We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Marcel at Gramercy
Ranked #153 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Albany
1 review
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The hotel is a good hotel to stay in for business. When my aunt who lives in New York, stated that I had a very nice room. She also stated this hotel was located in a very good area of New York. When I come to New York again I would like to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you so much for posting your review on TripAdvisor!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that we are able to welcome you back again soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,357
    1,015
    359
    166
    125
See reviews for
489
1,180
270
588
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
boston
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Marcel is a great choice and very clean and comfortable. The service was excellent. We were offered a free upgrade upon check in and found the location to be excellent. The hotel has a roof top outside sitting area.

Room Tip: large king bedroom was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertobaggio_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you so much for your five star rating on TripAdvisor!

We are thrilled to learn you had a great stay and we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience!

We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Verne
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2014

The rooms were super tiny which I guess is expected in NYC. This was my first time there, so I was surprised at the tight quarters I stayed in for 3 days. The floors (in rooms and all hallways) in this hotel squeak and the walls are super thin, making the complimentary earplugs necessary. For $200+/night, I expected more from the room. The staff was great though.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sarita V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you so much for posting a review on TripAdvisor!

I am very pleased to learn that our staff was accommodating to you during your stay. I am disappointed that we did not meet your expectations, please accept my sincere apology for this.

I hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future, please fee free to co ntact me direct upon your next visit o NYC at nsullivan@marcelhotelnyc.com

Thanks again!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2014

The Marcel is an excellent hotel located in the heart of midtown. I enjoyed the convenience of access to the subway, shops, and restaurants. The hotel was clean and the staff was very courteous. The best New York experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Labot P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you so much for your positive review!

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and we hope we are able to welcome you back very soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2014

It was indeed a pleasant stay at The Marcel(at Gramercy).
Clean well appointed room.
Not very spacious however comfortable for a couple.
Friendly personnel.
Tenzin,Jennifer,Anita,Mohammed and the team.Thank You for professional courtesies.
No doubt we look forward to stay with you in our next visit.
Keep up the good work.
KU & JC
Berlin,
Germany

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JChandrasekera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and we are very glad you appreciated our convenient location.

We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

I stayed at the Marcel primarily because of it's location - it's close to subway lines, Madison Square Park and many restaurants are withing walking distance.
My room was small with a window that looked out on a wall (so the shade was permanently down), but that didn't bother me much as I mostly just slept in the room. My room was quiet, but ear plugs were provided just in case. The biggest complaint I have about the room is that it wasn't level; there was a distinct slope to the floor. I could feel it and actually see it when looking at the top of the wardrobe as compared to the ceiling. Since I didn't really hang out in the room, I did my best to ignore it.
The bed was comfortable, the staff was friendly and the rooftop terrace was nice. I enjoyed the wine hour in the upstairs lounge. It would be nice to have free wifi in the rooms, but at least there was a computer upstairs for guests to use.
Oh and the best thing of all ... the air conditioner worked like a charm!! That's very important when the heat and humidity get to be unbearable!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EBTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you so much for posting your review! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience!

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2014

The hotel is in a very good situation inside Manhattan, trendy design, room not so small as we thought about a hotel in such good situation. Staff really friendly and helpful, very clean hotel. If we come back to visit manhattan, we are very likely to stay at the Marcel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ToniLopez2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you so much for posting a review on TripAdvisor!

We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#36 of 467 in New York City
659 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#55 of 467 in New York City
2,242 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#133 of 467 in New York City
5,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Bentley Hotel
The Bentley Hotel
#239 of 467 in New York City
3,596 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#42 of 467 in New York City
421 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#69 of 467 in New York City
5,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marcel at Gramercy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marcel at Gramercy

Property: The Marcel at Gramercy
Address: 201 East 24th Street, New York City, NY 10010-3801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#111 Business Hotel in New York City
#118 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#139 Family Hotel in New York City
#141 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marcel at Gramercy 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from the historic and exclusive Gramercy Park, the Marcel at Gramercy Hotel is far enough away from the bustle of Midtown Manhattan, but within walking distance to many of NYC’s most exciting neighborhoods. Take a break and stroll through our nearby neighborhoods; Gramercy Park, East Village, Chelsea, and SoHo.   Find boutique amenities throughout each of the 136 guest rooms at this Manhattan hotel. The hotel features a 10th floor business lounge with free WiFi, TV, coffee and tea service along with a rooftop terrace with lounge chairs for relaxing and sun bathing while basking in the view of the Empire State Building. Whether your stay is for business or leisure, the Marcel at Gramercy Hotel offers everything you’ll need for an enjoyable stay in Manhattan. Come stay with us while you discover all that NYC has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Marcel at Gramercy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcel At Gramercy Hotel
Marcel New York
Marcel Hotel Nyc
Hotel Marcel New York
Marcel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing