We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
New York City
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,487)
Filter reviews
4,487 results
Traveler rating
2,330
1,331
468
203
155
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,330
1,331
468
203
155
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest lounge floor lounge new york tenth floor the empire state building roof terrace madison square park free coffee boutique hotel rooms are small bigger room standard room continental breakfast street noise corner room an upgrade location was perfect
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 4,487 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great hotel although our room was quite small. We mentioned this to staff and they very quickly put us in a larger room. They couldn't do more to be helpful and friendly. Room was noisy due to traffic outside and little sound proofing on windows but we used ear plugs and after a couple of nights no worries. Would definitely stay again. A big thank you to all the staff for such a great experience.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bridgej3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Experience794405, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear bridgej3,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad that we were able to accommodate you in a bigger room. Our team strives to ensure our guests have a comfortable and memorable stay at Marcel. Your support is important for us and we look forward to hosting your stay once again.

Sincerely,

Isabel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stay three nights for a conference for work. My room was small, but this was my first time in NYC, and I think everything is a lot smaller there... Very clean hotel. Great price. Abdellah the greeter is great.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kansas_Kim2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Experience794405, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Kansas_Kim2020,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are happy you enjoyed your first NYC stay at Marcel. Glad to be part of it :) Your support and recognition are greatly appreciated. We hope to see you again on your next visit to NYC.

Sincerely,

Isabel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Another amazing stay at The Marcel. Everything from the room, the staff, the location is just incredible. It is a small boutique feel hotel with personalized service and a staff that goes out of their way to make you feel special every time you visit. The rooms are a nice size, the decor is contemporary & fresh, the location is unbeatable ....so central to downtown & uptown. Always look forward to my next visit to the Marcel!!

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank csimonoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Experience794405, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Casey,

Thank you for sharing another great experience with us. We are happy you had a good time and enjoyed your stay once more. Your support is always appreciated. We can't wait for your next stay with us!

Sincerely,

Isabel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great boutique hotel centrally located best staff in the business , close to attractions and great restaurants , a clean well run place
Located near transportation , wonderful rooftop views you will really enjoy your stay

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 781larryr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Experience794405, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Larry,

Thank you again for sharing such a great experience at Marcel. We are grateful to have you as a regular who keeps coming back to visit. Your support is always appreciated and we look forward to your next arrival.

Sincerely,

Isabel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location. Rooms were small as expected. The lounge on 10th floor makes all the difference given the size of room. The coffee /tea/ espresso maker is top quality. The lounge is comfortable and inviting to have breakfast or late night before turning in after long day in NYC. Just call for food delivery and enjoy food at the lounge. Service staff kept cleaning and replenishing water. Bellman - Mohammed also highly recommended for friendly and helpful service.

Room tip: when you go for basic rooms - expect small room NYC style.
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Experience794405, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear A B,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad you had a good time and enjoyed the facilities we provided, especially our 10th floor lounge and the delicious coffee :) Your recommendation and recognition are appreciated. We hope to see you on your next trip to NYC soon!

Sincerely,

Isabel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews