We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“POOR AFTER SERVICE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Marcel at Gramercy
Ranked #152 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“POOR AFTER SERVICE”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

READ REVIEW . NOISE NOISE NOISE .. small room for couple staying more than one night . no fresh coffee thank heavens for 7 eleven . floor 10 no buffett drink making facilities rubbish .after check in no feed back at all , mini bar overpriced $5 for water ? . on two occasions no hot water left message no reply . told about bigger better rooms so why was we not allocated one on check in remember we stayed four nights . when you have been travelling a day you do not feel like confrontation .can not complain about cleanliness housekeeping all good . tv need cable . window double glazed . sleep in this room draughts and very noisy . I work in hospitality 30 odd years not a great experience at the marcel . once again should not have to make a fuss good for one night maybe two ' not four .

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for providing your feedback on TripAdvisor!

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. I am a bit confused by your review in regards to our 10th floor lounge, we do offer complimentary coffee and tea each day as well as respond to any queries regarding hot water. I would love to discuss your stay in more detail.

Please contact me at nsullivan@amsterdamhospitality.com

Thank you once again for your feedback and I hope to hear from you!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,357
    1,015
    359
    166
    125
See reviews for
489
1,180
270
588
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weehawken, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Wonderful boutique hotel. Great location, great room and great value. Many amenities nearby. Transport just steps away. Quiet yet sophisticated. Even the standard room was above the level of most other hotel.

Room Tip: Standard room great for one, coxy for two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you so much for providing your feedback on TripAdvisor!

I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us!

I hope that we are able to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krefeld, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Very good small hotel with great staff and nice roof terrace. They did have a few technica issues since central heating sort of overran room A/C-heating which meant warm nights or open window during a snow day. But really not a big problem. Super helpful staff, free coffee all day in a nice lounge suitable for meetings. Roof terrace access - really nice views.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Oliver D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor!

We are grateful for your kind words and review!

We are very pleased that you enjoyed our hotel and hope to welcome you back very soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia
2 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2014

For a 4 night stay, this hotel was perfect. Rooms are small, pipes do ping a bit and floor do squeak but the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was modern and best of all, we had a quiet sleep. Staff were super helpful with a later check-out due to a cancelled flight. Perfect location.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Adine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you so much for your review!

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

We came from UK for our wedding anniversary and 30th birthday. We couldn't have asked for a better experience. NYC was amazing and hotel location (24th street) was perfect for seeing all sights. We were kindly upgraded and our room was faultless, view was amazing and room offered everything we needed for the week. The guest lounge on 10th floor offered basic tea/coffee facilities but with coffee shops 2 min walk away, nothing more was needed. It also had free wifi which we really appreciated. The room was always perfectly clean when we arrived back each afternoon.
Special thanks to Britney for her kind efforts to make our stay so special. Without a hesitation we would always re-book Marcel if we go to NYC again.
10/10 from both of us x

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaRobertson84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you so much for your review! We appreciate you sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to learn than one of our team members made you special celebration even more memorable!

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jericho, Vermont
1 review
Reviewed February 14, 2014

had the smallest room available. booked via expedia.com very small, good price, clean. would opt for larger room, as hardly enough room to turn around in. bed WAS comfy tho! my rate was approx $120/night. good for quick overnight.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christopher F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you so much for your review!

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
1 review
Reviewed February 12, 2014

What a pleasant surprise the Marcel was! I used to live in the Gramercy/Flatirons area so I love the convenience and vibe of the neighborhood...easy to get uptown or downtown, endless great restaurants, fabulous shopping, etc. The hotel was adorable. Rooms small - but aren't they all in Manhattan? - and clean, well appointed and comfortable. Delightful front desk and door people. I'll stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Shani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you so much for your review! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#36 of 467 in New York City
659 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#55 of 467 in New York City
2,242 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#133 of 467 in New York City
5,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Bentley Hotel
The Bentley Hotel
#241 of 467 in New York City
3,598 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#41 of 467 in New York City
423 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#69 of 467 in New York City
5,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marcel at Gramercy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marcel at Gramercy

Property: The Marcel at Gramercy
Address: 201 East 24th Street, New York City, NY 10010-3801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#111 Business Hotel in New York City
#117 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#139 Family Hotel in New York City
#141 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marcel at Gramercy 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from the historic and exclusive Gramercy Park, the Marcel at Gramercy Hotel is far enough away from the bustle of Midtown Manhattan, but within walking distance to many of NYC’s most exciting neighborhoods. Take a break and stroll through our nearby neighborhoods; Gramercy Park, East Village, Chelsea, and SoHo.   Find boutique amenities throughout each of the 136 guest rooms at this Manhattan hotel. The hotel features a 10th floor business lounge with free WiFi, TV, coffee and tea service along with a rooftop terrace with lounge chairs for relaxing and sun bathing while basking in the view of the Empire State Building. Whether your stay is for business or leisure, the Marcel at Gramercy Hotel offers everything you’ll need for an enjoyable stay in Manhattan. Come stay with us while you discover all that NYC has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Marcel at Gramercy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcel At Gramercy Hotel
Marcel New York
Marcel Hotel Nyc
Hotel Marcel New York
Marcel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing