We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Marcel at Gramercy
Ranked #192 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The hotel is nice and so are the staff members.

We knew upfront the rooms were small which is fine but there is some unnecessary furniture which could be removed to grant more space.

Breakfast is very good for the price and rooftop deserves a visit.

The location is OK, walking distance to East Village with lots of restaurants.

Room Tip: Rooms close to the street can be very noise because of 3rd avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mq0015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you so much for providing your feedback on TripAdvisor!

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate the time you took to inform us of your experience.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,060
    878
    321
    151
    119
See reviews for
383
1,015
225
492
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

A romantic weekend in Gramercy was not helped by the Marcel.
The "romance package" was a warm bottle of prosecco place on the work desk. The bed was a board of a mattress covered in some sort of protective coating - usually associated with nursing homes. The halls & room had the musty odor of disregard for updates. The style is dated DIY "quirky"; appears far better in the website photos than live. It is sort of IKEA updated by a trip to the hobby shop - zebra fabric cover over a bad overhead light, mustard vinyl stapled over particle board. The bed is awful...not suitable for any adults. The AC/Heater sounded like a broken Vitamix or Abe Vigoda choking on a prune pit ... all night, every night... The connecting door to an adjoining room squeaked and banged with any activity in the neighboring room. Completely ineffective and weirdly designed privacy curtains ... not private, not attractive, bad technology. The saving grace is the neighborhood and the really nice desk staff. They try. So, with lots of great places in the greatest city on the planet...I regret to say, avoid the Marcel until it is better. I'm bummed because I had high hopes.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Dr. Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you so much for providing your feedback on TripAdvisor!

I am very disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to provide such detailed feedback and we will be sure to address the challenges you mentioned.

I am however, glad to learn that our staff was helpful to you and our central location fit your needs.

I hope that you will give us another opportunity in future.

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

It's hard to find a decent hotel for under $300 in NYC, especially one that is centrally located. While the rooms are small, it is perfectly suitable for a solo traveler on business that doesn't spend excess time in their room. The reception at the front desk was very welcoming and they honored my request for a higher floor.

The only negative to this property for me was the walls were very thin which dropped them down a star. There was a couple arguing at 2am the first night and it was like it was in my room. Then, in the morning around 7am housekeeping started making their rounds and they would open-and-close the same door letting is slam. I don't blame the hotel for the couple arguing, but should be more aware of their guests that are sleeping when housekeeping is moving throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindseybreeden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you so much for providing your feedback on TripAdvisor!

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate the time you took to inform us of your experience.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights over new year. Room was small, as expected from reading other reviews. But bed was comfy, shower was nice and powerful and room was quiet. Area was brilliant. Loads of bars and restaurants around and was a great base for seeing the city.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you so much for providing your feedback on TripAdvisor!

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We appreciate the time you took to inform us of your experience.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I´ve been to Marcel with my wife for one week at christmas time. The room is big enough for Manhattan standards (a took one of the smallest). A couple, lugagges and after christmas sales shopping could fit well to the room. The staff is great, the hotel is clean, looks really nice (well decorated) is not old, and it is close to metro and citibike station. You cannot walk to midtown spots like Times Square (too far for that).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo_o_D303441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you so much for providing your feedback on TripAdvisor!

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We appreciate the time you took to inform us of your experience.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Pleasant stay. This is our third stay at the Gramercy and will return. Staff very helpful and friendly. Great value for NYC. Our son lives in the area and this is the best hotel we have found for quality and price.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Roland G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you so much for providing your feedback on TripAdvisor!

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We appreciate the time you took to inform us of your experience.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We are frequent travelers to NYC as well as all over the world. I classify this as a boutique hotel with fewer rooms and fewer amenities than a larger chain. The room was comfortable, bright, clean and everything was as pictured in the photos. The staff was helpful and the location was excellent for us. Approximately 2 blocks from Gramercy Park, walking distance to Union Square and NYU/Washington Square. HIghly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Alexander C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you so much for providing your feedback on TripAdvisor!

We appreciate the time you took to inform us of your experience.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New York City
Upper East Side
The Bentley Hotel
The Bentley Hotel
#245 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,947 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#37 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Gramercy Park Hotel
Gramercy Park Hotel
#62 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,303 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#162 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 4,009 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#188 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marcel at Gramercy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marcel at Gramercy

Property: The Marcel at Gramercy
Address: 201 East 24th Street, New York City, NY 10010-3801
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#112 Business Hotel in New York City
#132 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#141 Family Hotel in New York City
#143 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marcel at Gramercy 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our perfect location in historic Gramercy District offers easy access to public transportation and major airports. Within arms reach are the hip neighborhoods of the East Village and Lower East Side, Madison and Fifth Avenue shopping, Baruch College, the Empire State and Flatiron buildings, and Union Square. Midtown, Soho, Greenwich Village and Chelsea areas are just a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Marcel at Gramercy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcel At Gramercy Hotel
Marcel New York
Marcel Hotel Nyc
Hotel Marcel New York
Marcel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing