylor and numerous 5th & Madison Avenue boutiques. World-famous Times Square and the Theatre District is just a short walk, subway or taxi cab ride away. With a majority of the 100 guest rooms over 400 square feet, many of our spacious guest rooms have two beds and all our suites feature a sofa bed. The Avalon Hotel New York is a classic boutique hotel providing guests with extra comforts such as a private library, flat screen HD televisions, 100% cotton linens, Thymes amenities, mini bars and personal in-room coolers. Conference space is available for intimate gatherings or business meetings. The Avalon Hotel offers, for an additional fee, a continental buffet breakfast served daily. A $20/night mandatory Facility Fee (plus taxes) will be applied and includes Wi-Fi, 24-hour on-site Fitness Center, Daily Newspapers, unlimited U.S. and Domestic (US Mainland) telephone calls, luggage storage, unlimited daily hot beverage and water service and 24-hour Business Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel New York City
Vincci New York City
Vincci Hotel Avalon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing